Dos and Don'ts for New Turbo Owner - HELP NEEDED!

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
Dudes,
I just got a new ride and this is my first TURBO and I need advices on what I should/shouldn't do.

Cannonfodder

Feb 15, 2006
Use only synthetic engine oil

Change your oil regularly at 5000km intervals

Make sure that the engine oil is up to temperature before beating on the car

Make sure you cool down the turbo before turning the engine off

If it's a used car, have your A/FR tested to make sure you're not running lean

If it's a used car, do a boost leak test, you're guaranteed to find some

Don't simply turn up the boost without supporting mods

Other than that, it's just like any other car.

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
Cannonfodder,
Thanks for the info. And now what kinda gauges I need to install? Or is there one that I can keep and use it only when I need to, like to all in one digital types. And I don't intend to do huge modifications so I just need something that I can keep the car in good condition.

Anyways, it's a brand new car and I just got it for a couple of weeks. It's a Mit Colt Ralliart running on Z27A Mivec Turbo.

georgett

Oct 11, 2006
boost meter, timer, if got budget A/F R meter will be good.
water temp, exhaust temp. oil pressure, and so on onon
defi will be 1st choice.. 2nd would be auto meter loh...

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
Yikes,
That means I have gauges all over my dash!!! Anyway, I can keep my dash clean? Is there such a device?

t0il3t_duck

Apr 17, 2005
www.csee-loong.com
Cannonfodder said:
Use only synthetic engine oil

Change your oil regularly at 5000km intervals

Make sure that the engine oil is up to temperature before beating on the car

Make sure you cool down the turbo before turning the engine off

If it's a used car, have your A/FR tested to make sure you're not running lean

If it's a used car, do a boost leak test, you're guaranteed to find some

Don't simply turn up the boost without supporting mods

Other than that, it's just like any other car.
how to make sure turbo is cool enough before turning off engine...??

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
A Turbo Timer, That's the first thing I installed.

georgett

Oct 11, 2006
some can hide inside the passanger compartment, some below or upper the radio dash, some in the arm rest, and some at A pillar, some in front of the steering.

Cannonfodder

Feb 15, 2006
t0il3t_duck said:
how to make sure turbo is cool enough before turning off engine...??
Stop boosting and start cruising about 5 minutes away from your destination and your turbo will no longer be spooling and cool enough that you can shut down the engine.

Failing which, idle the engine for 60 seconds if you were on boost just before you arrived. If you've been driving really hard or at very high speeds, double that to 2 minutes.

It's better to cool your engine and turbo by driving gently instead of letting it simply idle there. You get no flow over your radiator and oil coolers, if you have any, when you're stationary plus you get more oil flow than at idle.

If you can't be bothered to practise any of the above, invest in a simple turbo timer.

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
hehehe......... i thoughj Toilet Duck VIOS is one of the rare turbo charged VIOS.. :)

Speed Demon

www.freewebs.com
If you do not intend to mod the car and you are leaving the engine as it is, a good FATT (fully automatic turbo timer) is all you need. A FATT will detect temperature levels and sets the turbo timer accordingly to keep your engine running long enough to cool your turbo down.

Since it is a new car, I suggest investing in a good alarm system first before proceeding to buy any gadgets. The more gadgets you have, the more inviting to thieves your car will become.

Just browse the Car Crimes thread to get an idea of what I mean. :X-:

By the way, congratulations on your new car. :regular_smile:

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
Alarms!

Speed,
Do you know where I can get a viper and good installer to reco?

Speed Demon said:
If you do not intend to mod the car and you are leaving the engine as it is, a good FATT (fully automatic turbo timer) is all you need. A FATT will detect temperature levels and sets the turbo timer accordingly to keep your engine running long enough to cool your turbo down.

Since it is a new car, I suggest investing in a good alarm system first before proceeding to buy any gadgets. The more gadgets you have, the more inviting to thieves your car will become.

Just browse the Car Crimes thread to get an idea of what I mean. :X-:

By the way, congratulations on your new car. :regular_smile:

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
i 1st do's advice.... dun drive like idiot.. drive carefully... love ur new turbo engine .....and ur car..

dun flame me.. just my 2cent

ShallowRiver

Oct 16, 2006
Doink... what do u mean by boost my car ofthen?

Lord... thanks for ur advice... I am still thinking why I bought the car... Cos I am an extremely careful drive and I am trying to learn my turbo engine that's why I am seeking advice for all u experts.

hey dude, pls help to look ard 4 my frens toyota wish , its grey in colour , no:BHA 2228 a TRD sticker infront the bonnet . he parked his car at subang new pasar there in de afternoon n when after he come out frm CC he found his car lost ... pls help to look ard .. thx thx ... help is appreciated... thx thx any detail pls call 017-2127288 or 017-2029989 TC