Aftermarket Antenna??

pwhyze

Hello guys,

My car comes with one of those motorized (powered?) antenna, where the antenna will extend whenever you power up the car. It looks a bit, well, 90's..hehe...so I'm wondering is there such a thing as aftemarket antennas where you can replace them with one of those rubber antenna on modern cars?

Something, like...
http://www.buzzle.com/img/articleImages/295698-50612-31.jpg

So, is it possible? Is it available at any ol' regular audio shops?

Thanks!

Regular accessories shop also got eh? Ok thanks dude!

Yup, they will have. But the one mounted on the roof, got to drill holes woh!

I just fitted one for wife's ride and this one mounted on the inside of front windscreen....

So what happen to the ori antenna hole? Did you plug it?

The aftermarket roof mount one they have, has different mounting point, that is why I fitted the windscreen one. The old antenna is still on the roof.....

any difference in radio reception when chnage antena? wondering if there's any difference

Mine was having reception problem, so the new one of course is better, but if compare the internal and external ones, the external one have better reception......

Can the accessory shop remove my old antenna and plug the hole if I buy an internal one? I figure since it's motorized, better just remove it and throw away some weight.

I think they can do it......

buy the internal ones. the one that sticks at the windscreen.

But dont buy the cheapo ones like rm20 from kedai abang. Good for nothing.

My internal antenna cost about 90 bucks, reception very good.

buy the internal ones. the one that sticks at the windscreen.

But dont buy the cheapo ones like rm20 from kedai abang. Good for nothing.

My internal antenna cost about 90 bucks, reception very good.

I was shown the RM90 one, then another which was even smaller but cost RM130.....:rolleyes:

So Ken thinks internal is better but vt2turbo thinks external is better >.
I have bad reception.. using ori wira... i talked to installers and they say change anthena is useless and external ori is best?

its not entirely internal or external installed antenna. its the quality of reception of the antenna capable of, and this has to do with the built quality of the antenna itself. I believe bosch got some decent models, be it internal or external.

just like comparing tayar....all tayar got bunga.....looks the same generally. Once you drive, you begin to feel its grip/lack of grip, tyre sound, comfort level, rate of wear, and the speed rating, etc

So Ken thinks internal is better but vt2turbo thinks external is better >.
I have bad reception.. using ori wira... i talked to installers and they say change anthena is useless and external ori is best?

While the shop personnel was fitting my new set, he plug in to test the radio signal. As the car was inside his shop the signal was weak. My original antenna could not pick up certain station, so he took his mobile external antenna to plug in, and immediately the stations was received. He mention my original antenna spoilt already and to change my original I had to drill the roof, so I opt for the windscreen ones. It could received the stations, but the external ones sounded slightly better....

internal antenna aint that good la... but also depends on ur player.

used to have one on my ex-kelisa....radio reception was horrendous with my alpine (alpine has a rep for bad radio reception). but when using this player with the ori external it was ok.

but when i was selling the car, i removed the alpine and put in a cheapo pioneer cd player with USB... still using the same internal antenna.. reception was actually pretty good...though im sure itll be better with an external one.

my current car also has the same internal antenna (installed by the ex-owner) with an old pioneer cd player.. radio reception is pretty decent.

bought this antenna for RM50 thereabouts.. u can try looking for bosch internal antenna...its round n white in colour.. about RM80-100 iirc...not sure where to get but i remember seeing it somewhere in lowyat forum