A1 Grand Prix

cossie

http://www.a1gp.com/images/whatIsA1.jpg

What Is A1 Grand Prix?

A1 Grand Prix is the first opportunity in any area of motorsport for nations to compete on a level playing field. It is a series where technology and innovation are deliberately equalised and performance is determined by human bravery, skill and excellence. Team and driver combine to create their advantage and the winning nation raises its flag in celebration.

A1 Grand Prix is more than just another motorsport phenomenon; it's an entirely new sport - The World Cup of Motorsport. Pitting driver against driver and country against country for the first time in history, A1 Grand Prix will bring together 25 nations representing 80 per cent of the world's population to actively compete on a level playing field.

A1 Grand Prix has created a new medium for national and international brands and organisations to promote themselves on a global scale. Through the World Cup of Motorsport, they can join forces with their national teams to be part of this unique sporting event.

The World Cup of Motorsport promotes countries and utilises the national patriotism instilled in every person on the planet not only attracting traditional motorsport and sporting fans but exciting anyone who is passionate about their heritage, country and population.

What Is An A1 Grand Prix Event?

A fast, exciting, adrenaline fuelled weekend full of entertainment in a glamorous and exclusive environment, affordable and accessible to all the family.

With three days of on-track action, an A1 Grand Prix event offers a rare opportunity for fans to interact with teams and drivers. Exclusively inclusive, The World Cup of Motorsport brings the thrill of international motorsport to billions of fans across the globe.

Taking in a mix of established world-famous venues, exciting new state-of-the-art facilities and tight twisty street circuits, A1 Grand Prix promises to deliver high-speed action at every turn.

An A1 Grand Prix event is a fast, exciting, adrenaline fuelled weekend in a glamorous and exclusive environment, affordable and accessible to all.

2005 A1 Grand Prix Season

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Brands Hatch
BRANDS HATCH, GREAT BRITAIN
Race: 1 of 12
Date: Sep. 25, 2005
Distance: 1.925 km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Eurospeedway GP
EUROSPEEDWAY, LAUSITZ, GERMANY
Race: 2 of 12
Date: Oct. 09, 2005
Distance: 4,534 km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Estoril
AUTODROMO DO ESTORIL, PORTUGAL
Race: 3 of 12
Date: Oct. 23, 2005
Distance: 4360 m

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Eastern Creek
EASTERN CREEK INTERNATIONAL RACEWAY, SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA
Race: 4 of 12
Date: Nov. 06, 2005
Distance: 3.93km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Sepang Int. Circuit
SEPANG INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT, KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
Race: 5 of 12
Date: Nov. 20, 2005
Distance: 5,542 km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Dubai Autodrome
DUBAI AUTODROME, DUBAI, UAE
Race: 6 of 12
Date: Dec. 11, 2005
Distance: 5.39 km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Street Race
TBD, INDONESIA / SINGAPORE
Race: 7 of 12
Date: Jan. 15, 2006

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Cape Town / DBN
TBD, DURBAN / CAPETOWN - SOUTH AFRICA
Race: 8 of 12
Date: Jan. 29, 2006
Distance: 2.99km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Monterrey
PARQUE FUNDIDORA, MONTERREY, MEXICO
Race: 9 of 12
Date: Feb. 12, 2006
Distance: 3.385 km

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX San Antonio, Texas
SAN ANTONIO STREET RACE, TEXAS, USA
Race: 10 of 12
Date: Feb. 26, 2006

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Laguna Seca, California
LAGUNA SECA, CALIFORNIA, USA
Race: 11 of 12
Date: Mar. 12, 2006

2005 A1 GRAND PRIX Beijing Goldenport
BEIJING GOLDENPORT, BEIJING, CHINA
Race: 12 of 12
Date: Apr. 03, 2006

ah yes, read about this A1 grandprix some time ago..finally Sepang is in the A1 calender! should be a close fight, and the cars look much better than current F1 rides...ekekeke..combine 'em with nice colours : wah lau! not forgetting close racing action due to similar specs on all cars! have we got our drivers yet, still the same lanky fella @ F1 last year @ now on 8TV fella? should get new blood in lah..

enjoy driving : yes!

i'm still new in 4 wheel business...previously in 2 wheels. still learning about VTEC engines, since i'm driving one. kinda like aggresive racing, like Brit Superbike Championship ( bfr 2001 ones ), BTCC ( those Volvo racin' wagons... ) GP500 days ( those early Mick Doohan era.. ) and yes, DTM ( the white / yellow Opel days ) cossie : dun tell me u have a Ford Cosworth ( RS200? ) back to A1 : hoping that it'll bring real close open - wheel racing again!

ace79 said:
enjoy driving : yes!

i'm still new in 4 wheel business...previously in 2 wheels. still learning about VTEC engines, since i'm driving one. kinda like aggresive racing, like Brit Superbike Championship ( bfr 2001 ones ), BTCC ( those Volvo racin' wagons... ) GP500 days ( those early Mick Doohan era.. ) and yes, DTM ( the white / yellow Opel days ) cossie : dun tell me u have a Ford Cosworth ( RS200? ) back to A1 : hoping that it'll bring real close open - wheel racing again!
i'd like to chit-chat with you here but i fear the moderators may be annoyed at us for doing so in the forums. perhaps it is better we utilize the PM system for our personal dicussions.

nice to hear from you.

is the r200 some funky mr 1.8 group b monster?
I wonder are there any BBR Cosworths around in Malaysia.

Anyway i believe the A1 gp allows drivers from their own nationalities. So looks like the only guys thats has the ability to drive such a powerful singleseater must be the lanky chap that comentates for 8TV.
Other than him i guess the other guys that can drive is Fairuz, Rizal and Aaron Lim.

after you do your homework...

fordrunger said:
you should do your homework then..
after you do your homework, please let me know who is aaron lim too. actually i'm not really bothered but if you do find out i don't mind knowing. thanks!

He's the only Malaysian driver that has earned the[size=-1] CIK International A kart racing licence, and he's raced at the very top level of karting in europe, often at the very front of the field. He's now doing the formula BMW Asia championship.

[/size]BabyGodzillaGTi-R, [size=-1]I'd say Yoong and then Fauzy would be the best and currently the only choices for the A1GP cars. [/size]

Thanks mikko for the information, btw any ride yet for mme this year?

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
Best website to check out on Aaron's profile is to look at http://www.teamminardiasia.com
Now he is a driver of true grit. The only chap with minimal resources and has done so much and one of the better performing Malaysian driver.

true man, he posses the best knowledge and training out of any malaysian and could probable go the furthest given the right resources.
we all envy him with pride...i know i do..GO AARON!

gip my support to aaron

fordrunger said:
true man, he posses the best knowledge and training out of any malaysian and could probable go the furthest given the right resources.
we all envy him with pride...i know i do..GO AARON!
oh... maciam tu i also gip my support to aaron. go kakilang!

active spectator

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
So cossie are u part of the Malaysian entity of the A1Gp? Just curious hehe.
I believe u're pretty involved in Malaysian motorsports?
i'm sorry to disappoint you that i am not. i am an active spectator though. :)