honda prelude

Best Engine Oil For H22a Vtec

Hi again. After refer to the Honda Prelude Service manual, I THINK the best engine oil for our VTEC lude is ori Honda VTEC engine oil with 10w-30 cost RM 45.00 per 4 liters. I'm already bought and planning to change it on next service.:regular_smile:

But unfortunately, the guy of the shop said the price will increase about RM 8.00 to RM 10.00 per can next month for engine oil may be due to same reason FUEL price are rising???:angry_smile:

So, I bought some more 2 can for stock.:emoticon_U:

simonyap said:
Hi. i found that the best and affortable spark plug for H22A engine for our lude is NGK IRIDIUM IX model ZFR6FIX-11 cost RM 180.00 for 4 pcs.

The ori H22A spark plug show at service manual is NGK platinum plug cost RM 280.00 4 pcs with heat range 6 and RM 300.00 with heat range 7.

Cheers.:regular_smile:

Just to share something.

My OEM H22A plug was NGR-R BK******7**. Like that la. Last few months, i changed to Denso Iri*(can't remember). Can notice at least 1-2% power increase la.

But in reality, donno which one better la, Denso or NGK, since my OEM plug is already NGK-R

simonyap said:
Hi again. After refer to the Honda Prelude Service manual, I THINK the best engine oil for our VTEC lude is ori Honda VTEC engine oil with 10-30w cost RM 45.00 per 4 liters. I'm already bought and planning to change it on next service.:regular_smile:

But unfortunately, the guy of the shop said the price will increase about RM 8.00 to RM 10.00 per can next month for engine oil may be due to same reason FUEL price are rising???:angry_smile:

Actually, any oil can do and best also..as long the veloc not too thin or vice-versa. Me currently using motul 4100 turbolight, 10W40. Cost around RM95 per 4 litre.

Kompressor From Brother's

Hi again and again. Recently Brother's accesories shop has offer for kompressor cost RM 99.00 per set. (Additional RM 10.00 for installment)
The kompressor brand is M3. Look nice with chrome and quit heavy on hand (WORTH lah...if weight on KG:_: )

I'm already install one and not tested out any important result yet. What I get now is idle RPM rising up a bit.:confused_smile:

Any idea and comment for this KOMPRESSOR??

simonyap said:
Hi again and again. Recently Brother's accesories shop has offer for kompressor cost RM 99.00 per set. (Additional RM 10.00 for installment)
The kompressor brand is M3. Look nice with chrome and quit heavy on hand (WORTH lah...if weight on KG:_: )

I'm already install one and not tested out any important result yet. What I get now is idle RPM rising up a bit.:confused_smile:

Any idea and comment for this KOMPRESSOR??

Brothers in Puchong? Are you talking about A/C kompressor?

aja said:
Just to share something.

My OEM H22A plug was NGR-R BK******7**. Like that la. Last few months, i changed to Denso Iri*(can't remember). Can notice at least 1-2% power increase la.

But in reality, donno which one better la, Denso or NGK, since my OEM plug is already NGK-R

Hi. May be I'm a conservatif guylah... because what I think is the model and spec for spare part indicated in the service manual or manufacturer reference list is the only selected choice. Other than that is not suitable....:confused_smile:

From the reference, the NGK-R BK ****7** is not the type for H22A engine.
Denso Iridium IK 22 is on the list. But the model like BK**** or PZR*****22** is unavalable??

simonyap said:
Hi again. After refer to the Honda Prelude Service manual, I THINK the best engine oil for our VTEC lude is ori Honda VTEC engine oil with 10-30w cost RM 45.00 per 4 liters. I'm already bought and planning to change it on next service.:regular_smile:

Hi bro, I hv tested few brand engine oil on my lude H22A,the best was RED LINE 10W-40 giving me a best engine respone,but cost me RM55/L, Castrol magnetic 10w-40 just normal respone, now I'm using Splitfire 10w-40, its not bad, the engine respone was nice too ..it cost around RM30/L...depends on u guys driving style n budget to choose a correct engine oil for ur engine ..I will try to tested other brand's oil, n will share again to all here .. :_:

prelude_b16a said:
Brothers in Puchong? Are you talking about A/C kompressor?
I bought it at Brother's Batu Caves. Actually all Brother's branch have sell it.

Not a/c compressor. It only a piece of chrome steel which install and connect to the engine block and thrott body by hose. It is adjustable for the air going in the thrott body to save the fuel consumption and give more power like they said??

simonyap said:
Hi. i found that the best and affortable spark plug for H22A engine for our lude is NGK IRIDIUM IX model ZFR6FIX-11 cost RM 180.00 for 4 pcs.

The ori H22A spark plug show at service manual is NGK platinum plug cost RM 280.00 4 pcs with heat range 6 and RM 300.00 with heat range 7.

Cheers.:regular_smile:

I was using NGK IRIDIUM IX model ZFR6FIX-11 now, really nice sparking, cos it was recommend by Hypertune Mag Techtalk. N the seller was telling me the heart range is about 6, if street use sure no problem.....:angel_smile:
Cos the heat range more high will got advantage, the carbon all will just stick around the sprak plug but once the sparking improve it will decrease this thing happen...but the heat range too low, it will easy to over heat, will cos pre-ignition, will having knocking problem or some other trouble, but the spark plug must b more clean than high heat range spark plug...cos the heat will help it burn the carbon...

simonyap said:
I bought it at Brother's Batu Caves. Actually all Brother's branch have sell it.

