C160 gearbox question

lkeong88

Does anyone know how much it cost to replace the synchro on 3rd and 4th gear and where to get it?

last time i heard from my fren kajang feilo nga can do this. but not sure about the cost.

I see but he always seems busy. I went to his shop twice he also not in and I phoned him up he was sort of rushing the conversation

Ya, ah nga can do it. But just to share that no guarantee it will solve the problem.

I have a non-LSD c160 lying there as well and problem with 3rd & 4th synchro too. It was very bad so I consulted him to get it fix. But he said there won't be any guarantee that it will solve the issue after changing. I was like...hmm...:confused:... and the cost to that I bear together with workmanship is kinda high which I've forgotten how much roughly it was...

Then I have no choice but to source for another c160 gb. Anyway, I'll still get my old c160 fix once I got enough dough....hahahaha...

So, I would advise you to check with him first. Furthermore, since all the gb things are inside and no one can be sure of what actually worn out. Therefore, ah nga said it's really betting on it. Good luck...

I wondering why always is:
C160 - Always is 3-4 gear fault
C52/C56 - Always is 2-3 gear fault
Supercharge - Always is 2nd gear fault

at time la u will got gone "stim" ma...
:ridinghorse:

I never knew 5 speed gearbox also have problems, normally I heard 5 speed more tahan. Guess I have to source a spare gearbox just in case my current 1 refuse to shift

supercharge gbox problem at 2nd gear. Rarely heard supercharger gbox got problem. Maybe some minor cases. Coz the SC gearbox is very cheap. Can buy around RM200-300. So, if got gbox problem for SC, just change the gbox.

C160 is due to thinner gearing system then C5*
need to carefully shift up or down using C160 GB...my mech been using it for years w/o any issue...

but not too sure about C52 / C56...
might be due to gear linkage that ppl used...
if using metal style linkage...i'll be harder to do shifting rather then plastic style linkage...
I myself having some issue shifting 1st -> 2nd gear during high rev...it's due to the linkage not the GB...just to let you know...

Out of topic question, what's the code for 4agze gearbox? Anyone? tq.

C52 88-91 AE92 4AGE
1st: 3.166
2nd: 1.904
3rd: 1.310
4th: 0.969
5th: 0.815
Final: 4.058

C56
2nd: 1.904
3rd: 1.392
4th: 1.031
5th: .815
final drive: 4.312

C160 (6 speed)
2nd: 2.050
3rd: 1.481
4th: 1.166
5th: .916
6th: 0.725
final drive: 4.529

E58 (4AGZE)
1st - 3.214
2nd - 2.045
3rd - 1.333
4th - 0.972
5th - 0.820
Final-3.944

Thank you...please come again... :rofl:

tq. hehehe.. sifu always find the source. cheese naan on me @ usj. :biggrin:

yeah yeah.. sifu is sounding..

wondering where is another GB expert AKA CEO ...

hi all,
there are 2 types of syncro for 6 speed.
how to differentiate? hehehhehehehhe operate the gearbox, then only will know which version is yours.
hope this helps

t-la - i give u double cheese naan la...:biggrin:

chin - hahaha......no comment...