Gearbox Life?

if u change the ATF following the OCI every 40,000km or every 20,000 and the ATF filter every 100,000km...

then no worry about tat....

BLANk,

You dont understand my question? Im not asking how to service....

i would like to know average a auto gearbox can go how far?

What he meant is that if you service regularly, it should be able to last the lifespan of the car (almost). For people who drive carefully and doesn't trash the car, that's almost always the case. My friend is driving a Volvo 240 auto that's over 20 years old. The auto gearbox is still running fine though the car has racked up over 500,000km, and it's still the original auto gearbox.

It also depends on the manufacturer of the car and the source of the gearbox. If it's a locally made car.. then too bad, your mileage may vary. My Wira Aeroback 1.5's auto gearbox died only after 100,000km although I changed the ATF fluid and filter every 20,000km. Maybe it's all that hard driving that killed it.

What he meant is that if you service regularly, it should be able to last the lifespan of the car (almost). For people who drive carefully and doesn't trash the car, that's almost always the case. My friend is driving a Volvo 240 auto that's over 20 years old. The auto gearbox is still running fine though the car has racked up over 500,000km, and it's still the original auto gearbox.

It also depends on the manufacturer of the car and the source of the gearbox. If it's a locally made car.. then too bad, your mileage may vary. My Wira Aeroback 1.5's auto gearbox died only after 100,000km although I changed the ATF fluid and filter every 20,000km. Maybe it's all that hard driving that killed it.

wah like that if those who drive potong car when reach 90k mileage better change car...so short life meh?

One of the excuses for the high maintenance cost for state-owned Proton Perdanas was that the gearboxes required frequent replacement..

For my wira 1.8(a), the ori gearbox lasts 12 years @ 260,000 km. Change to recond gb, just around 12,000 km, not that good. Still missed my ori gb, damn smooth. Change oil every 15 to 20,000km, 60,000 change filter and flush. use also a/t oil cooler