Not a/c compressor. It only a piece of chrome steel which install and connect to the engine block and thrott body by hose. It is adjustable for the air going in the thrott body to save the fuel consumption and give more power like they said??

I think that 1 u buy was call micro compressor...the theory was help the engine sucking extra air to the manifold with by pass no flow through the throttle body, when air is enough sure got the nice air-fuel ratio then the will decrease the fuel consumption...
it called compressor cos anything flow from small inlet to big outlet will bcome a higher pressurer , u will c many small hole on it rite ? ..the theory was same as the brake system

simonyap said:
Hi. May be I'm a conservatif guylah... because what I think is the model and spec for spare part indicated in the service manual or manufacturer reference list is the only selected choice. Other than that is not suitable....:confused_smile:

Denso Iridium IK 22 is on the list. But the model like BK**** or PZR*****22** is unavalable??
simonyap said:

Actually, there is.

NGK-R for H22A Euro R engine, not for normal H22A. Somemore the plug is taller a bit, compared to normal one. That y it didn't explained in the reference. Just for info.

As for Denso, no so sure though. U can call SPS Racing S. Alam at 03-55100703 to verify. Talk to Amir. BTW, SPS Racing is the Denso plugs authorised distributer for klang Valley.

hisha said:
Hi bro, I hv tested few brand engine oil on my lude H22A,the best was RED LINE 10W-40 giving me a best engine respone,but cost me RM55/L, Castrol magnetic 10w-40 just normal respone, now I'm using Splitfire 10w-40, its not bad, the engine respone was nice too ..it cost around RM30/L...depends on u guys driving style n budget to choose a correct engine oil for ur engine ..I will try to tested other brand's oil, n will share again to all here .. :_:

U should try cheaper oil la, Motul 4100 Turbolight instead. 10W40 also. cost RM95 per bottle of 4 litre.

hisha said:
I think that 1 u buy was call micro compressor...the theory was help the engine sucking extra air to the manifold with by pass no flow through the throttle body, when air is enough sure got the nice air-fuel ratio then the will decrease the fuel consumption...
it called compressor cos anything flow from small inlet to big outlet will bcome a higher pressurer , u will c many small hole on it rite ? ..the theory was same as the brake system

Thanks. Now I understand a bit about Kompressor..... Compressor??:confused_smile:
How about Mercedes Bens Kompressor???

Please reply.
Thanks and regards.:regular_smile:

simonyap said:
Thanks. Now I understand a bit about Kompressor..... Compressor??:confused_smile:
How about Mercedes Bens Kompressor???

Please reply.
Thanks and regards.:regular_smile:

The M.Benz compressor was different, actually that compressor is same as super charger, in theory its same function like turbo, but turbo using the exhaust gas to spin the turbin, but compressor/super charger was using belt to spin it off when the engine was fire up. Turbo can easily to boost up high pressure by changing setting for the wastegate, compressor/super charger also can just replace the smaller pulley which attach on the compressor/super charger than the boost will b increase n get more power, ..but depends on ur engine mod,..it will cos ur engine blown. :shades_smile:

aja said:
U should try cheaper oil la, Motul 4100 Turbolight instead. 10W40 also. cost RM95 per bottle of 4 litre.

I decide to try it too, but next service mayb will try the HKS racing engine oil 10W-40 1st ...the Motul will b next next service 1st choice ...hehe:_:

aja said:
Actually, there is.

NGK-R for H22A Euro R engine, not for normal H22A. Somemore the plug is taller a bit, compared to normal one. That y it didn't explained in the reference. Just for info.

As for Denso, no so sure though. U can call SPS Racing S. Alam at 03-55100703 to verify. Talk to Amir. BTW, SPS Racing is the Denso plugs authorised distributer for klang Valley.

As I know some spark plug with "R" its mean by resistor, this kind of spark plug just can use on the engine operate without the distributor, which using electronic to control sparking n timing.....like our 92' H22A is not suit..cos we still using distributor....n the spark plug gap is important,..i think out H22A is about 1.1mm..this will effect the sparking performance on different engine...

hisha said:
As I know some spark plug with "R" its mean by resistor, this kind of spark plug just can use on the engine operate without the distributor, which using electronic to control sparking n timing.....like our 92' H22A is not suit..cos we still using distributor....n the spark plug gap is important,..i think out H22A is about 1.1mm..this will effect the sparking performance on different engine...

Yeah, 'R' meant for resistance. More suitable for most recent engine.

Last time, i tried to use the normal (balck cover) H22A plug into my engine, judging that the plugs should be the same cause same Honda code (ie H22A). After that, my engine can't spark / start at all. From that time i noticed the plugs for my engine are different, even though it carried the same H22A engine code. So funny, isn't it!.

aja said:
Yeah, 'R' meant for resistance. More suitable for most recent engine.

Last time, i tried to use the normal (balck cover) H22A plug into my engine, judging that the plugs should be the same cause same Honda code (ie H22A). After that, my engine can't spark / start at all. From that time i noticed the plugs for my engine are different, even though it carried the same H22A engine code. So funny, isn't it!.

Cos the electronic spark VOLTAGE was higher than our distributor so the spark plug need more resistance to balance it back...then when our old H22A :X-: using the "R" spark plug the Voltage will drop til less than the engine require ....then it will cos the engine won't sparak/ not to start at all...

hisha said:
Ha! Ha! Ha.... Now just I know that the letter R are not only meaning Racing, it's also the other meaning tooo...resistor?....rare.....ROSAK:X-: