Register
Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
advice needed for buying a modified car...
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="Izso" data-source="post: 1064583322" data-attributes="member: 2429"><p>First of all, don't use <strong>multiple</strong> colours - damn hard to read. I edited and added numbers, easier to read.</p><p></p><p>2ndly, a heavy engine like 4G63T in a Satria will make it front heavy plus it's going to be a hassle to pass puspakom for ownership transfer with JPJ. You're better off buying a Satria GTI with the stock 4G93 engine and modding it yourself. </p><p></p><p>To answer your questions : </p><ol> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">how do i test drive the car to see if the engine/suspension/transmission is reliable?<br /> </span><span style="color: blue">Test drive it lor. Any weird noises or hard to engage gear means you'll have a hefty gearbox repair bill. Most cases 300bhp+ on wheel, the stock gearbox will not last. I haven't come across any stock GB that was built for that sort of power. <br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">does satria wins high speed stability and cornering compare to wira?<br /> <span style="color: blue">Long wheel base (Wira) vs short wheel base with no tail, no fight. Stability goes to Wira. </span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">what to avoid from blowing things up? i only know those basic things like changing engine oil frequently,never rev when engine still cold etc :( <br /> <span style="color: blue">Do you really want a 300bhp+ car then? I think you'll have your hands full with a 180bhp car. No offense but if that's all you know, you better don't drive heavily modified cars that require a lot more TLC. </span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">what's the limit with turbo?can i pedal to the metal for whole 1 hour with lets say 1bar boost without damaging the engine?,how long is too long before i blow things off?<br /> <span style="color: blue">See #3 And Turbo's biggest enemy is heat. Go google that.</span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">and for the boost,does lower the boost,the safer it is?can i switch to 0.8bar boost for daily drive and 1.5bar for aggressive drive constantly with boost controller?<br /> <span style="color: blue">Switching sure. But whether the car can handle 1.5bar is a different question.</span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">does turbocharged engine always have to feed it with atleast ron97?how to find out a modified engine's knocking index? <br /> <span style="color: blue">See #3</span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">how much is the average annual maintenance cost?<br /> <span style="color: blue">Totally depends on the car. The more heavily modified it is, the higher the cost. Or rather, the more horsepower it has the higher the cost of maintenance. Especially since you're pushing an engine to go beyond it's capabilities (modifications) unless you're talking about buying a car that comes with 300bhp+ stock. But I don't think RM24k can get a car with that sort of stock power.</span><br /> </span></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><span style="color: black">final question,just a survey,you guys ever blow up your turbo?if so,how many?<br /> </span><span style="color: blue">See #3 And the other thing is everyone here really loves their cars. Most of the time they blow things up only when someone screws up the tuning or over modifies their cars, but that's usually the GB exploding, not the turbos.</span></li> </ol><p><span style="color: black">For Wira's, Putras and Satrias, make sure you find the c99 chassis. That chassis was designed to take a little more punch and kicking compared to the 1.3/1.5/1.6 chassis'. If you buy a modified 1.5/1.6 transplanted with a 2.0, check for chassis damage. And because of the age of 4Gxx cars, check for accident damage. If you don't know how to do these checks, pay your reliable friendly mechanic to help you check or bring along a friend who knows what he's doing.</span></p><p><span style="color: black"></span> </p><p><span style="color: black">Anyway good luck with your car sourcing.</span><span style="color: Silver"></span></p><p><span style="color: Silver"></span></p><p><span style="color: Silver"><span style="font-size: 9px">---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:02 AM ----------</span></span></p><p><span style="color: Silver"></span></p><p><span style="color: Silver"></span></p><p></p><p>4G63 can be done but can't be endorsed. You'll be running a risk in case you get into an accident. 4G67 are rare but not impossible to find. Can fit the 4G63 head onto it too.