DIY exhaust baffler

i dun think that these method is safe...cos the size on the outlet is big...then suddenly all the pressure are forced thru a small hole...if the screw is not a hardcore one the baffler will one day fly off and hit the vehicle behind u....shud have at least have a tube to make the airflow smaller in slow process...how to explain aihh...look below....the baffler shud have the extension so that there wont be a sudden change in airflow velocity....failing to slow this process it'll only create an intense pressure inside wor....see below...usually exhaust have a wee bit smaller inner thinggy(fiber parts)...the baffler's extension shud at least be the same size as this....of cos this is my 2 cents ler...but if u wanna do this method...at least use 3 screw holes to make sure the thing wont fly off ler..ehheheheh

1.jpg

P.S joeker borrow ur pics...i damn lazy to draw ler...its 3am :P

LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:

nice name ... i like it...

baffler....

but very inovative.

good work

wah nice picture to explain wo.... if you dont like loud noise then why you modify it wo.... so far i still keep my one stock coz parents dont like noise....hai.... want more power = more noise....

Satanic,
Good feedback, thanks!.

I'm using it for quite some time adi (from the pics you can see the very blackened baffler) So far its safe and there are no reports of a flying steel mug hitting motorist. :lol:

Tykoh,
I'm comfortable with modified exhaust tone, but the noise is quite irritating to my boss, my wife, my in-laws and my customer.

is it possible to find a more flow muffler that without too much noise? i found the current new saga's muffler also very noisy especially on highway...

S-flow type is louder or quite?

got 1 case...my silencer's screw broke and it fly off few months ago...car behind whack it...i straight buat dunno cabut liao AHAHHAHAHA....after the incident go do anoda 1 but instead of 1 screw i asked ah heng to put 2 screws for security reasons AHAHAHAHHAHAH

Joeker : salute u. u r damn creative !! congrats man

and yes, baffler will create much more backpressure and it is not good. that's why all racing type exhaust got no silencer/muffler at all. but what to do ? want more power but want senyap ah ? cannot la :D

p/s: better put baffler only when gf or parents enter ur car..when u r alone, get that thing out la

Originally posted by flamefox850@Nov 22 2004, 18:25
baffler will create much more backpressure
With baffle, RPM go up VERY slow and turbo response SUCK big time.

But very confortable on long distance driving (car quite and can enjoy the music peacefully without the drooning sound from the exhaust)

yaahh that's true...in my case, even without baffle, my car goes not smooth and car will jump jump like katak when boost comes in. that happened when i use my previous smaller inner muffler diametre.
sold that muffler and use bigger dia muffler and become smooth boosting...but noisy la..lot of bass
but ur DIY project helps a lot when a person need to be in quiet condition. congrats again

wah both tai ko drive turbo car ah.... really jeolous wo... i plan to change 421 and mid section and take out the cat converter.... if i remain the stock muffler will this give me extra hp???
my parents really hate loud muffler....

Originally posted by tykoh@Nov 22 2004, 19:13
wah both tai ko drive turbo car ah.... really jeolous wo... i plan to change 421 and mid section and take out the cat converter.... if i remain the stock muffler will this give me extra hp???
my parents really hate loud muffler....
Maybe if u can ask this in car mod section, u will get more response.

yes u will get a bit of power on pickup...cos the cat converter sucks big time....even by taking the cat converter alone will give better response in accelerations....plus u wanna put in a 421...thats help too....and with the midsection...it'll help in keeping the noise down...i think 1 enuff....

joeker...i always go to ah heng damn early in the morning one...kawtim with his worker...can squeeze a bit more discount EKKEKEKEKEKEKEKEKKE

take the cat converter out? eh.. really dunno.. but do malaysia rule got thing about emission control or not? if not i wan take the cat converter out also hehehe..