Boxer engine.. that good?

alien

As i know, boxers engine make less vibrations due to the way the pistons moves when compared to the conventional inlines and v engines.
With the flat design, it can be positioned lower in the chasis thus making the centre of gravity lower in a car.

And according to subaru, it's smoother and more efficient than inlines and vees..
My question is, if it's so good, why dont other manufacturers go this way?
When u say boxer, i can only think of subarus and poshs..

By the way, how come the exhaust note of a subaru is so "special"? ;)

if you want smooth and powerful go rotary no piston = even less vibration

* roadtax per year for a 1.3 = RM181.60

better?

Probably coz it consumes more space than inline or v-based engines, and it costs more to produce, so less appealing for mass-production.

This sounds like a good topic... ~bump.

Err... if not wrong, I think you gain more power from V-based engine than boxer. So, boxer is definitely not the most powerful of engine design. But it sure sounds very delicious though!

aiyaaaa....impleza for example if wanna change camshafts....must change 4....RM???? :D

unless u're using dry oil sum like porsche, u're gonna have oil leaks at ur gasket.
common problem with boxer engines. even porsches with normal liquid oil lubrication.

the boxer sound, just love it...
absolute calmness when you listen to the Growl..

CcL said:
unless u're using dry oil sum like porsche, u're gonna have oil leaks at ur gasket.
common problem with boxer engines. even porsches with normal liquid oil lubrication.

Care to elaborate more? Do you mean oil leak from area between the top and bottom block? Is this a common problem with Subaru engines?

i just love the growl of the boxer engine... yummy!

grok grok grok grok grok.... :D

Will78 said:
Care to elaborate more? Do you mean oil leak from area between the top and bottom block? Is this a common problem with Subaru engines?

boxer got no top and bottom la
its a sandwiched block
so it is HEAD-BLOCK-HEAD
since between the both head and block has seals, it leaks from there
think about it the oil is soaking the seals 24/7

unlike conventional v or inline block where oil is always at the bottom not touching the head gasket. i mean does touch but doesn't soak. hopefully u get wat i mean.

i speak from experience bcoz my mom owns a subaru.

wah ur mom drive subaru impreza STI 2004?No wonder always see at damansara lar...

CcL said:
boxer got no top and bottom la
its a sandwiched block
so it is HEAD-BLOCK-HEAD
since between the both head and block has seals, it leaks from there
think about it the oil is soaking the seals 24/7

unlike conventional v or inline block where oil is always at the bottom not touching the head gasket. i mean does touch but doesn't soak. hopefully u get wat i mean.

i speak from experience bcoz my mom owns a subaru.

icic... understand you much better now. It speaks a lot of sense and I agree with you.

However, I am also thinking that technological advances these days may have made a lot of positive contribution towards this problem. What do you think?

Putting this aside, the boxer engine is also very hard to service. Everytime you gotta do it, you gotta take many things out of the way cuz the engine usually located at the bottom of everything.

Interesting. But Porsches never go wrong, they'll go on and on and on. So, like everything else technology has negated the weaknesses.

the growl from subarus normally is only noticed when you fit an aftermarket cat-back but before that, it is barely noticed. though engine plays a big part too.

personallyi think it's the exhaust that produce the growl sound or do you guys still think that it's the engine?

yahlor
thats why technology came up with "DRY OIL SUMP"
so it doesn't leak lor :P

Others than that Alfa Romeo and old VW use boxer engine. Engine is rough. Hard to tune.

quote from other website

The boxer engine has that mean rumble sound because they have unequal length headers. if the boxer got equal length headers it would loose the distinct rumble

unequal length headers cos the turbo offset to the drivers side. the rumble is nice but will ultimately produce less power than the equal length headers. the new versions dun hv this rumble.
so if lets say u hv the new version, would u change the headers to get this rumble subarus are famous for?? :D