Evo Ix

thanks fellas for the speedy responses.

fred_so_88,
the ix is at naza and going for 220k. looks pretty good condition. saw another one today at old klang road going for cheaper and looks even better. might re-think my purchase after today. Wow 15-20K for 3076 is crazily expensive. always tot that evo turbos are cheaper than Stis that was one of the reasons why i decided to go with an evo now, that it would cost a lost less more to get more power. Man this doesn't sound too good to know now.

eejart,
nope its not chili red but a silver one at naza.

ddgreystar,
yup the type ra-r rocks but it cost almost 300K! way over my budget man! wow that's one fast ver 8 spec c to have beaten the e9 motec. a properly tuned stock ver 8 spec c which runs on a ball bearing turbo should get ur max 320-325whp with approx 400-430nm. And i think the evo9 with proper tune on stock turbo should get about the same if not slightly more by 10whp. But the STi is torquey in lower gears so maybe pull faster also with ball bearing it helps. but once above 5.5k rpm i think maybe the evo9 is better and takes it from there. probably tats why half car win. i dunno i'm no expert but my own hypothesis. btw dd bro, are you saying i should rethink my purchase plans for the evo9 bro? looks like turbo upgrade is as expensive as sti summore.

btw, where do you guys tune your cars and what ecu are you guys on. heard that there are more evo capable tuners than sti in kl. thanks again.

If you just finding for stock turbo replacement get the E6.5/8.5 or BR20G. If you going for bigger power/turbo than thats a diff story.

SPEC C TYPE R-AR rocks !!!......seen a stock ver 8 spec C vs evo 9 with motec.....spec C lost only half a car in a highway rolling start race !!!

eh.. i was in the car tooo brooo :biggrin:.. but need to give credit to both drivers... they really pushed their car hard..

p/s: i reckon the evo9 can excellerate faster without our heavy ass lah.. :rofl:

jay-z,

Hi there, am a E9 owner here... Sorry tht i didnt come in to this forum for a wk or so due to work, so hopefully am not too late to share here...

Ok, i got my E9 staying stock for almost 2 yrs, but in de end of the day the turbo failed too... I wasnt revving at tht time nor racing with any 1... Me jus driving normal... So the inevitable happened to me... I stil got tht ori E9 turo with me now... :biggrin:

Frankly speaking, E9 is a very very good car... I owed a Ver 8 STi too in de same time but sold it off a yr ago but maintain my E9 with me... Power wise i would say stock E9 is better... Handling & road holding i prefer E9 too, no disrespect to Scooby here as i jus share my view...

For the stock E9 turbo, go install a reliable boost controller in order to content with the boost spike which is causing the turbo failure problem... Then change the air intake, full exhuast system, fuel pump, clutch n ECU, u b getting 330whp easily!!! Enjoy the MIVEC pull, n u b appreciate it!!!

Currently am using E6.5 turbo with some basic set up without ECU, am getting 317whp... Pretty much enough for me at the moment... Next up wil b a Ext cam, ECU & Clutch for me... Was thinking of an after mkt turbo kit too... But it all depends on my next yr budget la... Hahaha... If things goes well for me, might as well 1 shot do it all!!!

Besides, with my stock E9 back in 2005, i joined MLOC JB Pasir Gudang drag battle b4... As compare to some of the modded Evos, E9 did hv a great result!!! Especially during high rev... I think it can get even better result had i know how to launch my car then... Hehehe...

Maintainance wise its as easy as the Scooby no worry... Jus tht u got to pay extra attention to the AYC oil when it comes to change it... Parts r easily source after now as E9 is no longer a new car by now... Hahaha...

So cheers to you n those who r looking for an E9 here... Looking forward to meet u guyz up n share share our experience together!!!

***Merry Xmas & Happy New Year To All***

:party:

Have one tried with any VW Golf GTi yet?. Wald or non-Wald version.

Quite a fast and quick car i guess, due to the efficient 6 speed DSG gearbox and power to weight.

Anyone experienced especially on the hiway trailing?.

Yup agree with S9, but to choose between E9 and Subaru it's depends on personal preference. As for me when I was to bought it last time, I had test drive both , I tried E9 and S203. At the end , I choose Evo becoz I think the looks of Evo is better than Subaru for me...the power and handling as mentioned by S9. hehehe

I test drove 1 b4... And oso i did 'play' with 1 red GTi @ PJ area once... But never tried on the highway...

