DIY My Simple CAI.

Originally posted by slk850+Mar 7 2005, 20:27 -->
QUOTE (slk850 @ Mar 7 2005, 20:27 )
Originally posted by yinho@Mar 7 2005, 18:14
Originally posted by tykoh@Mar 7 2005, 17:45
Originally posted by slk850@Mar 7 2005, 14:15
--QuoteBegin-tykoh
@Mar 7 2005, 13:30
nice design man... i like the RAM pipe extension... currently i just use 3' pvc pipe as my extension... this is neat and really nice... bravo job!!! :P

:lol: :lol: Thanks, not so bravo lar..... :P
Benefit with this curve extended Air Ram are you can point your Air Filter to diff directions (depends where is your cold air intake).

MPower customized it for me. :) Price around RM35 ~ 40 (Price are not fixed) Hope you all understand. B)

wah i really like the curve air ram.... and its really affordable... i was looking for it quite some times ago when i try to extend my open pod filter... but now i just use pvc pipe... really ugly lah... but its functionable lah... :D

after change to open pod the sound of intake so great when full step on the gas.... so syok... :D

nicely done man...

customize wan ar.. means kenot get from accesories shop izit? i wanna get one ler.. :(

Is the same pipe u get from accessories shops, then need to cut it shorter base on the length you need and fit into your engine bay. Thats i called it customized. :) [/b][/quote]
did u see any straighter ram pipe? around 2 palm length

My CAI project:

Pic #1: Stock pre-filter intake system on Wira 1.5 EFi. Long, U and L-turns, irregular shape and diameter. No way...

note: the silver portion is painted.

Pic #2: Modded pre-filter intake..

Materials:
Used S-hose from MMC (the S-hose after filter, going into the TB).
Hose clamp
3.25" ID industrial hose (8" long)
Epoxy adhesive

Pic #3: Upclose

The green wire is to hold the white-color 3.25" hose. The hose doesn't run all the way down to the bumper, but slightly longer than you can see for the colder air in the fender area. I have tried various setup. It's NOT neccessary to have the opening behind the bumper. Just make sure all the possible holes around that area is sealed, leaving a front one for fresh air from the bumper.

Where is the ending ?? My friend (wira) request for it.....hahahahaaaa :lol: :lol:

1 inch longer that you can see from the photo.. should i say.. slightly lower than the head lamp. this mod is not cheap. you need to get the used S-hose and the airbox from half cut. Must be the MMC type.. Not siemens type. Around RM60-80..

note: sorry bro slk850... for hijacking.. haha!! As long as we share right?

Originally posted by drexchan@Mar 8 2005, 11:46
1 inch longer that you can see from the photo.. should i say.. slightly lower than the head lamp. this mod is not cheap. you need to get the used S-hose and the airbox from half cut. Must be the MMC type.. Not siemens type. Around RM60-80..

note: sorry bro slk850... for hijacking.. haha!! As long as we share right?
Bro, any photo show the end of your CAI pipe ?? where you located it ??
Aiya....wat hi-jack woh ??? It on the right topic - DIY CAI.

:) :D :lol:

I can ask my friends (Wira) refer your DIY. Thanks for sharing. B)

yes, better low end torque especially during slow traffic under hot sun. This mod can also prevent the problems of rain droplet, sand and insect being sucked into the intake. Just colder air and bigger, shorter pre-filter hose. The sound is nice too.. :)

got time 1st ah.. lately very bz.. even de rim covers i havent start to paint yet. onli washed it...

today i happen to be free... so my hand getting itchy :P
drexchan's idea is good and easy to do...
so i removed my modded air box and install back the stock air box...
cut the S-shaped hose i got from chop shop last time...
put the cut S-shaped hose at the same place as drexchan did...
and it fit nicely into the air box :D

here's the 1st pic: