Aluminium or Stainless steel?

Pot78

Apr 25, 2005
Perak
Need advise that nows a day which material r usually use for intercooler piping? How much would it charge from 'those' well known sunway workshop making piping for evo2 on putra ? Usually how long does it take?

Any comment for ZAP ready made intercooler piping? Since saw magazine stated that got ready stock for my car just plug and play for E1-3. Thank you. :biggrin:

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
aluminum is the best.light weight n disperse heat better.con is that this
kind of material is pricey.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
just like GT said, aluminium , bt it aint cheap
get from zap should be ok , but do know that , if u wish to get
an aftermarket intercooler, u would indeed face probs to get a aluminium welder
to get ur pipings modified

HKS-GT2835R

Apr 25, 2004
kelate
just like GT said, aluminium , bt it aint cheap
get from zap should be ok , but do know that , if u wish to get
an aftermarket intercooler, u would indeed face probs to get a aluminium welder to get ur pipings modified
.. you can ask those engineering shops to weld, my prev experience tells me it's e-x-p-e-n-s-i-v-e. :mad:

HKS-GT2835R

Apr 25, 2004
kelate
hehehe...1 inch of weld cost rm10 right?
i dunno how long mine wuz (intercooler) but costs me something like RM40, IIRC...IMO it's freakin' expensive, size of that hole it meant to cover is something like 50-cent coin oni.. :mad:

kennethfong

Aug 11, 2004
oh dear, just bought myself an intercooler, looks like i'd turn to stainless piping better....

dennisdreams

Feb 15, 2006
100% stainless steel supporter hee~ less chance to get a pipe break :P

Pot78

Apr 25, 2005
Perak
If stainless steel + samco silicon hose roughly market price how much? :D

kRiminaLz

Docklands/SAlam
i did mine at JFA for 1.7k (all the samco hoses, install boost ctrl, fix the wastegate n pipes)..
N i did ask abt the aluminium piping n it costs abt 2k... (still... it looks the same)
send the car at night n took it the next evening around 7pm.. its not even a one day job..
with that price, i think its worth it..

aluminium is a good choice coz it can hold temp better..

at other place u can get it cheaper, but i just like the workmanship n the customer service of those plp in jfa..
ah heng usj abt 1k+, robert segambut also from 900 to 1k+, jian hang is abt the same price with JFa.. its up to u, ur choice..

f.y.i stainless steel doesn't break ezily... its abt the same with aluminium..

Pot78

Apr 25, 2005
Perak
Ask a friend to quote price for me from JFA 1.4k for ss piping not sure with samco silicon hose or other brand silicon hose, is this the reasonable price?

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
u guys wanna do aluminium welding? or aluminium pipings? anything? come..

PM me. bring u guys to "Aluminium King" .. Sunway!

if JFA or others charge u 2K++ 3K++ for aluminium,dont get cheated! (fyi JFA don't do aluminium welding) .. if urself meet the "King" itself. imagine how cheap it is? (i dare cut my fingers)

p/S: even JFA/GT Auto/etc-etc oso send to this "Aluminium King" .. hahaha

interested? PM me. i will direct u guys to the "Aluminium King" .. just talk to him what u want to do. then just wait to be fix or take away. (can wait n see he weld if u like to).. his Aluminium Welding "pattern" as same as JASMA or other types of weld.

* sorry i dont know what is the price. its better u go by urself n meet the "KING" .. cheers!

-H22A VTEC Turbo (full aluminium) in the making- SOON!

Am plannin to get my ride re-painted and restore its ol skool look. Its a 1985 Toyota Cressida.

Currently :
- rust spots all over the car
- paint starts to flake, espcially at the trunk area.
- Big holes caused by the blardy rusts...(Behind rear wheel mudflap)
- Mini dents. Accumulated over d years.(Motorbike handle bars, plp leaning, etc) :angry:

My questions are:
- Will the cost be cheaper if I were to re-paint the car with the same color (ori paint)??

- Re-welding and bondo 'ing'...