Fire Extinguisher

[PIMPIN]

I've noticed on overseas Skyline forums that once most Skylines cross a certain level of power, seems to be around 600-700hp, they tend to have fire extinguishers in their cars. I'm curious as to what could possibly ignite/catch fire at that sort of power levels and if this were true, what sort of fire extinguisher is needed (powder based, etc)

I have no knowledge of fires and how to put them out nor do I know what type of extinguisher is needed for oil based fire, electrical based fire etc.

Hit me with your knowledge!

For a car to catch on fire by itself is a very rare occasion (unless you smoke inside and the ash dropped on the carpet without you knowing). When comes to high performance car, unless a nitro was installed then you might need to watch out there, as nitro is a highly flammable gases!! Like those "good" quality petrol that we are having, no way they are going to catch on fire by itself as they are low in octane...yes, we are using low and bad petrol all this time!
If you plan to put a fire extinguisher inside your car, the best bet will be type ABC as it is cater for all types of ignition of fire. Be it is electrical, gasses, or fuel...it's something like all in 1 type!! Did this hit you bad till you are clear now?? hee...heee...heee...:confused::biggrin::confused::biggrin:

what makes you think those are fire extinguishers?

maybe those are bottles of NOS made to look like fire extinguisher bottles

what makes you think those are fire extinguishers?

maybe those are bottles of NOS made to look like fire extinguisher bottles

I believe PIMPIN able to differentiate between a Nitrous bottle and a Fire Extinguisher bottle.. :rofl:

Reasons that I could think of the existance of fire extinguisher in a car:

• Compulsary item for trackday by the trackday organizer
  • Its a track-car, so it's a must to have fire extinguisher
  • Just to show-off
  • For the heck of having one because his friend has one in his skyline
:biggrin:

I have TWO ..... It's a matter of preference ... Spending a zillion bucks on the engine, pushing it to the max, and depending all on, if your very capable mechanics had tighten the one single, or two bolts holding your injectors in place, or that measly clip securing your fuel-lines :hmmmm:

Like I said, it'a a matter of preference or insurance to see you pride burn into a crisp, or maybe doing something about it during the initial critical moments ... By the way, the local "P" should come compulsary with Air-Batu-Campur ... :listen::rofl:

Well, the reason for wanting the added insurance comes from personal experience. I think I've shared this with some of the guys such as DC, farizio and russellwestwood among others. I've had the bad experience of watching a friend's car burn after it exploding upon impact, the worse thing was that two of our friends loss their lives one of whom never made it out of the car. And we could not do anything but watch it burn until it there was nothing left.

What caused it to explode? Well I'll admit speed was a factor but earlier in the day, my friend had to take the car to the workshop due to a problem with the surge tank. Since then, I've been extremely nervous about having a surge tank regardless of how safe you can try to make it.

Therefore, having a fire extinguisher to me is not to show off but maybe buy those extra few seconds if God forbid, I needed the time to get out of the car myself. I'm not asking for trouble or tempting fate but I've seen it happen with my own eyes, I know the danger is very real and I want to cover all angles short of giving up modifying cars.

Thanks for all (useful) replies so far. :rofl:

[PIMPIN];3543666 said:
Well, the reason for wanting the added insurance comes from personal experience. I think I've shared this with some of the guys such as DC, farizio and russellwestwood among others. I've had the bad experience of watching a friend's car burn after it exploding upon impact, the worse thing was that two of our friends loss their lives one of whom never made it out of the car. And we could not do anything but watch it burn until it there was nothing left.

What caused it to explode? Well I'll admit speed was a factor but earlier in the day, my friend had to take the car to the workshop due to a problem with the surge tank. Since then, I've been extremely nervous about having a surge tank regardless of how safe you can try to make it.

Therefore, having a fire extinguisher to me is not to show off but maybe buy those extra few seconds if God forbid, I needed the time to get out of the car myself. I'm not asking for trouble or tempting fate but I've seen it happen with my own eyes, I know the danger is very real and I want to cover all angles short of giving up modifying cars.

