Car Restoration

kennethfong

Hi all,

Does anyone know how to professionally restore an old car? Like my first batch 1.6XLi 14 years old wira?? i've just sent for a whole new paintjob, the job includes:

1) restoring my rusted roof
2) some rusts here and there

but now looking at my spare tyre compartment at the back inside the boot, it's all rusted, i can see through to the floor!!! How in the world could I restore this area now? Could it be rewelded with new steel or what? What bout JPJ will they think it's a potong car after this??

Please dun suggest me to change another car, i've just transplanted a turbo engine for almost 1 year now n i still love this POS.....

Or should i change the topic to: How to cure rusts!!?? The number one thing that kills a car is the stupid rust.......

You're right. It has to be rewelded with new steel. The rust area should be cut out so that no rust remains, weld a new piece of steel in and rust proof the entire area.

Hard to "cure" rust. Rust is the product of iron oxidizing in the air and it's an irreversible process. Prevention is better than cure. Manufacturers should rust proof their cars properly and car owners should check their cars periodically for rust before the rust makes a hole in the floorpan or boot compartment.

If I ain't mistaken, all cars goes through rust proof treatment. Maybe it's the quality of the rust proof treatment that determines how long a car will last before it rusts till it falls apart.

kenneth,
I am in the process of modding & restoring my car too. It's a year 1995 satria 1.6L manual. Quite a fun car and i'm reluctant to sell it, though it's very old. hehehe

You're right. It has to be rewelded with new steel. The rust area should be cut out so that no rust remains, weld a new piece of steel in and rust proof the entire area.

Hard to "cure" rust. Rust is the product of iron oxidizing in the air and it's an irreversible process. Prevention is better than cure. Manufacturers should rust proof their cars properly and car owners should check their cars periodically for rust before the rust makes a hole in the floorpan or boot compartment.

Rust = Cancer for cars...
hahahahha....:marchmellow:

my satria is a 1995 1.6 manual too and its showing signs of its age thru the boot area. It is constantly leaking though i have siliconed my rearlights and other areas.
Everything else is in good order and so far there is no signs of rust or cancer yet.
I wonder how to keep this car in good shape to last me another good 10 years. ahahah

Maybe someone can give an insight on how to prevent rusting on our cars =)

imoloq,

thanks for the advice, but wat bout JPJ? will they think my car is a cut n weld after the repair?

No. JPJ would not say that. Because cut and joint cars are usually from pillars and frames. If you cut reweld new piece of metal on the big rusted area like spare wheel hole, floorboards and doors. They would not acuse you of doing a kereta potong. Because these areas are usualy suspects for rust and rot.

If so, badly damaged cars from accident that is repaired to be roadworthy again shouldn't be allowed right?

imoloq,

thanks for the advice, but wat bout JPJ? will they think my car is a cut n weld after the repair?

The repair is not on a critical part of the car so should be no problem, unlike kereta potongs where a failure of the welds may lead to an accident.