reference...
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=86484&st=940
Sime tyres are losg lasting tyres, that's the reason the grip level is less. But its very long lasting. Compound is hard thus threadwear is lower. Michelin is soft compound but the grip.. Never experienced it before. Kumho ku36 should be a good all round tyre.price wise.. Maybe close or slightly higher than kumho.
, neck chopped ) but provided a superb grip(i m using 205/45/r16)..
)Hey bro, since u mentioned threadwear, do u know if it will wear faster if the threadwear number is higher? It's stated on the tyres like 300, or 320, performance tyres are usually below 250.. Thanks
what year is this tires?195/50x15 Toyo R1R with 60%..
__________________________________________Lower threadwear indicates higher wear rate, as it provides more grip and it shall scave out rubber more compared to higher threadwear rating. Rating of 300 would wear lesser than 200 Rating tires.
The speed rating of a tyre denotes the maximum speed at which a tyre is designed to be operated.
It's no indication of a tyre's sidewall strength.
I've used many performance tyres up to date.
I've take part in many autocross (car park rally) competitions b4 and tyre grip plays a vital role in giving you a good timing in an Autocross.
So I have tried quite a number of performance tyres b4.
I'm just giving you my opinion. It's up to u to believe.
When I mean wobbly, it is during corners. It feels as if you are driving on jelly.
Just b4 using Yokohama S.Drive, I was on Hankook RS-2. The moment I switch to S.Drive the very next day when I take the same corner which I always take...the S.Drive feels like jelly during cornering. It has less grip in the dry to compared to my previous Hankook RS-2.
Let me share with you all a tip on how to find out if a tyre has good dry grip or not.
A tell tale sign is a tyre's treadwear rating.
To give u an example, as u all know that Yokohama AD07 or AD08 has got very good grip in the dry.
But it's a known fact that the better the tyre's grip the faster it will wear out.
So a tyre like AD07 is rated at 180.
Now, the S.Drive is not as grippy as the AD07 and it last longer than AD07.
So that's why S.Drive treadwear is rated at 300 while AD07 is rated at 180.
Meanwhile, Toyo T1R is rated at 280.
But for more extreme performance tyre which is considered by some as semi-slick, then there is
Toyo Proxes R888 with a treadwear rating of 100.
Bro. Pc,
I am also sharing my experience only.
Earlier you compared S-Drive to T1-R, now you put it against RS-2 which is a totally different tyre and most people even use for track day. In my VR4 the T1-R are crap. Dry grip also need more air pressure. In the wet, wheel spin when drop to 3rd to overtake. No such problem with S-Drives.
Treadwear, traction rating are all for guide line only. Different road, different cars, weather, car setup will give different wear and grip. There was even a test review done using the same model of tyres tested on a RWD and FWD cars and the results came out different.
Hi bros, based on my limited experience.
Wobbly only happened or more obvious during highspeed cornering. You feel your ride like yoyo a bit or like sampan. This normally happened to soft sidewall tyres esp those normal 1 ply or higher series tires 60 and above. You shd feel this wobbly feeling if you are using 912,CT01 and you need to pump more pressure to encounter this esp the 912.
You mentioned your ride feel like driving on jelly..I think is like loosing grip rite?? I oso used both tyres before but I believed S-drive Dry cornering are not bad , it shd be on par if not better than T1R. I feel T1R are good on wet esp straightline highspeed, cornering and traction on wet are so so to my feeling. I am not surprised if your Rs2 corners better than S-drive since it's more for racing... and did you run in your S-Drive before proceed to the car park racing?? I recalled the S-drive needs a few hundres KM's for run in.
As for treadwear indication for grip... Hmmm My CT01 comes with 280 which is = T1R and lower than S-Drive. But I am very sure it will not OUT CORNER S-Drive and T1r. I think the broader of Shoulder will hv better cornering , of course compound ,sidewall do play a big part.
V12 Evo, Kumho Ecsta and T1-R are few option. Currently using PS3 but its sidewall is a tad soft compare to PP2 it replaced. need to pump higher psi for touge. good dry and intermediate grip thou.
GSD3 is okay too. just that too noisy for my liking. just like dunlop FM-901.