Cefiro Club

ongteckweng said:
Spyderco said:
spy....u need a van with small generator, air gun, 4 block of bricks n 4 strong ppl...should be done in 3 minutes...:biggrin:

Van - got! Small generator - can borrow from friends, Air gun - can borrow from my mech, bricks - got at home, 4 strong ppl - just need 2 more feilos from here. Free teh tarik and roti canai.

So Ong...when you free??? :angel_smile:

Spyderco said:
dream.tent said:
Last week, found a modded Feilo near Menara Celcom KL.

Some shots..

Hey Dream, assuming that car is there every day. How long do you think it'll take to remove the 4 wheels? hahahhaaha.....

You want to be so devil meh!

defcon1 said:
Just replace the carbon rods. Should be available...

Did you retrieve your old starter? If you did, pass to me and I see if can recond or not. If original carbon rods not available, it's not difficult to modify another set to fit.

The starter is a standard, high torque DC electric motor. There are carbon rods of all shapes and sizes that you can buy for all the thousands of types of electric motors out there. So, should be able to find something that will fit.

Should be able to get back from mechanic. I keep asking mechanic can it be repaired (change parts) he say cannot bcos it is due to the "motor" loose not due to carbon or relay etc....

Will let you know later....

Spyderco said:
ongteckweng said:
Van - got! Small generator - can borrow from friends, Air gun - can borrow from my mech, bricks - got at home, 4 strong ppl - just need 2 more feilos from here. Free teh tarik and roti canai.

So Ong...when you free??? :angel_smile:
anytime....:biggrin:

Lawcc said:
Should be able to get back from mechanic. I keep asking mechanic can it be repaired (change parts) he say cannot bcos it is due to the "motor" loose not due to carbon or relay etc....

Will let you know later....

Bro, the last time i kena this is with my 850 GLE.
After a heavy rain evening, i drove the car through some 1feet deep flash flood mud water.

The second thing happens on the next evening (after i park the car in the parking lot for 14 hours)....during ignition, no sound no picture....but batt all ok.

My Mech told me to look for a wood and whack the starter! after 3 knock.....i manage to start the car but with a very loud noice..like the starter didn't pull back quick enough and hit the fly wheel.....

next day, confirmed. The starter got mud and rusted a bit.
My mech took it our and greese it again. From that day, no problem till i sold it.
cost me RM 70.

dream.tent said:
After a heavy rain evening, i drove the car through some 1feet deep flash flood mud water.

The second thing happens on the next evening (after i park the car in the parking lot for 14 hours)....during ignition, no sound no picture....but batt all ok.

My Mech told me to look for a wood and whack the starter! after 3 knock.....i manage to start the car but with a very loud noice..like the starter didn't pull back quick enough and hit the fly wheel.....

My mech took it our and greese it again. From that day, no problem till i sold it.
cost me RM 70.
looks like the "knocking" technique can be use for various reasons...:biggrin:

Starter motor is a very difficult part to damage...cos it's so infrequently used. Not like other electric motors that may be under constant load. So, it's very unlikely that anything is "loose" other than that it wore out it's carbon rods.

dream.tent said:

cost me RM 70.

Dream your case sounds similiar to mine leh....And happy to know that this can be done through greasing ah.....without changing starter. Aiyoh.....my damn mechanic cause my pocket RM300 lighter.....

So guys, you know now I got one extra used starter to sell, beside two front KYB Japan absorbers with original springs, AirCon compressor....

defcon1 said:
Starter motor is a very difficult part to damage...cos it's so infrequently used. Not like other electric motors that may be under constant load. So, it's very unlikely that anything is "loose" other than that it wore out it's carbon rods.

Sorry bro, can't give the starter already lah....hah:embaressed_smile: ......

Hi Dear All Cefiroans

Today is my happy day........

After installed Eibach springs, my old-man cefiro used to bounce a lot now no more. Previously when over the bump, the feel is up down up down, now is only up down.....no more bouncing!

One the rough road, used to have sounds from the dashboard due to the vibration, now much much reduce...feel solid...

The whole ride now is more steady and confident.....I like the feeling and this is what I am looking for all this while.

For the past one year, have been spending quite a lot of money changing tie rod, lower arm, bushes, front absorbers, back absorbers, tyres but all no help. Now only I know the solution .... the spring is the problem....Cefiro spring is too soft......

Thanks Peter for selling me the springs. But notice one thing funny, the rear spring, the lower end is a bit too small to fit into the "support" base of the absorbers. Hopefully after a while by having few bump with the weight of the car, it will settle down by itself.

Lawcc said:
Hi Dear All Cefiroans

Thanks Peter for selling me the springs. But notice one thing funny, the rear spring, the lower end is a bit too small to fit into the "support" base of the absorbers. Hopefully after a while by having few bump with the weight of the car, it will settle down by itself.

If they don't make noise, leave them alone. If they do, then ask your mech to use some rubber or gas hose and push one loop of the spring through.

Lawcc said:
Hi Dear All Cefiroans

After installed Eibach springs, my old-man cefiro used to bounce a lot now no more. Previously when over the bump, the feel is up down up down, now is only up down.....no more bouncing!

One the rough road, used to have sounds from the dashboard due to the vibration, now much much reduce...feel solid...

The whole ride now is more steady and confident.....I like the feeling and this is what I am looking for all this while.

For the past one year, have been spending quite a lot of money changing tie rod, lower arm, bushes, front absorbers, back absorbers, tyres but all no help. Now only I know the solution .... the spring is the problem....Cefiro spring is too soft......

wah law...now u r offically consider sporty ah pek liow...coz ur cefiro its officially "LOWERED" :biggrin:

defcon1 said:
If they don't make noise, leave them alone. If they do, then ask your mech to use some rubber or gas hose and push one loop of the spring through.
Thanks defcon1, the used springs already come with the hose.

ongteckweng said:
wah law...now u r offically consider sporty ah pek liow...coz ur cefiro its officially "LOWERED" :biggrin:
ong...

The rear Eibach and original springs are at the same height before installed, and after installed, ie 4 fingers height.

The front original springs is about 2" higher than Eibach springs before installed, but after installed, is about 1" lowered in height, just nice 4 fingers height. Before that about 6 fingers height, which is too high, I think.

Just drove my wife old Toyota Corolla SEG 1.6, che.eeeee........After changing the Eibach Springs, my suspension is just as good as hers.....Malu leh....Can you believe?

Lawcc said:
ong...

The rear Eibach and original springs are at the same height before installed, and after installed, ie 4 fingers height.

The front Eibach and original springs is about 2", but after installed, can hardly see about 1" lowered in height. I would say just nice 4 fingers height. In other words, original > 4 fingers height, which is too high.
law..sounds like ur car's front its lower than the rear...not balance la...r u using the stopper with the rear spring?

ongteckweng said:
law..sounds like ur car's front its lower than the rear...not balance la...r u using the stopper with the rear spring?

Sorry the previous posting was confusing.... In fact the front height is higher than the rear before change. (6 fingers vs 4 fingers), now (4 fingers vs 4 fingers)

Lawcc said:
Hi Dear All Cefiroans

lawcc, happy for u, man! :_: glad you're enjoying your feilo's ride now. about the squeaky noise from the dashboard, go to a accessories shop and pay them to dismantle the thing and put a thin double-side tape around the wall, especially around the temp's display. i paid ony RM15 for the job. bye-bye squeaky 4ever! i read this trick from another site but cannot recall which. However, squeaky (or rather 'knocky') came back at the side door now...darn!! the accs shop can't fix it after tightening all nuts & screws avai. guess I hav to make a trip to the cushion shop now....sobs!:cry_smile:

0909 said:
btw, how much u paid for those springs? and what model is it?

0909 Thanks for the tips on dashboard.... When need it, will ring you for help..ok?

Used Eibach pro-kits spring bought for RM300. New one RM1050, cannot afford lah....
Labour RM20 x 4 = RM80
(FOC for labour to replace cracks CV joint Boot)