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Izso, post: 1064583322, member: 2429"] First of all, don't use [B]multiple[/B] colours - damn hard to read. I edited and added numbers, easier to read. 2ndly, a heavy engine like 4G63T in a Satria will make it front heavy plus it's going to be a hassle to pass puspakom for ownership transfer with JPJ. You're better off buying a Satria GTI with the stock 4G93 engine and modding it yourself. To answer your questions : [LIST=1] [*][COLOR=black]how do i test drive the car to see if the engine/suspension/transmission is reliable? [/COLOR][COLOR=blue]Test drive it lor. Any weird noises or hard to engage gear means you'll have a hefty gearbox repair bill. Most cases 300bhp+ on wheel, the stock gearbox will not last. I haven't come across any stock GB that was built for that sort of power. [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]does satria wins high speed stability and cornering compare to wira? [COLOR=blue]Long wheel base (Wira) vs short wheel base with no tail, no fight. Stability goes to Wira. [/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]what to avoid from blowing things up? i only know those basic things like changing engine oil frequently,never rev when engine still cold etc :( [COLOR=blue]Do you really want a 300bhp+ car then? I think you'll have your hands full with a 180bhp car. No offense but if that's all you know, you better don't drive heavily modified cars that require a lot more TLC. [/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]what's the limit with turbo?can i pedal to the metal for whole 1 hour with lets say 1bar boost without damaging the engine?,how long is too long before i blow things off? [COLOR=blue]See #3 And Turbo's biggest enemy is heat. Go google that.[/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]and for the boost,does lower the boost,the safer it is?can i switch to 0.8bar boost for daily drive and 1.5bar for aggressive drive constantly with boost controller? [COLOR=blue]Switching sure. But whether the car can handle 1.5bar is a different question.[/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]does turbocharged engine always have to feed it with atleast ron97?how to find out a modified engine's knocking index? [COLOR=blue]See #3[/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]how much is the average annual maintenance cost? [COLOR=blue]Totally depends on the car. The more heavily modified it is, the higher the cost. Or rather, the more horsepower it has the higher the cost of maintenance. Especially since you're pushing an engine to go beyond it's capabilities (modifications) unless you're talking about buying a car that comes with 300bhp+ stock. But I don't think RM24k can get a car with that sort of stock power.[/COLOR] [/COLOR] [*][COLOR=black]final question,just a survey,you guys ever blow up your turbo?if so,how many? [/COLOR][COLOR=blue]See #3 And the other thing is everyone here really loves their cars. Most of the time they blow things up only when someone screws up the tuning or over modifies their cars, but that's usually the GB exploding, not the turbos.[/COLOR] [/LIST][COLOR=black]For Wira's, Putras and Satrias, make sure you find the c99 chassis. That chassis was designed to take a little more punch and kicking compared to the 1.3/1.5/1.6 chassis'. If you buy a modified 1.5/1.6 transplanted with a 2.0, check for chassis damage. And because of the age of 4Gxx cars, check for accident damage. If you don't know how to do these checks, pay your reliable friendly mechanic to help you check or bring along a friend who knows what he's doing. [/COLOR] [COLOR=black]Anyway good luck with your car sourcing.[/COLOR][COLOR="Silver"] [SIZE=1]---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:02 AM ----------[/SIZE] [/COLOR] 4G63 can be done but can't be endorsed. You'll be running a risk in case you get into an accident. 4G67 are rare but not impossible to find. Can fit the 4G63 head onto it too. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
Proton Satria Neo GTwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Toyota Vios ncp150 Body Kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer evo varis bumper/body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua Myvi spray painting & front bonnet scoop
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua Bezza Gear Up body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer evo varis bumper/body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 M5 front fender set with air vent
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Persona VVT Drive68 body kit/spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing GT Premium...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ2 RZii 18x9jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia Set for Debut at Mobility Resort Motegi
Following its season opener alongside the Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai, Porsche Carrera Cup Asia heads...
HELP......EF-DET wiring diagram
Can anyone help, im looking for a copy of EF-DET wiring diagram.
Thanks in advance
Price of new & used altezza
hello bros,
im new here and seeking advice on the price for new & used altezzas..im a little confused as some prices advertised for eg. new is 130k+, where else some used one is selling at 120k? although there are...
Recent Posts
Performance Tire Prices(Pls Contribute The Price & Location to buy)
Started by
JINEIL2EN
Car Modification
Tire Price list Zth
Started by
xbalance2002
Wheel And Tyre
Paging for Hyundai Coupe owner, CCGT @ 28th May 2005
Started by
BlackSamurai
The Hyundai Coupe Club
New GR Yaris Automatic & GR Supra Track Edition Now in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
2025 Volvo EX90 Wins World Luxury Car Award
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Log-in
for an ad-less experience
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
advice needed for buying a modified car...