See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Brands
Car Manufacturers
Toyota
how far are we...
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="yolk" data-source="post: 1583000" data-attributes="member: 320"><p>I would still say it boils down to cost. I'm VERY SURE there are mechanics/engine builders/tuners that are way better than from overseas heck some of our guys are actually even producing performance parts for overseas car modders but it's only we are not aware it. The market for engine mod/tuning/rebuilding I would consider it's still a niche market and not everyone are willing to pay for good service yes we know that engine rebuilding involves specialised tools and complex calculations and definately there are people doing this out there and because they (workshop) knows there are SOME people who appreciate it and willing to pay the PREMIUM price. </p><p></p><p></p><p>Take for example a workshop in Glenmarie which shall be unamed that does engine servicing/flushing. I heard from a friend that they do an extremely good job and have specialised machines to flush the engine oil but it costs somewhere in the region of 400-500 ringgit. There are people going there and paying the premium and expecting the highest level of expertise and proffesionalism and most of the time they do get it but what about the average joe that goes there ? The first thing he would say is it's bloody expensive and he could do the same thing for less than RM100 but just buying a chemical and pouring it into the engine.</p><p></p><p>Another example would be those specialised car detailing companies. Why do they exist and why they can charge a premium for their expertise and level of work ? It's just a car polish/wax work what if given the time you can even do it at home what or even send to the shopping center/bawah pokok car wash to do it what ? But a true car detailer knows the PROPER work and equipment involves to get a show car shine hence they send their car to a car detailer.</p><p></p><p>If malaysian engine builders/tuners are not knowledgeable we wouldn't be having 500-600 hp supra road cars that are reliable or even 200-250 honda that are being driven daily. So I do not see the basis of this discussion stating that our local builders/tuners are not as good as those "white skin" ones !!!! Rather the question I would ask is our local car mod scene ready for such level of expertise and workmanship and obviously the cost that comes a long with it.</p><p></p><p>Also mr netmatrix sir you are confusing me at one point you state we want to know how knowledgeable is our mechanic and then you ask since the work to rebuild the engine is same shouldn't the cost between workshop also be roughly the same/lesser and their competition is good for us and then you state we are not here to involve cost but then you must remember we are CUSTOMERS and as customers we always expect the BEST for the least amount of cost. Do you meet a customer everyday that says just give me the best and forget about the cost ? Also good value for money is very subjective for eg one workshop could be charging RM 2k for a complete rebuild including parts and you're back there again after 8 months because oil was leaking where else another workshop charges RM 4k for the same amount of work done but you never go back for any repair except normal oil service. So which is value for money ? </p><p></p><p>The only thing that is left for me to say is TIME is MONEY. If a mechanic can do an engine malaysia boleh style in 2 days and costs RM 800. Then you sit down beside him and said eh this is the engine repair manual please follow it and it takes him 6 days instead of 2 so does he still charge you RM 800 ? Or he as a mechanic has a responsibility when rebuilding the engine and should have done it the proper way in the first place and how much longer it takes is none of your(customer) concern as you just want the engine rebuilt according to spec and since he's rebuilding it anyway what's the harm to follow the specs/tolerence etc right ?</p><p></p><p>I could go on and on and in circles up and down but to me I would say the change needs to come from the consumer. When the buying stops so does the killing. Save the seals !!!! eh sorry sorry wrong campaign already !!! hahahahahahahah</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="yolk, post: 1583000, member: 320"] I would still say it boils down to cost. I'm VERY SURE there are mechanics/engine builders/tuners that are way better than from overseas heck some of our guys are actually even producing performance parts for overseas car modders but it's only we are not aware it. The market for engine mod/tuning/rebuilding I would consider it's still a niche market and not everyone are willing to pay for good service yes we know that engine rebuilding involves specialised tools and complex calculations and definately there are people doing this out there and because they (workshop) knows there are SOME people who appreciate it and willing to pay the PREMIUM price. Take