Dear members ... need some tires price compariso

options

Dear members,

i was about to change my tires (another 2 months time)...i come across tires shop in Semabok Melaka the dealer told me on below prices :

Yokohamo 235/45/17 advan neova RM695 per piece
Toyo 235/45/17 r888 semi-slick RM680 per piece .... is it reasonable ?:biggrin:

Bro, any idea how much ? what is the price range for those ?

re001 is 630 per piece. re01r is 1100. re050 is 980 per piece. try bridgestone and he wont consider others anymore. it is the top brand. the best of the best.

re01r can get ar ?mana ?

anyone using it here ? mind to share ?

if were to compare with 001 and re050 ?

:driver:

re001 is for performance and re050 is a prestige type of tire. not for racing on track.

What u guys think of GY Eagle F1 GSD3?

my 2 cents take on it ..... cannot make it lor the Eagles for me... Made in Thailand. Cepar botak lor.. countless headache la ... pancit at least 3 times ... :banghead:

Switched back to Bridgestones this year .... was using the s02's prior switching to Eagles... now change back to Bridgestones ... made in Nipponland ... satisfied with it's performance... next tyre change may switch to Toyo to try...

my 2 cents take on it ..... cannot make it lor the Eagles for me... Made in Thailand. Cepar botak lor.. countless headache la ... pancit at least 3 times ... :banghead:

Switched back to Bridgestones this year .... was using the s02's prior switching to Eagles... now change back to Bridgestones ... made in Nipponland ... satisfied with it's performance... next tyre change may switch to Toyo to try...

Hey Paul,

I thought u are using semi-slick right now ? what brand u use ? is it good ?

Han,
depends on ur requirement , if u r using for normal daily drive from work to home , sometime onli u whack ur car , then use normal tyre oso will do i mean good and cheaper like hankook.. but if u drive like our fren jacky everyday better change to bridgestone , AD07 or TOYO.... I think the price at semabok shop is reasonable...

here's my sharing and personal experience. These are the tyres I've used before on my ride and their size as well.

I suggest we use rating to share our experience so is easier for all to understand and compare notes.

I'll use 1-10 la instead of long story but the 10 scale here is still street driving and not track slick performance rating la. 11 onwards is slick. Again, these are my personal scoring that I'm sharing so please don't sue me.

Dry Grip - 1 being banana and 10 being super-glue
Wet Grip - 1 being banana and 10 being super-glue
Treadwear - 1 being botak fast and 10 being forever tak botak. (lower is better in grip in most cases)
Sidewall - 1 being soft wall and 10 being hard

Here goes my sharing (related to Evos)..

1. Yokohama ES100 225/45/R18
Dry Grip - 3/10
Wet Grip - 3/10
Treadwear - 9/10
Sidewall 4/10

Price: Back then is RM 3xx (2003)
Comment: I use few months straight chance..cannot tahan this tyre but then the good news is the treadwear doesnt seems to 'wear'. ; )

2. GoodYear Eagle F1 GSD3 (Germany) 225/45/R17
Dry Grip - 6/10
Wet Grip - 8/10
Treadwear - 6/10
Sidewall - 5/10

Price: Back then is RM 550 (2003)
Comment: Very good (in fact I would say Superb) in wet but so so in dry. If can, get the germany version and not the Thai version/made (cheaper by almost rm200 coz Thai made does not contain silica compound hence less grip.

3. Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 225-235/45/R17
Dry Grip - 8.5/10
Wet Grip - 4/10
Treadware - 4/10 (rated 240 i think)
Sidewall - 8/10

Price: RM 550-6++ (I finish 225 and bought 235 in 2004-2005
Comment: Well the 2F2F marketing paid off as it was Neova back then. But then, it was really good considering the price you paid for. It has a very hard sidewall hence is really good for hard cornering but in DRY ! In WET is worst then my BATA slipper..no joke. Some might dispute but try going through Karak Highway on a wet day (no need to be heavy rain)..you'll be zig-zagging losing grip before you know it. Is very noisy too..

4. Toyo Proxes T1-R 235/45/R18
Dry Grip - 7/10
Wet Grip - 7/10
Treadware - 6/10
Sidewall - 5/10

Price: Ard RM620 for 18", was told RM500 for 17" can get in KL.
Comment: Again, F&F3 Tokyo Drift marketing paid off and I falled for this. Hehe..ok la. Is actually a good tyre and I must say is very good in Wet. I always complain of it's softer sidewall but that is because I was using 2 rounds of Advan Neova back then. To be fair, is a very practicle tyre for everyday, value for money and is all rounder above average mark for an Evo. Don't compare with Potenza RE050 or Advan 046 la.

5. Michellin Pilot Sport II (PS2) - 255/40/R17

Dry Grip - 9.5/10 (yes 9.5)
Wet Grip - 5/10
Treadware - 2/10 (Rated 220 but I think is lower..lol)
Sidewall - 8.5/10

Price: RM1050
Comment: This is as close as you get to semi-slick but still not there yet so can still use as daily drive tyre. I would say is ard the class with RE-050 and A046. Treadwear sucks btw but that's what you got to sacrifice for grip. Haven't really try wet but doesn't seems too good to deal with hydroplanning situation if you look at it's tread pattern (no longkang like T1R or GSD3).

Last edited by a moderator: