afc question

TRDtezza

I have a question for the sifus here..

1) I had a afc (blue screen) on the altezza RS200. Will it effect my ecu when i rest it if wanted it to do learning on a just serviced throttle body ?

2) I'm in a area with only RON95 fuel. ( I guess i have to reset the ecu to do some learning to retard the timing?) Its currently running RON97...

2) Where is the reset button for the ecu as i've read in other threads in this forum..???

oh ya , i forgot to introduce myself . I'm a new and proud owner of a AltezzaRS200 in a few days time... Name's Calvinn..

Cheers mates

1) I had a afc (blue screen) on the altezza RS200. Will it effect my ecu when i rest it if wanted it to do learning on a just serviced throttle body ?
TPS setting or "learning" is between the TPS and SAFC. It would not be a problem.
Really need to do after service?? Unless the TPS position or cable has been adjusted....

2) I'm in a area with only RON95 fuel. ( I guess i have to reset the ecu to do some learning to retard the timing?) Its currently running RON97...
Once the knock sensor detects "knocking" with will self retard the timing...
Should not need to reset ecu if change to ron95. My altis did not have this trouble at all...

I have a question for the sifus here..

2) Where is the reset button for the ecu as i've read in other threads in this forum..???

oh ya , i forgot to introduce myself . I'm a new and proud owner of a AltezzaRS200 in a few days time... Name's Calvinn..

Cheers mates

your afc was probably thr by the previous owner to set the air/fuel mixture differently for the stock tezza.

now how much difference remains to be seen/ or felt when driving the car. Since its only a NA engine, difference in power would be very minimal...meaning no feel at all.

my advice is to take out the afc unless u go with combinations like turbo charging/supercharging

the stock ecu will learn the way u drive most of the time. so theres no need to reset it, unless theres a engine check light. this includes you cleaning your throttle body for dust n oil

i havent personally tried ron95 so i wont know. but i think ron 95 will not be a problem since the stock ecu comes with a lot of fuel maps inside it to cater for many driving conditions.

if you really wan to reset the ecu, just pull out the battery terminals n put them back on. voila! ecu reset. bear in mind the ecu will need some time to relearn ur driving style again...so may be a bit fuel wasting for about afew days

more info u can try toms in sunway jalan horsepower....lol

or trial in salak south

good choice in your new car

hey bro green--TRDtezza is from sabah!!

no probs with ron 95 but prefer ron 97 if boosting up

hey bro green--TRDtezza is from sabah!!

no probs with ron 95 but prefer ron 97 if boosting up

lol, then take out the afc lo....go stock.

if wan more oomph or acceleration.....change final drive to 4.3 heh heh

hmm.... in this case i think i will just reset the afc and just let it be for a some time... having it just to display some figures kinda looks cool anyway, ( well i guess a stock afc should not make any changes to my AFR rite??) .. hahaha.... Thanks sifu's for the a piece of your brain cells =P . I'm very new to this line engines. I might come up with more questions soon...

Bro TrdTezza, juz side tracked a bit, is your altezza white colour with sparco rims? nice car.

hmm.... in this case i think i will just reset the afc and just let it be for a some time... having it just to display some figures kinda looks cool anyway, ( well i guess a stock afc should not make any changes to my AFR rite??) .. hahaha.... Thanks sifu's for the a piece of your brain cells =P . I'm very new to this line engines. I might come up with more questions soon...

Why on earth you would reset your afc if it's not giving you any problem?
Altezza is using Hot-Wire Air Flow Sensor type and if you reset (Initialize) the SAFC make sure you select the correct airflow sensor type again on your next startup.. otherwise your afr is all out because your stock ecu is getting all the wrong info from the afc. In some cases your engine won't even start.

If your area got someone with a wideband sensor, it would be great to just double check your AFR so that you don't run too lean or rich.

bro ftzone..

Just to clarify , I just have to leave it be rite.. Wide band sensor , how about using the apexi pen timer ? It shows the afr as well rite , does it works the same with altezzas ?( I have it on my current car, not the altezza) . As far as i know , optimum should show somewhere between 14- 15. ? Correct me if i'm wrong.:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:50 PM ----------

Bro TrdTezza, juz side tracked a bit, is your altezza white colour with sparco rims? nice car.

is it so obvious ?

Do not use the APEXi Pen Timer AFR as it is in narrowband o2 readings.. it is not accurate for reading lean/rich conditions... it only reads 14.7 correctly. Your car would be happy @ 14.7 during cruise and light load speeds.. but at full throttle you car needs about 12-13.5AFR..
Please use wideband O2 sensor (sumthing like INNOVATE LC-1 or LM-1) to make sure you are not running lean nor too rich... but if your modification is not extreme it is ok to leave the SAFC settings at 0% correction. A simple rule is that if the car runs right most likely your AFR is ok too.

Do not use the APEXi Pen Timer AFR as it is in narrowband o2 readings.. it is not accurate for reading lean/rich conditions... it only reads 14.7 correctly. Your car would be happy @ 14.7 during cruise and light load speeds.. but at full throttle you car needs about 12-13.5AFR..
Please use wideband O2 sensor (sumthing like INNOVATE LC-1 or LM-1) to make sure you are not running lean nor too rich... but if your modification is not extreme it is ok to leave the SAFC settings at 0% correction. A simple rule is that if the car runs right most likely your AFR is ok too.

wow.... that is some valuable info...
Maybe i should learn how to fiddle with the buttons first.. or maybe just send it over to a mechanic..

---------- Post added at 09:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:50 PM ----------

[/COLOR]

is it so obvious ?[/QUOTE]

Bro, i presumed you are from kk as well, so i guessed out of the few altezzas being sold there, only 1 is equipped with the AFR controller, correct me if i'm wrong...forgot to intro myself, i'm roland, greetings to all the fellow tezzarian from all over m'sia. Been keeping quiet for some time since registering with zth forum, as i've been reading all the threads from page 1 till now. I would say this forum is very informative and educational with tons of info for car owners generally and specially for altezza owners, who are considered as very endangered species already (i mean the car)..:proud: Sorry to all fellow members for hijacking this thread again...

yes.. i guess so. roland , so you are owner of a altezza as well ? SAA9535R looks familiar though...

sorry for late reply, was out of town last few days... yup, i'm an altezza owner, kk is a small town, will surely see each other on the road. when r u getting your car?

soon , in this week. There's also a few altezzas in kk. Mind to describe your car? i'm quite sure i could have come accrossed it before..