Alpine CDA-9851 vs Pioneer DEH P7750MP

kacw

Hi there

sorry got the header wrong, its pioneer P6850MP vs Alpine CDA9856
Please help me decide on which head unit to get, has anyone tested both of these?

Pros and cons by the sifus?

Any place where the installation and price is reasonable to get these units from? Anywhere in KL or PJ area will do.

Cheers

my opinion, both are almost the same HU on the spec list and most importantly good HU to consider too...

for me, for me i would go for pioneer as my CDs are all CD-Rs... Pioneer deals with CD-Rs very well...

The price between 2? Budget is always still the first thing to consider. If just install HU only, can try Brothers or some other middle priced range acc shops. The installation will be around rm10-20 or sometimes even FOC. If go to high end acc shop, the price will be more than rm20, as have to pay the money for the shop's name.

kyheng said:
The price between 2? Budget is always still the first thing to consider. If just install HU only, can try Brothers or some other middle priced range acc shops. The installation will be around rm10-20 or sometimes even FOC. If go to high end acc shop, the price will be more than rm20, as have to pay the money for the shop's name.

Hurrrmmm...
Last time I remember that I paid from 30-35 ringgit for HU installation at brother's or something equivalent and ended up doing it again myself
But I went to one popular shop for the first time and they charge me 30 bucks with male female connectors.

I believe you should give a visit to some high end shop and ask how much they charge for HU installation. Besides if you buy from them the installation charge for a HU will be free while brother's will charge 30 ringgit i believe

Maybe KL will charge higher, not that sure on this. But Seremban this is the price they will charge. In PD, if you know them they will give you FOC. In Seremban some high end shops will charge free maybe, but the HU price is higher than other shops for rm40 atleast. Some middle range acc shop's HU will be cheaper by rm40-60, but they charge installation fees. So in the end, dosen't matter high end or middle range, still we have to pay installation fees. For same HU, some shops will sell cheaper but must pay installation fees but some will FOC the installations with HU more expensive.

hi,
How much is Alpine 9851?
If you have a bit more budget, should consider the newly launch Alpine 9861.
It can play DVD video and audio too, you can actually store more then 1000 of mp3 song into one single DVD disc, just imagine if it dual layer. So you don't have to spend xtra money for ipod.

The SQ it's pretty good with 24bit, but DVD audio SQ very dynamic runing on two channel..the only think is hard to find DVD audio.

just my 2cents worth.

here are my humble set-up.
HU- Alpine 9861 DVD audio/video
Amp - TRU-Tech T03 4X150W
Comp- Dynaudio 240MK2 run passive bi-amp
a/d/s P2110 - brigde 1 channel 370W to drive..
SUB - Helix W12 Competition.

What can I say....it's beautiful..

As I know only 1 stop center will charge installation fee like ENEOS & Brothers coz the sign contract with 3rd party ppl to help them. For Acc Shop or High End & etc .. they sale HU & FOC installation.. They only charge when U buy HU from others shop..

Go back to the question.. don't have chance to listen 9856 yet.. 6850 just OK for low budget.. for cd-r, I will go to Alpine coz almost Alpine HU c/w MediaXpander.. some latest model c/w Wide Media playback..

Can tell more on MediaXpander and Wide Media? Or is it more or less same like what Pioneer have(BMX and Comps)? Anyway Brothers in Seremban only charge installation fees for rm15. Sometimes if talk to the boss can get free. But this depend how we deal with the fellow.

kyheng said:
Can tell more on MediaXpander and Wide Media? Or is it more or less same like what Pioneer have(BMX and Comps)? Anyway Brothers in Seremban only charge installation fees for rm15. Sometimes if talk to the boss can get free. But this depend how we deal with the fellow.

