Engine Oil - whats good & what's not

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
fellow bros,

lets share what engine oils fellow mazda and ford kakis are using/used & some comments
Currently on Motul 10-40 - not bad, so far best oil ive used
Used Q8 semi syn - not so good ler
Used Total semi syn - really not suitable for my car :mouth_closed:

MSC

Feb 10, 2007
motul alll ze wayyy bro.....

gear oil...engine oil...massage oilll..hahaha...eveythingg !! good good...

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
yea man, really nice feel. i must say its better than Q8 lots, heard that the MOtul full syn (with ester base) is even better ! but dam expensive lor
got tappet sound o not your engnie ?

ondgennis

Sep 29, 2004
Malacca
ya ya...the motul is damn expensive...
but is good :)

currently i testing on the Q8, only first change...so still no comment...

MSC

Feb 10, 2007
tappet sound very quiet....best sound compare to other oil ...and the gear oil too...gearbox very light n smooth....

how much the fully syn...never tried b4...

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
bro ondgennis,

wen i tested the Q8, for the 1st 3k km not bad, quite light and revvy, but after that really not good man, engine was so retarded, that's why i switched to Motul, sad thing is its dam expensive, i heard price also going up somemore :(

bro pimpin,

mobil lotsa aussie forummer don't recommend wor....any comments on the oil ?

emale

Apr 27, 2006
motuuuulll!!!

motul 300V chrono 10W40, i'm using it and found very good! before that i was using motul turbolight 10W40 and 6100 synergy, but 300V still the best! double ester ma, and smell good too!... but burn my wallet :(. Good stuff not cheap sad but true... motul coolant, RBF 600 brake fluid, gear oil i support all the way!!! and wallet burn burn burn! :S

ondgennis

Sep 29, 2004
Malacca
ya...the Q8 semi sync is not that good...
like tony tony said...first 3k km is ok...but later it getting worst...

before this Q8, i was using castrol magnetec and i think is better than Q8 lo...

coming oil change will plan to try caltex semi sync lo...any feebback on this oil?

sengasdf

Feb 18, 2007
Kajang
excuse me, my car is using shell 20W/50, I want to change to 10W/40 but some mechanic said not good to change to thinner oil for old engine cause it will burn out those oil.

By the way how much the motul oil cost??

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
MOtul 10-40 semi is at RM115 +/-. Very premium price. Good oil, but not suitable for the lash adjusters.

Currently now on MObil 5-50 full syn. Very noticeable diff between semi and full syn. LAsh adjuster noise is still there, but i'll wait for my second oil change then see how it goes.

Some have pretty good reviews on shell 15-50 full syn. Cheaper than mobil 1, so maybe i'll try that next

K_rulez

Nov 7, 2006
KELANA JAYA
bro... i am using pennzoil... semi syn 10-40... oso gud... no tepet sound... but seriously dun ever ever use full syn... because ur engine would burn the oil so fast... make ur car makan minyak worrr...

Is it possible to increase a car's turning radius? My car's turning radius is really small, hence making really sharp u-turns and 3-point turns sometimes turn into 5-6 point turns.. lol