Cefiro Club

cwkm said:
Wow... thanks for the info... this really helps alot. Now at least i know what to get next... haha.. thanks mate!
=)
no prob mate..anytime...:D

will let u know when he has new stocks...cheers

Hi everyone

Can enlighten me what is the advantage of K & N drop in filter vs pipecross? Why see so many go for K & N, but not pipecross?

Law, not sure if anyone did any comparison on K&N vs PipeCross.
But from what i can see, Pipecross look alot like those HKS powerflow kind of meterials.
K&N is with papers fibers and wire mesh. Since both are washable, i think using them is about the same. But having pipecross, i get a feeling that air flow will be higher.

dream.tent said:
Law, not sure if anyone did any comparison on K&N vs PipeCross.
But from what i can see, Pipecross look alot like those HKS powerflow kind of meterials.
K&N is with papers fibers and wire mesh. Since both are washable, i think using them is about the same. But having pipecross, i get a feeling that air flow will be higher.
well guys ... dunno whether how true it is lar .. heard from my buddy ...

HKS powerflow has higher air flow but it does not filter out particals that well .. as for K&N the it filters better then HKS with the almost same air flow ..

my buddy say if driving up to Genting with HKS .. damn shiok .. but with K&N not so shiok lar ...

read a review on a OZ based car mag. it is true that Jap brands air filters like HKS and other foam based doesnt filter small particals. thats why if u r using them n compare to K&N, u will feel the differences...if u r lookin for pure performance, Jap brands r the bet. but when it comes to aftermarket air filters, K&N is No:1...http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon6.gifhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon10.gif

as dream stated, K&N has wired mesh to protect its fibre, hence its more durable comparing to foam based. but in terms of air flow, i believe foam based air filters have more flow. yet, both saves u a lot of $$$ in long terms. with oem filters (rm30-rm50), it only last u 15,000 to 25,000km (given to our wheather condition)....but u can wash these aftermarket filters at the same period for free (pipercross) and $5 for K&N...u do the calculations...:D

Awww... man... i've tried to hard to get into ZTH but failed to do so... i think ZTH is having DOS (Denial of Service). Probably... to many people is getting into it and posting lots of post and jamming up the server. (",) Not sure bout it...

Foam based filters like HKS is far better... like what you guys said... better air flow... i've considered to have one but due to malaysia... the air... full of dust, sand, whatever... everywhere... wow... better not... for long term... i don't want my engine to get hurt and coughing like old daddy... =P hehe

cwkm said:
Awww... man... i've tried to hard to get into ZTH but failed to do so... i think ZTH is having DOS (Denial of Service). Probably... to many people is getting into it and posting lots of post and jamming up the server. (",) Not sure bout it...

Foam based filters like HKS is far better... like what you guys said... better air flow... i've considered to have one but due to malaysia... the air... full of dust, sand, whatever... everywhere... wow... better not... for long term... i don't want my engine to get hurt and coughing like old daddy... =P hehe
thats why is better to use K&N in malaysia....but if u dont travel a lot like me...foam based is the best bet...

But hey guys, if you don't take care of your K&N or Pipecross, it's going to kill your baby too. If you are using ori filters, you still clean it every 5kkm and change it every 25Kkm, you will have no problem too.

Once, some uncle told me, in the R&D lab, Nissan spend Millions to fit the right parts to their cars....you don't just simply take out any and expect your car will perform any better!!!! so, we just try to play along the safe line and enjoy our minor modding la...hhhh

A new friend, MetaOrbit (John) from US

Hello guy,

Check out our new friend's baby at http://www.cardomain.com/profile/blackbeautyi35

One question from John,
Can Skyline's Caliper fits A33? I think we have got this question pops up some where in our treads, but I can remember that we can't fit skyline's calipers onto A33 but only A32.

Can someone confirm?

Thanks for the introduction!

Yes, I was wondering why the skyline calipers won't fit on the A33. I know that that rotors + calipers from a USDM A34 (also fit on A33) will bolt onto an A32 with no problem. So, in a backward bit of logic, it seems that brakes that fit on an A32 would likewise fit on an A33. I could certainly be mistaken, and please let me know if I am. I would just like to know why I might be wrong.

Seeing as there are virtually no skylines in the US, I don't think anyone here has ever had the opportunity to try skyline brakes on an A33.

Additionally, are there any websites that you a33 and a32 owners order parts from?

Thanks!

-John

MetaOrbit said:
Thanks for the introduction!

Yes, I was wondering why the skyline calipers won't fit on the A33. I know that that rotors + calipers from a USDM A34 (also fit on A33) will bolt onto an A32 with no problem. So, in a backward bit of logic, it seems that brakes that fit on an A32 would likewise fit on an A33. I could certainly be mistaken, and please let me know if I am. I would just like to know why I might be wrong.

Seeing as there are virtually no skylines in the US, I don't think anyone here has ever had the opportunity to try skyline brakes on an A33.

Additionally, are there any websites that you a33 and a32 owners order parts from?

Thanks!

-John
hi john...welcome to zth. I am Ong...nice ride u have there. glad to know that this site is goin international..:D
anyway, if u r sure that the calipers from a USDM A34 will fit A32 and A33, then fitting Skyline caliper to A33 shouldnt b prob. I am sure that Skyline R32's caliper n disc will fit A32 but havent try with A33. (im driving A32)...will try to ask around n give u an answer to ur Q...

Greetings! John! Nice to have you around. Glad that our ZTH Cefiro Thread has gone internationally. Haha... it'll be great! We might be able to get stuffs from both sides. Hahaha!!!

Anyways, welcome abroad !!!

Ong ... have u fitted a R32 caliper & disc on yr ride yet? How much does it cost & where can I get it fitted?

on my ride, whenever i apply brakes at high speed, my steering wheel starts to wobble alot when the brakes start to bite.

if it doesn't cost alot to fit a R32 caliper & disc then i might try to find them & fit them. But it all depends on the mercy of $$$

cgui said:
Ong ... have u fitted a R32 caliper & disc on yr ride yet? How much does it cost & where can I get it fitted?

on my ride, whenever i apply brakes at high speed, my steering wheel starts to wobble alot when the brakes start to bite.

if it doesn't cost alot to fit a R32 caliper & disc then i might try to find them & fit them. But it all depends on the mercy of $$$
cgui...havent got them fitted...no budget now coz spent most of it in my 18" OZ..:D

anyway, used 1 shouldn't cost much...around rm500++ for disc+caliper. installation around rm50...its straight bolt on. but u will need new brake fuel + new brake pads...depending on ur requirement...cost from rm200 onwards.

as for ur prob...u need to skim ur disc rotor. its a very common prob for A32 3.0 coz our cars too heavy for the brake system. once u skim them...it will perform like new...just get a better brake pad or change to a new disc rotor (slotted or cross drilled)...

ong - thank you for the kind welcome.

Do you have any idea whether z32 300zx rotors and calipers are the same as r32 skyline calipers? Those are easier to source here in the states, so I was just curious.

I may end up just using the USDM A34 calipers and rotors as they are larger (though still single piston sliding caliper) and my front rotors need to be replaced.

ongteckweng said:
cgui...havent got them fitted...no budget now coz spent most of it in my 18" OZ..:D

anyway, used 1 shouldn't cost much...around rm500++ for disc+caliper. installation around rm50...its straight bolt on. but u will need new brake fuel + new brake pads...depending on ur requirement...cost from rm200 onwards.

as for ur prob...u need to skim ur disc rotor. its a very common prob for A32 3.0 coz our cars too heavy for the brake system. once u skim them...it will perform like new...just get a better brake pad or change to a new disc rotor (slotted or cross drilled)...
Thanks Ong for the info.... for R32 brake pads... r they easy to find? afraid that they are harder to source then A32 brake pads.... thanks

hi john...yes, Z32 n R32 have the same brake system...i know JDM versions r the same. is the Z32 an import in US?? if yes, no prob.

i think 4 pot will performance much more better than a larger single pot anytime. just my 2 cts thou...:D

cgui...u will never have prob findin 4 pot brake pads....most shops sell them.

ong, thanks for the information. If that's the case I'll probably just give up on the skyline brakes. We have a kit here in the US, that uses a bracket that allows the mounting of the Z32 caliper to the A33 spindle and allows the use of the 12.6 inch rotor from the USDM A34. I could use that kit, but then my wheels wouldn't fit over the brakes (spokes would hit the calipers).

I'm now considering using a 12 inch SSBC 2 pot caliper brake upgrade kit or just using the USDM A34's calipers & rotors.

Just asking out of curiosity. What sort of brakes can be fitted into 16" rims? Can a R32 brake systems be fitted in it? RM500 not that expensive for that kind of system... 4 pot capilers? haha... I want ... I want... xD LoL

But now no $$$

NO $$$ NO BRAKING SYSTEM *sob* *sob* T.T

cwkm said:
Just asking out of curiosity. What sort of brakes can be fitted into 16" rims? Can a R32 brake systems be fitted in it? RM500 not that expensive for that kind of system... 4 pot capilers? haha... I want ... I want... xD LoL

But now no $$$

NO $$$ NO BRAKING SYSTEM *sob* *sob* T.T
u still b able to use 16" rims if u wanna use 4 pot calipers. but the choice is limited. one of the cheapest i know is the skyline original rims from R32...4 pot will fit nicely with these rims...but its really difficult to find the right offset n width for 16" rims to fit 4 pot...