Audi A4 (B5)

darahhitam

A close friend of mine is contemplating on getting the A4 (B5) within this month.
Would appreciate if you could point out few links that might help in choosing and knowing more of this species. He has around RM20k for d/p and would stretch for a bit more to buy it cash if it's within 30k+.
Previously drove a Mazda Lantis 1.6.
His other top choices are the C200 (W202) & S40. I did suggested A4 before but he brushed off the idea too soon until he saw a recently a sold off bodykitted A4 (W** 188) at 36k poster tag in Cheras. Which means it went way cheaper.

1. Price range for the 96-98 (35k-55k?)
2. Spare or Used Parts availability (brand new or halfcut) is it common?
3. Common problems
4. Recommended mechanics
5. Upgrade options

I couldn't seem to help him since I have been involved in mostly Japanese (and national) makes. Btw, is there a BIG difference between the turbo and the non-turbo version in terms of specs and accessories? What's the hp/torque comparison like?

Thanks a million.

Replies in bold.

darahhitam said:
A close friend of mine is contemplating on getting the A4 (B5) within this month.
Would appreciate if you could point out few links that might help in choosing and knowing more of this species. He has around RM20k for d/p and would stretch for a bit more to buy it cash if it's within 30k+.
Previously drove a Mazda Lantis 1.6.
His other top choices are the C200 (W202) & S40. I did suggested A4 before but he brushed off the idea too soon until he saw a recently a sold off bodykitted A4 (W** 188) at 36k poster tag in Cheras. Which means it went way cheaper.

1. Price range for the 96-98 (35k-55k?)
RM55k can fetch a 99" model already.

2. Spare or Used Parts availability (brand new or halfcut) is it common?
No problem, except some really rare parts (Non wear and tear - those that one will change upon accidents)

3. Common problems
Besides wear and tear parts, if your friend is taking a N.A model, take care of the gearbox, if its a turbo model, take care of the turbo. (Turbo's cheaper and easier to maintain)

4. Recommended mechanics
Old Klang Road, behind Wisma Peters, Ever Auto; the best you can find

5. Upgrade options
Many interesting skirtings, mods available. Turbo had more option and cheaper to increase horses.

I couldn't seem to help him since I have been involved in mostly Japanese (and national) makes. Btw, is there a BIG difference between the turbo and the non-turbo version in terms of specs and accessories? What's the hp/torque comparison like?

Major differences between 1.8 and 1.8T is of course the extra power and torque available, but the best thing is the smooth, 5-speed gearbox of the turbo, which is more robust and reliable than the 1.8; to maintain the turbo, just remember to change engine oil on time and install a turbo timer if your friend revs alot. As for 1.8, its 125hp, but it can easily reach 210km/h, very torquey engine, as for 1.8T, a pure chipping could reach 210hp

Thanks a million.

Ingolstadt,

Thanks a million for such detailed answers. I will forward this to him.

Btw, had a time to ask few mechanics on Audi's typical problem, etc and one of them said you gotta spend quite an amount for gearbox fluid change, up to RM600? Or it costs something like RM100 per litre?
The rest are all ok it seems, especially the feel and the handling.

There are too many n/a versions for sale instead of the turbo'ed version.
This goes to show there are more n/a on the road or those with turbos are keeping 'em tight?

Gearbox fluid change would be around RM400+ a flushing would be around RM600+ but you wont do that often. most probably around 70k km per change. :) log on to www.clubaudimalaysia.com/forum for more detailed answers. There are loads of yodas and sifus there, i'm a amateur only compared to them. :)

Thanks dude. That clarifies it. At first I thought it could be an every 20k-affair.

The good news is that, I myself has started to like the A4 :)
The sad news is that, he just recently (4 days ago) bought his long-awaited car by acquiring another German breed for RM51k. The C220 year 1995.

Thanks a lot for such helpful and detailed replies.