DIY repair water leaking

sam1741

hi all

if i not mistaken there is one black thing
kinda feel like soft rubber one

can i use that to fix water leaking?
what is that thing called?

anyone got other idea about fix water leaking?
hope can share share here.... i wish i can DIY

thanks in advance

Hi Sam1741,

The thing you want to stop window leaks is silicone. You can buy this at Hypermarkets also. I hope i can post pictures of how i did it here. I'm starting on it this Saturday. I'm fed up with the leaks too.

buy frm ace hardware colour is slear so if u put on body ppl wont perasan instead of black

Go any hardware shop also can buy lah , got transparent colour , white colour , black colour also..Buy the silicone tube and the silicon gun..izzit the one you mean use in aquariums ??..

which part of your car body are leak. it may be different solution to fix any water leak on car body such as windows or doors etc

Some of the black silicon u can find in hardware shop , we call it 7 star gel (Cantonese=cat sing gou).

Here is one of the bitumen u can get .. So called "7 star gel"

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c174/kent75/DSC00188.jpg

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c174/kent75/DSC00189.jpg

What if the leakage comes from the rear trunk rubber? Change already to new one... Still got leakage... need to silicone the rubber? or glue it to the body?

Silicone and glue..but then , silicon would be tidy unless it is not exposed..

use silico, yes it can be messy tht why i ask u to buy the clear type silicon so it wont be seen (compare to black)

Not sure where the water coming from... But what i do know that the water pass through the rear bonnet rubber... So, by sealing that particular part the water won't come in... Right... Logically speaking... Thanks for the advice Jin tai kor and traize...

no prob same thing happened to me, shop ask rm60 to seal it when diy i use only RM12 tht also jus 1/4 of silicon i use

Any silicone brand will do? Suggest me a brand... cos afraid of buying the wrong thing... :biggrin:

For me..Any Brand will do..just the colour have to be choose correctly..Erm , on average should be RM8 each..

Bump: Just an advice for me..In my case..but not too sure on your case..Since you are using silicon to deal with water leaking..Erm , sooner or later , there will be algae forming around the silicon if it is exposed to light..and there will be brown substances which is kinda dirty..Therefore , I would suggest you to go for Black Colour..