The media xpander(Alpine) and BMX(Pioneer) are actually functions to enhance low signals of compressed audio such as MP3, WMA, AAC etc. Looks are subjective and most importantly is the budget. My opinion is that Pioneer is No.1 in playing all the personal CD-R, CD-RW and pasar malam CDs. They are also well-known to take road shocks very well relatively. Alpine are popular for their SQ but this is very subjective. At the price range of HU between RM1000 to RM2000 normally the sound quality bears not much difference. If possible, try to get an audition and remember to use your own CD and play your fav. song.:regular_smile:

Like this 1 ah... So is not much different. As far as I know, how good a HU that have mp3 enhancer, it still cannot outbeat an original CD.

kyheng said:
Like this 1 ah... So is not much different. As far as I know, how good a HU that have mp3 enhancer, it still cannot outbeat an original CD.

I totally agree with you. Compressed audio format can never match CD format as their signals were tone down. That is why DVD also outbeats VCD. Now u see what I mean. Modern HU provide the BMX or Xpander to boost the low signal so u enjoy your music better but it is very artificial. You can put more than 120 MP3 songs in a single CD compare to cda format of max. 20 songs. Some people don't like to change CD while driving. In fact, many manufacturers are also phasing out CD changers as technology progress. Pioneer and Alpine are among manufacturers to have captured market sentiment earlier than Kenwood & Sony:regular_smile: .

The best video quality is not DVD, is LD which now can see it on museums. On songs and videos, we can only downgrade it but cannot be upgrade. Some Cds can put as much as 50 songs. Normal CD is depend on time rather than file size.

Yeah, have to wait, but even when it comes out the price will be damn expensive, like last time when DVD introduced. The price for player is rm1000 and a disc is rm100. Now? Player rm100 can get and disc rm8(pirated)

Hey guys,

I have decided to get the Alpine CDA 9851 although its an older model.

I have tried price quotations from ACP, KK Lau and KF Audio, and the price range is quite different from each of them.

Anyone knows any other place to get it installed and and reviews from owners?

Cheers

KK lau is a professional, so no matter how expensive they sell, there will be still lots of potential customers.. no point going to those pro places to get them install if u r just a ordinary budget minded consumers.. persoanlly i would recommend my friends to use pioneer.. my HU has been with me for 5 years and i play CD-Rs everyday.. and yet it still functioning.. no doubt on and off, it does skip when i get into a deep potholes.. all in all, in terms of pricing and quality, pioneer is very good.. none of my friends have been complaning about any problem even since they started using it.. so think about it lo... alpine is for rich ppl la.. u want good alpine HU? prepare to pay more.. the phamton face or the F1 status wan is very cun!! price? 3K for the initial wan and 10K for the latter wan.. haha...

So, what HU you are using now? Mind to tell? But 1 thing for sure pioneer do last long.

kacw said:
Hey guys,

I have decided to get the Alpine CDA 9851 although its an older model.

I have tried price quotations from ACP, KK Lau and KF Audio, and the price range is quite different from each of them.

Anyone knows any other place to get it installed and and reviews from owners?

Cheers

Hmm, seems you have chosen a 'model' as your wife. She seems to be beautiful physically but doesn't know how to cook, clean your house, look after children etc. Just like the Alpine 9851, in appearance looks nice but not for very long until one day u may yearn for more u can do with the HU. The Pioneer 7750 on the other hand may not look as good as the Alpine 9851 but have much more functions and capability than the 9851. For me, I always choose HU based on functions and reliablity as they tend to serve us for quite some time or maybe forever like the wife.:shades_smile:

Hello, you cannot say like this one, people have the right to choose his 'wife'. As most of the people will choose 'model' to become their wife, can cook or do house work is not important. The important part is they can show off. They will only regret after sometime when their friend show their wife. Not that pretty, but can do alot of works and know how to mix with people. So don't buy my wife(P7750)

kyheng said:
So, what HU you are using now? Mind to tell? But 1 thing for sure pioneer do last long.
the pioneer HU i am using on my other car is DEH-4350, still functioning and playing well in fact even though i so called abusing it everyday by playing CD-Rs and CR-RWs whenever i drive.. my new one is the Honda build-in le.. hehe..