E21 - to convert or to maintain?

praetorian

May 27, 2004

i have an e21, currently not running. i am considering a new engine, but cannot decide to stick with Bimmer engine or to go japanese.
Any 1 done this before?
the car is expected to be a daily runner, with a bit of go, to satisfy those times of need.
Any comments?
Thanks a lot to all who help

Kookaburra

Apr 29, 2005
Koala Lampost
praetorian said:

i have an e21, currently not running. i am considering a new engine, but cannot decide to stick with Bimmer engine or to go japanese.
Any 1 done this before?
the car is expected to be a daily runner, with a bit of go, to satisfy those times of need.
Any comments?
Conversion will bring its own set of problems : wiring, sourcing for compatible parts like engine mounts, etc.

If you want to maintain its reliability, I would suggest a simple L-Jetronic BMW engine. It's mechanical injection, so one less headache, and the parts are not too expensive and the engine is almost bullet proof.

praetorian

May 27, 2004
thanks,
any suggestions on which donor car i should look for?

Kookaburra

Apr 29, 2005
Koala Lampost
praetorian said:
thanks,
any suggestions on which donor car i should look for?
The M20 can either come from either E21 or early batch of E30. Talk to a few BMW specialist shop, they get M20 now & then when customers upgrade their engines.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Oops... M102 from E23 (745i)... found in Puchong junkyard.

This is how it should look like in complete form.

Anyone knows if can fit on E32?

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
xtracooljustin said:
i didnt know E23 got 4.5 litre engine. thought top of the range for E23 is da M30 735i.

by da way, dun hijack ppl thread la. Open a new topic la.

the 745i got a 3.2litre turbo inline 6 lah. it only comes in LHD version. if wanna fit RHD e23 the turbo will come into contact with the steering rack.

dont know if it would fit into an e32, coz the engine is huge!

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Yeah... that's why I didn't buy it... no ECU, wiring or gearbox. Price is cheap though... RM 2k.

Kookaburra

Apr 29, 2005
Koala Lampost
I tot the E23 745i is a 3.5 turbo? Anyway, I think only about 800 of these were made, one of which came to Malaysia, I think to Sultan of Selangor.

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
xtracooljustin.multiply.com
after some research, found out that YES! da E23 did come wif the 745i!

Its only in da South Africa market and that means it only comes in LHD! converting it for RHD would b a pain in da ass!

Its not codename M106 watsoever, cos its still a M30 3.2 litre 12 valves fitted wif turbochargers.

hope this clear things up :)

145fan

Feb 17, 2005
xtracooljustin said:

Its only in da South Africa market and that means it only comes in LHD! converting it for RHD would b a pain in da ass!

Its not codename M106 watsoever, cos its still a M30 3.2 litre 12 valves fitted wif turbochargers.

friend,

sorry la...again i have to correct your 'fact' sharing.....i read your post i want to laugh already....sounded like u know a lot, but actually u r messing up all the fact & ending up misguiding people.

fyi, M30 turbo version was coded M106. M102 also exists and they are almost identical except M106 is the later version (production yr 83-86), same bhp but slightly better top speed. if i know what's the difference internally, i wil share but unfortunately i dont, sorry!!!

btw, BMW sell 745i worldwide (both LHD & RHD)......the s. africa version is special....came in RHD, u know they drive on the left side of the road like we do....i guess u dunno this. AND....s africa's 745i came with M88 engine, NA version used in E28M5 & E24 635CSi....

now, i want u to agak2 why the S africa version came w/ diff engine?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
xtracooljustin said:

I've asked many mechs and they all told me the same answer... M102 will not fit inside a RHD E32 even with extensive mods - using steering racks from another newer BMW for example.

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
xtracooljustin.multiply.com
145fan said:
friend,

sorry la...again i have to correct your 'fact' sharing.....i read your post i want to laugh already....sounded like u know a lot, but actually u r messing up all the fact & ending up misguiding people.

fyi, M30 turbo version was coded M106. M102 also exists and they are almost identical except M106 is the later version (production yr 83-86), same bhp but slightly better top speed. if i know what's the difference internally, i wil share but unfortunately i dont, sorry!!!

btw, BMW sell 745i worldwide (both LHD & RHD)......the s. africa version is special....came in RHD, u know they drive on the left side of the road like we do....i guess u dunno this. AND....s africa's 745i came with M88 engine, NA version used in E28M5 & E24 635CSi....

now, i want u to agak2 why the S africa version came w/ diff engine?
well well. its nice to c u back here. i c, i have been messing up all da fact and misguide ppl. where hav u been then? u should come n check all my postings evy now n then to verify its authenticity dude.

M30 turbo version is codenamed M106, but its still a M30. u cant deny that. And I refered, once again, to BMW magazines for those info. SO sue me if im wrong.

Yeah, i forgot that South Africa is a member of the Commonwealth nation. thus RHD.

Bout ur question, y dun u enlighten us then, since u know so much? :)

145fan

Feb 17, 2005
u answered it already what......all M30 turbo came in LHD.....the turbo didn't give clearance for the steering rack. it wont be nice selling LHD car in S. Africa's RHD market ain't it??

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Hey guys, better stick to the original topic or open another... pity the original poster. I also apologise for posting the turbo Qs here.

whoopass

Oct 11, 2005
praetorian said:

Any 1 done this before?
Any comments?

Ill go for a japanese engines..cheaper to maintain.. :rock: :rock: :rock:

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
My suggestion is you use the E30 M20 engine. One of the best engine so far for the BMW.....but if u want more power...opt for M50 engine then

my friend driving kancil 850... he forgot to put back the radiator cap after he check before his journey..

for some distance the temperature go high and after he check back, the water in the tank already dry... then he top up the water into the radiator and after that, his car broke down and cannot start back...

what is the real problem hear and what should he do??

getting help from expert.. :)

p/s: sorry for grammatical mistake