Crank Pulley

khbeh34

Hi Guys i'm driving a Honda Stream. Last day i go to JC Motorsport ask bout the crank pulley. They quoted me 600 only the pulley haven't include the belt n installation fees.... Is that too expensive??? after install this stuff will got any side effect??? jus recomend by Spore fren n i totally dunno its function.... Any Master can help me????

Thank u Beri Muchy....

i think for the price u pay vs the performance gain (if any) is not recommendable....

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
i think for the price u pay vs the performance gain (if any) is not recommendable....

Sir, Can u explain clearly for me??? i'm still a noob in this field..... By the way after install got any side effect???

y u dun self go to do 1 for ur self....?
Next time u go change timing belt, can go for the workshop have do milling de do 1 for u with..... with.. alloy? M also duuno.

Crank Pulley? basically how much can u gain? I dun think much performance u will gain...

will free up some hp, but std pulley oso act as harmonic damper.depends on what you looking for.some frens installed, got improve response, but later got oil leak.dunno if related.but i think cost too high for returns.
my 2c onli so dun angry me :)

for crank pulleys, yes it'll free some HP but I second blackhowling. For the pulley alone, it's darn expensive even with a HKS or JUN badge on. Usually crankpulleys goes into stage 2 NA modifications to optimise engine balancing mod.

RM600? another few extra hundred bucks for Emanage, your stream would run way better and more HP gains.

Kopi said:
for crank pulleys, yes it'll free some HP but I second blackhowling. For the pulley alone, it's darn expensive even with a HKS or JUN badge on. Usually crankpulleys goes into stage 2 NA modifications to optimise engine balancing mod.

RM600? another few extra hundred bucks for Emanage, your stream would run way better and more HP gains.

About the Emanage i've install already.... but still not satisfied bout my car... maybe i've install a set of 17" rim--> it become too heavy when pickup... hope can improve something la...

By the way (yes it'll free some HP but I second blackhowling), wat is the mean of second blackhowling??? thank u...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
khbeh: he means he agrees with my point...

Haiz..... should ask Experts at ZTH be4 i purchase the pulley.... use money to buy some experince.....

there's r a few types of crank pulley.
same size but lighter weight, smaller size and lighter weight n so on......
it's all about reducing the weight off the rotating crank. n there u'll get at more power as the engine doesn't need to rotate a heavier mass.
but the downside of using this thing is, it'll slow the rotating speed of ur alternator, a/c compresser n power steering pump.
so, if u r playing with heavy load of stereo stuffs, then u r suppose to go thru a bit of decrease in quality. so says some ppl. but there r ppl who doesn't agree with this.
it's up to u. if ur s'pore recommends u, why not give it a try if u have the $$$? haha.......

but i heard from somewhere.. forgotten where.... those with engine balanced.. if u change the crank pulley.. might not be that 'good' as it will be 'imbalanced'????

lightened crank pulley are used so the engine doesnt need so much stress to move a heavier mass

high grade lightened crank pulley are mostly made of marine-grade aluminium as it is light enough and not as brittle as compared to spacecraft grade aluminium (which can be even lighter)

from what i've been told.. the common manufacturer would choose marine grade rather than aircraft grade aluminium even when aircraft grade aluminium is so much lighter because the drawback is aircraft grade aluminium is brittle, might not withstand the torture and might crack/snap.

this source i was told from the custom engine modder from aust, but dunno what material are the local manufacturers are using (u know la, local all looking into cost efficiency wise only)

also, some aftermarket pulley are design to overdrive/underdrive, depending on the ratio compared to the oem one.