for example a workshop in Glenmarie which shall be unamed that does engine servicing/flushing. I heard from a friend that they do an extremely good job and have specialised machines to flush the engine oil but it costs somewhere in the region of 400-500 ringgit. There are people going there and paying the premium and expecting the highest level of expertise and proffesionalism and most of the time they do get it but what about the average joe that goes there ? The first thing he would say is it's bloody expensive and he could do the same thing for less than RM100 but just buying a chemical and pouring it into the engine. Another example would be those specialised car detailing companies. Why do they exist and why they can charge a premium for their expertise and level of work ? It's just a car polish/wax work what if given the time you can even do it at home what or even send to the shopping center/bawah pokok car wash to do it what ? But a true car detailer knows the PROPER work and equipment involves to get a show car shine hence they send their car to a car detailer. If malaysian engine builders/tuners are not knowledgeable we wouldn't be having 500-600 hp supra road cars that are reliable or even 200-250 honda that are being driven daily. So I do not see the basis of this discussion stating that our local builders/tuners are not as good as those "white skin" ones !!!! Rather the question I would ask is our local car mod scene ready for such level of expertise and workmanship and obviously the cost that comes a long with it. Also mr netmatrix sir you are confusing me at one point you state we want to know how knowledgeable is our mechanic and then you ask since the work to rebuild the engine is same shouldn't the cost between workshop also be roughly the same/lesser and their competition is good for us and then you state we are not here to involve cost but then you must remember we are CUSTOMERS and as customers we always expect the BEST for the least amount of cost. Do you meet a customer everyday that says just give me the best and forget about the cost ? Also good value for money is very subjective for eg one workshop could be charging RM 2k for a complete rebuild including parts and you're back there again after 8 months because oil was leaking where else another workshop charges RM 4k for the same amount of work done but you never go back for any repair except normal oil service. So which is value for money ? The only thing that is left for me to say is TIME is MONEY. If a mechanic can do an engine malaysia boleh style in 2 days and costs RM 800. Then you sit down beside him and said eh this is the engine repair manual please follow it and it takes him 6 days instead of 2 so does he still charge you RM 800 ? Or he as a mechanic has a responsibility when rebuilding the engine and should have done it the proper way in the first place and how much longer it takes is none of your(customer) concern as you just want the engine rebuilt according to spec and since he's rebuilding it anyway what's the harm to follow the specs/tolerence etc right ? I could go on and on and in circles up and down but to me I would say the change needs to come from the consumer. When the buying stops so does the killing. Save the seals !!!! eh sorry sorry wrong campaign already !!! hahahahahahahah [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
Toyota Yaris 2019,White ,1.5L,6,082km
Started by
salesarena
Cars for sale
original WedsSport SA70 18x9jj offset +32 5H pcd...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
BRAND NEW original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG4...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ2 RZii...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Rays Volk Racing TE37SL 18x9jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Spoon Sw388 18x10J+40 5H120 Rim Rims Civic FL5 Type R
Started by
aycy
Chassis and Wheels
Spoon Crane Neck Wing Carbon Spoiler GT Wing Honda...
Started by
aycy
Exterior and Body
Honda Jazz/Fit GK Mugen body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Car tyre changing
Hi my friend
I wants to change a tyre for my myvi 1.5 se
Which tyre can i fix for my car
I want 15 inch but powerful tyre
Please answer
Help! Sound Proofing/Water Problem
So here's the story,
On last Saturday I went to a carwash and didnt shut the door properly and i found out that my carpet is all wet, and worst the carpet padding(sound proofing) is all wet!:rolleyes...
New BMW M5 F10 at Miramas
https://www.zerotohundred.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/bmwm5f10.jpg
BMW has unveiled a video about the testing of the latest weapon at Autodrome de Miramas. The BMW is capable of a high speed of more than 300 km/h...
Recent Posts
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification
2026 Vios HEV launched with Local Battery Assembly - UMW Toyota Motor
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
SPPF: The Future of Automotive Surface Protection - A Technical Overview
Started by
The_Mechanic