Cute little Aygo

facelift

Anyone have seen this car before? Very nice looking. It is DESIGNED to be cheap, unlike other cars which is design and then built cheaply (gen2 :p) --> quote from TopGear. And guess what? It got a FOUR-star Euro NCAP rating. Sawi EAT this (Sawi only got 3-star). If it ever came to Malaysia with the correct price (around 6K++ pound in the UK), then proton and perodua for sure tutup kedai. They should learn from toyota to build cheap cars.

http://img332.imageshack.us/img332/1550/gal102402small8zr.jpg
http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/5959/gal102404small8pg.jpg
http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/3386/gal102405small3tn.jpg
http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/5457/gal102406small8lf.jpg

cool car indeed..saw it in topgear..the best part was..they use a couple of these cars to play a game of football..and suprisingly they all were in good condition after that..trully a good car..woudn't mind getting it if it comes to malaysia in any of the 3 forms. toyota,peugeot, or citroen.. :D

facelift said:
They should learn from toyota to build cheap cars.

the aygo is actually built on the same chassis as the perodua myvi, but interior/exterior built to european taste/needs. myvi built/designed to malaysian/asian needs (spacious, roomy, comfy, long distance "balik kampung" trips etc. )

anyway daihatsu has shares in perodua, which in turn owned by toyota. and the Myvi's japanese cousins is the daihatsu boon/toyota passo. perodua's qc for the myvi is the same as toyota passo's.

alexz said:
the aygo is actually built on the same chassis as the perodua myvi, but interior/exterior built to european taste/needs. myvi built/designed to malaysian/asian needs (spacious, roomy, comfy, long distance "balik kampung" trips etc. )

anyway daihatsu has shares in perodua, which in turn owned by toyota. and the Myvi's japanese cousins is the daihatsu boon/toyota passo. perodua's qc for the myvi is the same as toyota passo's.
I thought aygo is completely new. Its not the same platform as yaris. If its share the same chassis with myvi how come the NCAP rating is different?

~I prefer this one than the peugeot or citroen. Look nicer =)

facelift said:
I thought aygo is completely new. Its not the same platform as yaris. If its share the same chassis with myvi how come the NCAP rating is different?

~I prefer this one than the peugeot or citroen. Look nicer =)

yeah i agree with you too..i think its build on a brand new platform...the myvi is heavily based on the toyota passo and etc and the myvi looks much bigger than the aygo..i think the C1,107 and aygo are a platform by itself.

myvi NCAP rating different? where did u get the myvi NCAP ratings?

from this site http://www.rte.ie/motors/2005/0207/daihatsu.html it says the new sirion (aka myvi) gets 4 star NCAP rating

for aygo, its also 4 stars http://www.carpages.co.uk/toyota/toyota-aygo-29-05-05.asp?switched=on&echo=1023707731

extra....

japanese NCAP ratings for myvi
http://www.nasva.go.jp/assess/english/html2005e/type/07_passo.html

BTW platform doesnt mean the outside body shape. the nissan 350z, skyline g35 and the murano all share the same platform. as is the VW beetle,audi a3/a4, VW golf, skoda octavia, seat leon, etc... the shape is radically different, but platform is the same.

alexz said:
myvi NCAP rating different? where did u get the myvi NCAP ratings?

from this site http://www.rte.ie/motors/2005/0207/daihatsu.html it says the new sirion (aka myvi) gets 4 star NCAP rating

for aygo, its also 4 stars http://www.carpages.co.uk/toyota/toyota-aygo-29-05-05.asp?switched=on&echo=1023707731

extra....

japanese NCAP ratings for myvi
http://www.nasva.go.jp/assess/english/html2005e/type/07_passo.html

BTW platform doesnt mean the outside body shape. the nissan 350z, skyline g35 and the murano all share the same platform. as is the VW beetle,audi a3/a4, VW golf, skoda octavia, seat leon, etc... the shape is radically different, but platform is the same.
I've searched the internet and for the myvi no real crash test result... yet. Although they predict it will be 4-star. Sorry for any wrong info. :))

yeah, daihatsu "predicts" it will be a 4 star euro NCAP, similar as the aygo... but the japanese NCAP is there.

alexz said:

yeah...perodua is under toyota n daihatsu also got shares inside...toyota only make big car like camry,harrier,estima,altis blabla, and those small car register under perodua...

Old news guys. Even the Top Gear episode which featured it is long over.

alexz: Thanks for the useful bits of information.

lolx.. realy old news already, but i really like it too, for a city car.

so basically it shares the same chasis as passo but the body parts and internal panels are redesign to be cheap right? just share the bone, meat and skin different...

to bad myvi 1liter don't come with the new 1KR-FE

What I like about this car though, is that they have intentionally designed it to be cheap. Which means it is properly built cheap. They haven't skimp on anything or cut corners on the important stuff so build quality is still good. Proton take note.

The car can also be disassemble in only 5 hours.
http://www.japanesecarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/2050803.006

wahh... portable Aygo...
but whats the use leh??... u cant keep it in ur backpack if u cant find any parking space ma... aiyo...

good for car robbers... can take out everything and sell as spare parts...