All About Hazard Lights

Awan Afuqya

Sorry if this topic was brought up before, tried searching though.

Eventhough I've been driving for only about 4 years, I've encountered people using their hazard lights irresponsibly.

Some use them for speeding. Maybe they're rushing to the hospital? I don't know. Is this right? I'm confused myself.

Some use it just to parking wait on a narrow road, blocking people. Note, their cars weren't broke down, they're just waiting to pick people up or doing something which isn't an emergency.

The hazard lights are ment to be used when you are in an REAL BIG emergency or your car has broken down.Those idiots who put up their hazard lights are jockers,its more towards ethicks

u also can spot many people use hazard lights as warning light during heavy rain in highway... this matter has been stressed by the police and jpj not to use hazard lights if u aren't stopped at the side... but still many people prefer to use hazard light when driving in heavy rain...
yeap, i admit people will notice ur car more if u switch on ur hazard lights but some might think ur car is stopped by the road side (as the rule of hazard lights says that only can be used when emergency when u stop by the road side)...

Yeah it's meant to be used for real emergencies, but some people use it for granted. Waiting for their girlfriends at the side of the road (example) when u're blocking traffic isn't an emergency, yet I still see hazard lights around. Another example are taxis who wants to pick or drop passengers up on a NON taxi or bus stop, in the middle of the road! There are even cars parked on the left already but they just stop and switch their hazard lights on! I just can't stand them.

Originally posted by crazykid@Apr 4 2005, 03:11
The hazard lights are ment to be used when you are in an REAL BIG emergency or your car has broken down.Those idiots who put up their hazard lights are jockers,its more towards ethicks
[snapback]865439[/snapback]​

I've seem police cars using hazard lights as well. This is very true when you see those unmarked cars (perdana) following those VIPs convoy

It's raining real heavy the last time back from Ipoh. Visibility is up to max 3 cars front only!!! Well, just like what u guys said here... assholes are everywhere! Switching on the car's light will be enuf. Please, no hazard lights on the FAST LANE! PLEASE!!!

Originally posted by antaras@Apr 4 2005, 09:30
It's raining real heavy the last time back from Ipoh. Visibility is up to max 3 cars front only!!! Well, just like what u guys said here... assholes are everywhere! Switching on the car's light will be enuf. Please, no hazard lights on the FAST LANE! PLEASE!!!
[snapback]865797[/snapback]​

i think their car oni have hazrd lights working...head light..brake light all tak jalan...i hate those fellars too..especially when raining..

In Penang, if you see hazard lights means got good laksa here ;)

i could not agree more with skywalker. hazard lights should not be used while vehicle is moving. as antaras mentioned, it was raining heavily and visibility is very limited. imagine this...

u have 10 vehicles in front of u in 3 lanes highway. 3 of them are using hazard lights but actually, without u realising only 2 are moving while the other one on emergency lane is stationary becoz of breakdown. as u passed by, u take deep breath becoz u thought that car was moving too and luckily never hit it. lucky u r becoz didnt hit accidentally but how many motorists behind u know that vehicle rosak?

visibility is poor so it will be very late before u can do anything. i truly believe all zth members are sensible drivers and use fog lights in bad weather (heavy rain, thick fog). what we can do is spread the words around...do not use hazard lights during rain. if they feel they can't see well, better find a place to stop instead of endangering other road users.

but there are cases i feel we shud give exemption like when u convoy like the V6 or GTI groups... or, when sending wife to the hospital to give birth, or broken windscreen, or malfunction lights or brakes which is then to signal to other motorists that u r in a situation.

eh, i heard somebody say laksa laa... :-?

these kind of ppl have inferiority complex.
they want everybody to recognise and acknowledge their existence.

only use for emergency situation.

some alarms switch on the hazard when someone opens the door..is it an emergency ? hehe