Eg5 doch ZC

k_vin85

Guys, i need ur help. I'm planning to buy a '94 sr3. Its converted to eg5 1.6 DOCH ZC engine. I've done some research and i got a very little info about it. It seems to be a rare kind of engine. I hope someone out there can give me a detailed spec of the engine, pros and cons of it and most importantly, mods and upgrades which can be done it. Thank you.

My ride is an eg5 with a ZC engine previously ( auto ). Had it for 2 years before I have problem finding parts for replacement. I recalled the last time my distributor went kong it was damn hard to find replacement for it be it new or used. Even when I wanted to buy performance spark plug cables, there's limited options to choose from. Furthermore this engine is non VTEC so you might be missing on the best part Honda have to offer.

Did my transplant to B series engine last year as I could not bear with the maintenance of the engine ( The previous owner was a mech and I know he took good care of the engine but the hassle of finding replacement parts was irritating me) . Then again if you could get a decently maintained engine it might work for you but nothing can be compared to VTEC.

End of the day it still depends on you . If you're planning to use it for your daily commute and your not into modding much , then perhaps it could work for you.

Just sharing my experience. Good luck bro !

dc_vtec,

I'm getting the car for RM21k with the interior and exterior fully converted to eg6. Equipped with Desmond Regamaster Evo rims. The car is in its prime condition. I'm sure i cant get a eg6 in that conditioned anywhere near that price. All i'm concerned about is the engine. Would really appreciate if i can get additional info about it. Anyway, thanks man.

eg595,

Yeah, i do realise i'm gonna have a tough time finding parts for that engine. I guess, i have to bear with it at least until i get a b series engine under the hood but thats not gonna happen anytime soon. Bro, i really appreciate your concern but can i get more info on the engine like fuel consumption, horsepower and ect. Its manual transmission. Thank you very much.

k_vin85 , Mine was an auto an under normal city driving with a full tank of 30++ litres i get somewhere between 350 - 400 km . Since yours is a manual I think you should be able to get more ( depending on your driving style la ) . If your right foot is not heavy all the time :P

Horsepower wise I'm not sure as I've never really had an in depth look about it. Found this in the net however

" What is a ZC?

1st gen DOHC ZC - brown valve cover - came in 86-87 JDM Integra - will bolt directly into 1st gen CRX Si and 3rd gen Civic Si - will not bolt directly into 2nd gen CRX or 4th gen Civic.
2nd gen DOHC ZC - black valve cover - came in 88-89 JDM Integra - will bolt directly into 1st gen CRX and 3rd gen Civic, same as brown valve cover, however, it uses electronic advance distributor like 88-89 USDM Integra D16A1 - 1st gen CRX Si and 3rd gen Civic Si have vacuum advance distributor, so, to use it on 1g CRX or 3g Civic, you will have to do a lot of wiring changes.
3rd gen DOHC ZC - black valve cover - came in 88-91 JDM CRX Si and Civic Si - bolts directly into 2nd gen CRX and 4th gen Civic.
4th gen DOHC ZC - black valve cover - came in several different models of JDM cars 92 & up - is OBD1 - has Cylinder Position Sensor inside the distributor and will bolt directly into 92-00 Civics
SOHC ZC - basically the same as D16A6 (little more horsepower) - will bolt directly into 2nd gen CRX and 4th gen Civic.
SOHC VTEC ZC - basically the same as D16Z6 - OBD1 - will bolt directly into 92-00 Civic

DOHC ZC Specs.

1.6L (1590 cc) DOHC
130-135 hp @ 6800 rpm
Bore 75.0
Stroke 90.0
C.R. 9.5:1 I can find no evidence of it being any higher than this. "

I'm not sure whether this is correct or not as I'm not that technically versed as most of the sifu out there.

Maybe they can give you a clearer picture for the answer you're looking for.

Well, my right foot do tend to get heavy at times. :shades_smile: Anyway, thats lot of info from you. Thanks, bro.