Its a great car no doubt, but i dun think its any lighther than our Evos as Euro cars normally weight above 1400kg for most of the cars especially performance cars...

Great fun 'playing' with GTi as tht gentleman is abt 50+ in age... Hehehe... :biggrin:

bro dd, the video was of terrible quality... shaking all over... will try to post after edit (too many 'french' word coming out from our mouths too!!) ;)

jay-z,

e9 or scooby depends on your preference bro......if u r into modding (cost effectiveness factor in), i think evo does churn out power easily in terms of servicing maintenance , the labour n effort to change parts is much easier as compared to scooby....go take a look n compare both the engine layout then u will know y 4G63 is easier.....in terms of performance for aftermarket modding.....both r relatively abang adik.....but cost of modding a scooby to be on par with evo.....i think dat is certainly gonna cost more for sure......for eg. 4g63 takes only 2 cams ....scooby has 4......n to mod from top mount to front mount intercooler ....is another big project for a scooby...but if interms of engine layout....scooby stands better center gravity thus stability is better improved....however the comparison is so much n so forth n can go on forever coming from both camps of enthusiasts.......it all depends........

my personal opinion....if u r into low maintenance....gud n cost effective modding to come........evo would be a better choice...be it e7 e8 e9 ( e9 a bit more costlier dats for sure due to its mivec technology the valcon cams aint a direct plug n play as compared to its predecessors).....ecu wise aso limited...PFC is out of the quoatation...u need to go on other exclusive stuff like vpro or motec or haltech.....

however if u wan a STOCK performance car dat does not take much more to mod n the thrill of 4wd n pulling power is instantly available....go for the ver8 SPEC C......or ver 9 spec C type RA-R....personally witness the prowess of a SPEC C...n bear in mind.....the car is not entirely the same as a sti nor the S203 or s204 series.....in fact...ver 9 spec C tye RA-R comes with the 6 pot brembo as stock....n the pulling power of torque is CRAZY.......a stock evo has to do quite a lot in order to churn out dat kind of crazy power to be on par.....i would say in terms of torque figure......

i never test drove any other car when i bought my e9 in 2005. Pointless to do so since i know what i want. After all, since uni days, i've always wanted an evo as soon as i can afford one with my own money!

and.. spec c was in my dreamlist too.. but decision was made when reality kicks in!

I think tht S204 RA-R is at de level of Evo FQ-series... RA-R is a race spec of S204 where the car r lighter in weight with 6 pot caliper (F) as rear remain 2 pot, Recaro seat & special turbo from IHI if am not wrong (other spec remain same as in a S204)... Its a great great car no doubt but for RM3xx, mayb u wanna wait a while longer for the Ver 10 STi 300hp 45kg-m of torque... A whole new car layout... Look wise is very personal!!!

Mayb an Evo X too... Hahaha... :biggrin:

But the onli problem with Evos is - Car Theft!!! *$#@$%^ :mad:

just for info;
Now got aftermarket ECU plug n play type from TRUST/GReedy for E9..plus there also avail plug n play type cams call 'easy cam' ...have seen the result quite ok...E-Manage ultimate + V-manage + Easy cam can get nearly 400whp. Good enuff for daily drive becoz it work in conjunction with ori ecu. Just to share this is my direction..hehehe

S9,
the price i got from Mutiara Motor;

E-manage ultimate - rm2500
V-manage - rm2000
Easy cams (spec : standard exchanging type IN & EX set)- rm 2200
(IN : 264,10.8mm EX : 264,10.3mm)
*valve timing degree (cam top)
IN : 130 deg EX : 112 deg

Price not nego yet heheheh

just for info;
Now got aftermarket ECU plug n play type from TRUST/GReedy for E9..plus there also avail plug n play type cams call 'easy cam' ...have seen the result quite ok...E-Manage ultimate + V-manage + Easy cam can get nearly 400whp. Good enuff for daily drive becoz it work in conjunction with ori ecu. Just to share this is my direction..hehehe

bro - Unless you're running on race gas, that set up with stock turbo, bore & stroke can't take you that high. the most you gonna get is probably 330-340whp.. that is if you're lucky. if you're on limited budget, e9 is much harder to make power compared the evo prior version. Different story if you have deep pocket though...
chemical, i also not sure about that since i haven't install all those stuff yet.. but that the information i got from mutiara ...will upload the dyno graph soon.