Thanks for all (useful) replies so far. :rofl:

Hmmm...you sound like a very caution person to me....:adore: :adore: :adore:

It is a good practise, to even have something reasonably sufficent, like a 1kg, or 1.5kg unit (if you can find one). Forget about those whimpy 0.7kg ... And if you get one, make sure you find one of steel bottle with STEEL straps. You sure don't one the fire extinguisher flying into your face during an accident either. The other most important aspect is, mount it somewhere you can easily access to it during an emergency. Most people put one for show on awkward location. It's a safety item, and if want show, might as well invest on some fuzzy-dice instead. Haha ... :rolleyes:

I'll Vote 1, or 2 for Fire Extinguishers ... :listen::wavey:

It is a good practise, to even have something reasonably sufficent, like a 1kg, or 1.5kg unit (if you can find one). Forget about those whimpy 0.7kg ... And if you get one, make sure you find one of steel bottle with STEEL straps. You sure don't one the fire extinguisher flying into your face during an accident either. The other most important aspect is, mount it somewhere you can easily access to it during an emergency. Most people put one for show on awkward location. It's a safety item, and if want show, might as well invest on some fuzzy-dice instead. Haha ... :rolleyes:

I'll Vote 1, or 2 for Fire Extinguishers ... :listen::wavey:

I'll be dame....this is the 1st time that you sound so serious!:hmmmm:

And should be no problem leaving the fire extinguisher in the car under hot sun right?

FE aren't usually filled to the max. If you look at the gauge, there is a green range which is ok ... and red on each range, either low, or filled too high. These give space for expansion ... So, far they are not suppose to explode under hot-sun, unless on direct heat instead ... :rofl:

S-Tune: I do meh :hmmmm: Hahaha ... Me love Char-Siew and Siew-Yuk wor :rolleyes:

Btw, having FE's is one thing, but knowing how to use it under certain condition is another :idea:
Just don't get burnt by trying to put out the heat ... :nurse:

Just to share... I dont drive a skyline ah... Sitting in the workshop helping the mechanic repair my car suddenlly loud Kaboom get up look the shop track car on fire... Mechanic was checking the fuel injectors and guest what the plug wires had a small tear/crack in it... Long Story short fire... fast thinking took out FE that comes with my car from factory those small ass type sprayed it stop the fire... so small or big FE... must be fast and know to use it...

but shop owner didnt pay me since i used up my FE...:mad: Shop owner actually my brother...

2 types of fire can normally happen is:

- Electrical fire: live wire short to ground, catch flames and burn flammable material (carpets, cushion, etc)
- Fuel fire: fuel leak somewhere and being ignited by spark or hot surface (ie glowing manifold, turbine housing)

Fuel fire is flash fire and burns extremely quick and hot. Chances of the car surviving without an extinguisher is zero.

Most extinguishers we can get at local hardware/accessory shop are ABC powder, which can put out Class A, B and C fire and is adequate for most situation. However, ABC is corrosive.

Motorsports usage fire extinguishers (hand carry or self extinguishing system) are usually AFFF Foam, which is more expensive and harder to source.

2 types of fire can normally happen is:

- Electrical fire: live wire short to ground, catch flames and burn flammable material (carpets, cushion, etc)
- Fuel fire: fuel leak somewhere and being ignited by spark or hot surface (ie glowing manifold, turbine housing)

Fuel fire is flash fire and burns extremely quick and hot. Chances of the car surviving without an extinguisher is zero.

Most extinguishers we can get at local hardware/accessory shop are ABC powder, which can put out Class A, B and C fire and is adequate for most situation. However, ABC is corrosive.

Motorsports usage fire extinguishers (hand carry or self extinguishing system) are usually AFFF Foam, which is more expensive and harder to source.

Don't think those FE do comes in foam type leh...as it needs the mixture of water and form solution at the same time in order for it to become form...:confused:

They do ... SPA Design, Sparco, OMP and Fire-Fighter does it ... for mainstream racing ... :hmmmm: