car/engine runing in

nappx

izzit it a myth?
Why some mech advise owner to running in after overhaul or for new car..still need running in..
For an onbehalf Glanza

not sure.... but if you google round... most top tuners does not agree to the term of 'breaking in' an engine..

here's my fren of doing it
  1. Best to do it at nite because the ambient is cooler and less traffic. Look for an empty long stretch of road... i'm thinking like Guthrie or SKVE.
  2. Warm-up the engine by driving around 10 minute, no need to rev kaw kaw... just leasure drive. make sure everything is ok, especially water temperature.
  3. Start from gear 2, and WOT! until near redline then change gear until nearing 70 ~80kmh then brake until the car slows down. this considered as 1 cycle
  4. Repeat acceleration + deceleratation cycle many times in the first 50-60km. Please monitor water temp for a possibility of overheating. Take a break every 10-20 km or drive the car leasurely for 5 to 10minutes before repeating
  5. When mileage reached 50km-60km, change engine oil and filter... that's it! you can drive the car normally after this
He does this after an overhaul... then straight to the dyno for tuning... then the next day went for a track day... the engine never skipped a beat ever since...

He also pointed out, for engine that driven normally (not on track la), after 20k km, you can start using full-synth engine oil for better result

Plan to do this when got money to overhaul mine hehe

but please get a second opinion yaaa... this is my opinion only hehe

Repeating the cycle on Gear 2 for 50-60km? Woah! That will need A LOTTT of cycle.
EH! sorry... need to change gear...

nvm.. already edit my earlier post

thanks Mr.JY for pointing that out.... my mistake sorry :stupid:

izzit it a myth?
Why some mech advise owner to running in after overhaul or for new car..still need running in..
For an onbehalf Glanza

ya...y need running ah?my 4g67 block also already serviced and overhaul....my mech said need 4000km then can rev kaw kaw...if not piston ring will break....now after 3 months...my car only running around 1k km...errr need 1 year lorr if like this to reach 4k km hahaha....sometimes i only start the car for few minutes then thats it...haha...the car just sits there....wanna bring jalan2 also malas coz cannot rev kaw kaw....haiya......

Not sure about new cars, since from factory, probably some test and runs done, then transport to dealers, and finally to customer. Some mileage already done.
If newly overhauled, parts are new and tight fitting. If you over stretched them they may jam, that is why they ask you to run in the engine first, but don't need 4k km loh!
You can actually drive it normally, only don't do sprints exceeding 4k RPM for maybe first 500km to 1k km. Driving 110kph on highways are okay as they are of constant speed and at around 3.5k rpm only.
Actually most mechanic are more afraid then the customer, because if the engine jams they have to rectify it, so most mechanic actually already let the engine idle run in their workshop for quite a few hours already before release the car back.....

ya la this running in thing like got conspiracy. :rofl:

some say need time for everything to adapt...etc etc.

my theory.

If YES to break in, maybe because:

1.manufacture/mechanic worried you trash the engine, and the engine got slight defect, so due to the thrashing, it caused more serious damage and whole engine went to engine heaven.

2.1k KM should be more than enough for things to be properly blend in.

3.mechanic worried if say no need break in, tmr its self go tuning or track

4.manufacture/mechanic belive if engine not thrashed less claim will be done by the time warranty period is over.

NO. to break in.

1. How much time EXACTLY does it take for all metal parts to blend in nice and fit we are not sure...sooo... if straight whack when everything si tight can cause damage to the cylinder wall etc, more heat and friction also generated..this will be bad.

2.what if new setup compression is too high, exhaust loud, and severe knocking is happening, and we pedal to the metal...also dangerous cause our adrenaline raises, and maybe due exhaust sound etc...we might not hear or feel certain signs of something going bad before too late...

where do i stand? as much as i would love to rip it when she's just i still think better to be safe, and keep it nice and steady for 1k KM, get an oil change and do a final inspection.

---------- Post added at 03:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:46 PM ----------

my car already done run-in about 1100km...can wack the engine already ka?heheheh.....

if it was me..... i cant wait any longer :burnout::burnout::burnout::burnout:

im a firm believer in running in... as in driving slow for the first 1k km.

coz i kena before after an overhaul... didnt bother listening... and end up at around 3-400km mark... overhaul again :(

so yeah... slow n steady... coz good things come to those who wait... while those who dont... might need another overhaul hahahhhahaha

I too is a believer as I have seen my mechanic religiously idle every overhauled car in his workshop first before it is released. I think he knows better, as mention if owner thrash the car and jams, he has to rectify......

Run slower then....ha! ha!
But close ratio for town runs really shiok mah.......

Run slower then....ha! ha!
But close ratio for town runs really shiok mah.......

ya lor... below 80kmh... then on the left lane, kena high beam by those damn buses and lorries haha

...that's why sub 1000cc cars called point and squirt cars :rolf:

ya lor... below 80kmh... then on the left lane, kena high beam by those damn buses and lorries haha

...that's why sub 1000cc cars called point and squirt cars :rolf:

Most buses do 130km/h on right lane.....haha....

Ha ha two years ago..running in from s.alam to melaka...drive like crazy..60km below 500 milage afte that go to 80km till 1k...then from k.l to trg with 110 km...
Always kena cucuk sama honda...haishhhhh...

I believe breaking in is important and I always let my father to do the breaking in because I've got no patience or time to do it. But 1k km will do la. 4k is a bit too much. Maybe the mech said 4k because he knows it will take a long time to reach 4k km and by that time the warranty is over. Who knows? It could be one of their dirty tactics..