How is proton savvy maintanance?

wsx29

im interested with getting a savvy, any owners here? hows da maintance? eg. timing belt izit expensive? spare parts all from renault? actually wut car izit based on? clio? if there any owner here pls share da experience? thanks!

I bought a Savvy about a month and a half ago..
Took it for it's first service @ an authorize Proton Service Centre, cost me approx RM100.
Oil filter is more expensive than regular ones... about RM30. Runs on coolant only, so you have to stock up often. As it's a continental engine, needs servicing about 5000-10000km a run... so far I have no problems with it, happy enough. Done a little cosmetics like a body kit and a nice set of steering. Look alot better than the original. I'll post some pics later aight?

Please do post them! So far we havn't heard of any Savvy problems. The wrecked Savvy pics also shows that the car is tough. My friend owns a Savvy since August, and he hasnt any problems so far.

So far the car is solid. No engine noise, smooth ride. Tho the car revs loud, most prolly becoz of it's continental engine. I'll have to wait till time tells me how reliable this car is...
here's a pic of my car...

jonb, nice!! But question to you, do you have any problems with an "aeroplane noise" coming from erm... speakers or something. Becuz I've heard a lot from others about this supposed problem

Izso said:
jonb, nice!! But question to you, do you have any problems with an "aeroplane noise" coming from erm... speakers or something. Becuz I've heard a lot from others about this supposed problem

Aeroplane noise? erm, I have not notice that. Seems to me the sound suppression is actually really good. I mean you cant even hear the engine is switched on... until you rev the pedal otherwise.

Lovemaker- thnx, done it at serdang... cost me prolly around 2500, not including paintwork yet...

I've just sent the car to a paintshop last week. should be done by next week or so. i'm planning to transplant the engine later on. but i'll just do with the cosmetics first...
know any good place to get rims? 16" with offset of 38mm would be just nice I guess...

SAVVY WideRbody...damn..Nice la....
hehhehe......people of Savvy owners do la like that....diffrent abit while people is saying savvy is not good and all...
take a look at this WEi..!!!

Savvy right rear wheel

hi guys,

I'm not sure how reliable this story is, but from one of my friends in Perodua Subang, he told me that some 20 cars in Klang Valley have been recalled back due to some defects.

Apparently Savvy's right rear wheel have a problem taht they can literally come off whilst driving

can anyone confirm this story or have you guys heard it b4?

Your friend from Perodua Subang? For Savvy? :tongue:

kancillayanz said:
hi guys,

I'm not sure how reliable this story is, but from one of my friends in Perodua Subang, he told me that some 20 cars in Klang Valley have been recalled back due to some defects.

Apparently Savvy's right rear wheel have a problem taht they can literally come off whilst driving

can anyone confirm this story or have you guys heard it b4?

zainul said:
Your friend from Perodua Subang? For Savvy? :tongue:

Yap, coz Perodua just next door to Proton mah in Subang...anyway u heard of it or not? just wan to confirm coz im buying one for my sister :smile:

don' hear them talk cock, your friend selling perodua of course say like that, if i'm proton salesman i would say "wah u wan buy myvi ah? i hear engine can drop while speeding more than 100km/h..."

So, ask owners of Savvy, not perodua salesman....:)

Cheers

greetings..
yeah..u got a good point there dude..
proton is on the right track to conquer domestic National car sale..

u'll see more savvy on the road, gen2 on the road.. i'm not against PERODUA or any other manufacturer..point is proton got a ball to go ahead..

i myself already own red savvy. yesterday i balik kampung to kota bharu..with full tank at gombak i reach kb with no refill and still got 2 bar..mileage already 579km..i'm shock. and u should know, balik raya trip is not a constant speed trip.