Evo 7/8 Maintenance

don't think plaster and paint will do the trick la lan... coz the bumper at some places are bend out of shape. now when to close the bonnet, I have to slam it quite hard

try to consult paintshop fella.but becareful sometimes it will nice just after the paint,month after it will become wavy again.try to consult more paint shop

7th son,

the bumper can salvaged. but then again, its a b*&^% to get the grills done... tried on my friends car last night..boy i hated it! he had the same problem as urs... but more on the left hand side....

NoTiGuY said:
7th son,

the bumper can salvaged. but then again, its a b*&^% to get the grills done... tried on my friends car last night..boy i hated it! he had the same problem as urs... but more on the left hand side....

that's half of a good news... you know how fussy we are when it comes to the look - must always in pristine condition :). I thought of swapping the bumper but credit card limit is already maxed - probably, I just touch-up the bumper and live with that for a bit longer

but just in case.... evomr, PM ur quote

Guys,

Joined this forum not long ago. I just have few question to ask caused I'm in the midst of applying loan for a used evo7 from Hong Leong. Apparently I'd asked few banks around (BCB, Ambank, Maybank and etc), when I am about to chose Ambank, I ask the owner for import documents (I think AP permit).

He then suggest I call one of the agent who sell this car to him, which I did. He then said this car bought 4 years ago and he already resign, don't have the document with him. He then recommend me to Hong Leong bank whom he used to deal with and hong leong did call me. He gave me 90% loan with 3% interest for 7 years. The bank didn't ask for AP, and I think they will grant me the loan without much problem.

As I'd read through this forum, I somehow felt that this car is imported illegally. The owner (who might not know anything) fax only a copy of the car registration card to me. The agent maybe trying to hide the facts that this car import illegally hence he get me to Hong Leong (his affiliate) to help out.

I am not sure what will happen if I get this car afterward. Would it consider illegal?

Please advice. Many thanks.

Wira gsr,
As per my previous experience when sold off my previous imported lancer, Just make sure u or MUST got the Borang Kastam JK69 & Borang 1. If not later u will having a big problem to sell off your car. If possible also, get a copy of receipt, being pymt for custom duty etc.

Like your case, without such forms, i suppose yours is more like illegal importing.

Thanks for your message aja.

Looks like it's not the owner I should ask for clarification but the agent! There'll be 2 options I can nego base on that. Guys, help me out with this.

a) Ask for better price (due to the car resell value later will be very low and eventhough if I sell, the next owner can go back to the same agent).

b) Keep bugging the agent until he find a way to get me Borang Kastam JK69, Borang 1 or receipt of custom duty. If really cannot, ask the bank to give me better interest rate than 3%

Since my application already submit but waiting for approval, I think I have to do something about this...

Just checking, can anyone enlighten me how many type of E7 out there? What I figure so far is below.

a) Evo 7 GSR
b) Evo 7 RS
c) Evo 7 GTA

Anyone care to share the specs among these 3?

Thanks.

wira_gsr said:
Thanks for your message aja.

Looks like it's not the owner I should ask for clarification but the agent! There'll be 2 options I can nego base on that. Guys, help me out with this.

a) Ask for better price (due to the car resell value later will be very low and eventhough if I sell, the next owner can go back to the same agent).

b) Keep bugging the agent until he find a way to get me Borang Kastam JK69, Borang 1 or receipt of custom duty. If really cannot, ask the bank to give me better interest rate than 3%

Since my application already submit but waiting for approval, I think I have to do something about this...

i strongly advised you to stay clear of this deal no matter how attractive it may seem. after 8 mths, i'm still sorting out my sale of e4 which did not have proper papers. believe me, the hassle is really really a pain in the arse. you obviously would want to upgrade sometime later and that's when the whole shit come out

seventh_son said:
i strongly advised you to stay clear of this deal no matter how attractive it may seem. after 8 mths, i'm still sorting out my sale of e4 which did not have proper papers. believe me, the hassle is really really a pain in the arse. you obviously would want to upgrade sometime later and that's when the whole shit come out

Wira_Gsr,
See!. Someone already have problems when not enough docs supplied.
Trust me. The Borang Kastam JK69 & JK1 REALLY DAMN IMPORTANCE. Both importance due to the Goods descriptions & the Exporter name.

aja said:
Wira_Gsr,
See!. Someone already have problems when not enough docs supplied.
Trust me. The Borang Kastam JK69 & JK1 REALLY DAMN IMPORTANCE. Both importance due to the Goods descriptions & the Exporter name.

