Change dashboard panel color with DPI Autocolor

xtorm,

i don't think general sprayed the whole dash... just the panels (the ones with wood finishings at the meter cluster and the center console, in pic1).. notice in the 2nd pic they're this silvery colour...

i dun think there will be any probs spraying onto de console trims.. since it already got a layer of paint on it.. not pure plastic..

wat u need to do b4 painting it are use a fine sand paper to gosok a bit... to let de paint have some cleaverage n make sure de sureface is clean from any dust b4 spraying..

FYI.. i sprayed my gear knob with flat black just like dat... of cos got some sand paper job b4 dat... also look damn nice n very durable... no peeling at all..

yups... khguan you're right...

sandpaper the part that you want to spray with.. can't do it on soft vinyl though...

hmmm.....how muxh do i need to sand? till all like abit white?

that DPI Autocolor selling at RM15.90 at my place only... the problem is that they dun have much choices... nice work! :D

xtorm,

just sand it until de surface is a little blur.. then ok liao... make sure de surface is smooth after u sand it... if not... de paint wil follow de surface texture..

khguan said:
xtorm, just sand it until de surface is a little blur.. then ok liao... make sure de surface is smooth after u sand it... if not... de paint wil follow de surface texture..

yup..i did that with sand paper (1000) b4 applying undercoat..

jef..

my fren used this dpi on his panel also but lancer d/board. now almost a year nothing happen. the result still ok..

i sprayed my whole interior black n grey (satria from front to back)...
its been mur than 6 mths... no stratches or wat ever...
cos i use alil bit of thinner to wipe the surface clean,then use 1 layer of spray mount,
then use flat black 5rm spray... result xcellent...better then the mmc black1...
using spray mount gif paint a gud grip n dries faster... try stratching it ... wun cum off easily....
but the thg using spray mount is the sutface bcum alil ruff...
because i use 3M very strong.... maybe using cheaper 1s wud be ok...but dunno the outcum... 3M cost 60rm... can use for whole car including superlon on Bonet and other areas...

sad i dun have digcam to capture the process...

general,
need to use undercoat?? wat undercoat u use?? just spray de paint on can already right?

partyJoe,
u used spray mount ah?? i tot spray mount wun dry wan if use to stick paper... de paint can mix with it when sprayed on??

can tell me more detail on dat?? after u spray de spray mount.. have to wait how long b4 u spray de flat black paint on? can use other colors?

anyway this is my gear knob i sprayed with flat black last 2 weeks.. so far no scratches or peeling... onli use sand paper n flat black spray...

yah.. i forgot to mention de original "leather" part already came off a bit n i tear off de whole thing until left de smooth area... so i decided to sray it lor.. :)

khguan said:
partyJoe,
u used spray mount ah?? i tot spray mount wun dry wan if use to stick paper... de paint can mix with it when sprayed on??

can tell me more detail on dat?? after u spray de spray mount.. have to wait how long b4 u spray de flat black paint on? can use other colors?

anyway this is my gear knob i sprayed with flat black last 2 weeks.. so far no scratches or peeling... onli use sand paper n flat black spray...

no bro, u got the wrong info.... i've even used them to stick my superlon....
it dries fast within min... u can use other colors as well...
but i'v only tried flat black n grey so far...
yah the paint will mix to form a surface thats looks original.
i tell u looks gud... but ruff... so i advise not to spray 2 much....

partyJOE,

where do you get these spray mount thingies? I have been looking for adhesion promoters but can't find them in ACE hardware... just wondering whether these are the same with adhesion promoters..

RM60 a can is kinda heavy don't you think?? how many applications to a can?

JeFfReYiSpEacE said:
partyJOE,

where do you get these spray mount thingies? I have been looking for adhesion promoters but can't find them in ACE hardware... just wondering whether these are the same with adhesion promoters..

RM60 a can is kinda heavy don't you think?? how many applications to a can?

hi ... i bought them at Venus Stationery in Petaling street.... there r 2 types i'v seen (maybe more)...
1. 3M Super 77 Spray Adhesive (made in USA) cum in 467g can = rm60++ (very strong)
i used this 1 cos its really strong n can be used for other DIY projects(multipurpose)
2. 3M Spray Mount Artist Adhesive (local)cum in 290g can = rm20++
this 1 is less sticky... sticks only paper... so i doubt it cando the job...
1 can(super77)can last me for the whole interior and other diy projects...
try n see... (",)

i tot spray mount cost about rm3x a can... 3M wan...

so partyJoe.. u mean u used spray mount for sticking superlon... not for making de paint to stick better onto vinyl?? dats y i'm confused..

Guys, i'm trying to spray my dashboard pannel too. But hv no knowledge abt how to take out the pannel. Any1 mind to tell me, how many screw, and located at where..pls...
I hv unscrew 5 screw already, any more screw to unscrew? Current problem is the air-cond plug still stick to the pannel, just pull out the whole pannel? is it ok? pls teach me guys...

partyJOE

when you spray your interior to black, you DO mean dashboard, glove box, door panel & all other plastic interior right?

hi general,
can i ask you that where can i get those stuff??
in hardware shop??how to say?are they know this stuff name?
hear you soon... :D