EXHAUST for AUTO

RASHID

i know dat 4-2-1 plus bullet n s-flow is good setup for auto..
just wondering..
y auto not recommended for 4-1 or straight flow?
not good even wif afr been tune?
my fren use 4-1 on auto..
very smooth actually..

need review or exp..
thanks guys..

just wondering..
very smooth actually..

need review or exp..
thanks guys..

Honestly I also don't know... Hope to get some answer form some sifu. I experienced this first hand myself when changing from straight flow to s-flow. straight flow was damn sucky. The torque sucks. almost useless for city drive. they say auto is very sensitive to back pressure changes but I also don;t know why.

go for s flow piping with silencer, follow original diameter & use tanabe G medalion exhaust.

nice muffler choice..
anyway..
4-1 extractor is for high rpm usage..
but izzit ok wif the car is auto..?
plus lets say the car is a high revvin car..

me auto too..daily drive car...2'' OD piping,middle bullet using a big muffler,put it at bout 2ft+ from the nenas,behind using twintip...lasttime usin s flow belit2,xtrctor still stock 1.6 s.cam...
perfomance not bad...nd tu tune bit more...

just crossed my mind...funny how exhausts for e.g. the 350z, they never mention that this that exhaust is dependant on gearbox type, gains are always to be had once swapping exhausts

because for tiny engine like us, we need to squeeze every tiny bit of our engine output.... but yet we still feel its underpower.... for larger and higher displacement engine, they already had good sufficient power from stock basis... so whenever they upgrade something, minor increment will still makes them feel lekat kerusi....

i mean like...when someone says....with auto boxes, u must use s-flow, otherwise you will lose a lotta torque down low...

just curious whether this rule applies to all hehe

well...i drive auto with 4-1 manifold and also straight flow at the back..lately did half piping 1.6inch and the output..a more smoother gear change and on highway cruising the rpm is abit low compared to the previous setup..power is at high rpm and the good part is its fuel saving...

---------- Post added at 09:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:22 PM ----------

there is no rule saying that S-flow must be used for auto tranny car..in the end of the day its up to the person who is driving..

yes they are rules but in car modification we r diff by very aspect..
really depends on the owner..
smooth rpm or low power or high power..

if u r a VTEC HEAD..
dat can rev until 9..
auto tranny..
wil u choose 4-1 or 4-2-1?

thanks..

yes they are rules but in car modification we r diff by very aspect..
really depends on the owner..
smooth rpm or low power or high power..

if u r a VTEC HEAD..
dat can rev until 9..
auto tranny..
wil u choose 4-1 or 4-2-1?

thanks..
4-1 sir

definitely 4-1 for top speed.

I got a friend who used 4-1 exhaust system for his Altis cuz he prefer more on Top Speed since to him, Altis pick up is adi good enough. Recommend me to go for 4-1, S-Flow as well.

But go for hotbits if can afford :smile:

just wondering..
very smooth actually..

need review or exp..
thanks guys..

For extractor - does not make a difference whether auto or manual, it is where u wan ur powerband. 4-2-1 u get good low end torque and reasonable high-end, 4-1 u get poor low end but power comes during high revs. Since u stated that ur car is high rev, go for 4-1 but i would not recommend as u r driving an auto hence it would not be high rev (ur ecu will change the gear during mid rev) & u will not reap full potential of the extractor.

For exhaust/ muffler, auto need s-flow due to backpressure (not really the word but...) to help suck out the exhaust faster. U can use a straight flow but do install a mid-box/ bullet; if not be ready for FC to shoot up as there is no acceleration in low rev and u tend to floor the accelerator in order to move the car - my own experience with auto b16.

In an auto set-up, going with 4-1 & straightflow will kill ur drivability especially in city driving. If it is a track-car mayb okay but y auto? IMO u can only have either/or (4-1 & straightflow) u cannot install both in a daily driven auto. Go for 4-1 + S-flow if u want top-ended powerband; u can oso experiment with straightflow + bullet

alrite guys..
at least my knowledge on exhaust is true..
thanks alot guys..

bout the gear is true..
but u stil can control by the gear..
1 or L then 2 then 3 if ur car got la..

---------- Post added at 10:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:57 AM ----------

my next question..
4-1 powerband start at which rpm?
4-2-1 powerband stop until which rpm?
thanks.