I understand that sir, totally honour your point of view. I'm pretty sure that with the contacts they have with legal people, they can fake the car documents (like Borang Kastam and JK1) anytime. It's a risk even I have the paper also (I know at least I'm safe if I have it, I know).

Now if I am selling the car, I will follow the same process I'd gone through. Keep the same contact person (both bank and agent), they should be able to sort this out.

Anyway, I'd call the bank yesterday and said he will get all the necessary document directly from the agent and owner. He will make a photocopy of those document (hopefully JK69 and JK1) and pass it to me.

Many thanks all of you sharing the insight. Look forward I get the car soon!

Guys,

i'm looking for unreg evo 7 or evo 8 now, can recommend some car dealers that reliable legally with those kastam and AP for that car? plan look at NAZA, will the price higher at NAZA?

thanks. :)

cyilaw said:
Guys,

i'm looking for unreg evo 7 or evo 8 now, can recommend some car dealers that reliable legally with those kastam and AP for that car? plan look at NAZA, will the price higher at NAZA?

thanks. :)

Found few here.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/search/search.asp

Type in "mitsubishi" at MAKE and "evo" at MODEL

sorry guys for MIA since i got my car. my first 9 days was driving it around, service and moving into my own place. only got to drive it for 9 days and now i am out of country for 2 weeks plus liaw and another 4 weeks to go. hope to be back before mid-June.

only prob i am still having with the car is balancing the clutch when engaging 1st gear; its a twin plate clutch but i am having problem catching the timing; and as other users reported, when taking slow corner on 2nd gear, a bit jerky. why ah? are you guys having the same prob?

7thson: sorry to hear about your car but how lah you hantam?

klmafia: i think your car color and rim same same lah

when yum char?

hi lazzy - long time we didnt hear from you. congrats on the new ride. did u get the manual I sent to you? about the accident, well...it was dark, raining and was doing so so speed then came across a t-junction with no street light and sign board. i just ploughed thru and landed on some big rocks - damaged the whole exhaust system...sigh... We should meet soon, bro. Noti and klmafia apparently had a couple of rendevous already. So guys, when can we tag along?

seventh_son said:
hi lazzy - long time we didnt hear from you. congrats on the new ride. did u get the manual I sent to you? about the accident, well...it was dark, raining and was doing so so speed then came across a t-junction with no street light and sign board. i just ploughed thru and landed on some big rocks - damaged the whole exhaust system...sigh... We should meet soon, bro. Noti and klmafia apparently had a couple of rendevous already. So guys, when can we tag along?

dont tell me this was in Kelana Jaya? as i rememeber there was a T-junction there without barricade, signage, lights and my friend drove thru it once.

what exhaust did u get? price? any good? Just before i left, i visited N1 in Sunway and tempted to buy the Ganador Titanium catback exhaust going for 4.2k; what do you think? the owner of N1 installed in his evo8 too.

and currently the car is using 6" K&N airfilter but was advised to use 8" instead, any comments?

i should be back mid-June (hopefully!); already missing my car :)

btw, do you guys go clubbing?

no lah friend - not in K.Jaya. Before the accident it was Blitz Realize TT cat back system (RM2700 - N1), de-cat pipe (RM400 - Speedworks) and downpipe (RM650 - JFA in Sunway). As the result of the unfortunate event, the whole system was changed except for the muffler and the front portion of the downpipe. I changed the whole piping to 3" inch stainless steel for RM850 (JFA also) from the front to rear. Sounds even better and more responsive as the turbo spools. Not bad.

Comparing between after-market exhaust system and custom fabrication, IMHO, custom made is not that bad. cheaper and looks nice too in stainless steel. however, since it requires many welding points to fabricate one, it may not outlast the after-market products. only time will tell.