4G91 Gang..

yup,thanks for ur reply..now i juz worried it's different model of 4G91,cuz it's no digital air-con and the dashboard is different,so it's a different model,year and version of 4G91...so i'm worried the performance is changed of this model...what's ur guyz opinion?normally if its condition very good,i dun care whether it is 160k mileage or 60k...

Rossi said:
hi guy!Finally today i found a 4G91 halfcut,actually not many problem on this halfcut..but the matter annoying me is the mileage already 160k,and the dashboard look very old..somemore that's not with digital aircon and other,but the shop willing to replace the new dashboard with digital aircon to me..the price is rm3300(neg),i would like to ask abt it..what the different of this halfcut,why all the 4g91 i see b4 is come full digital aircon dashboard (but all auto la) and this one not..is it engine different or power different?that's the thing i'm worried now,if i got the replacement digital aircon,then would any problem cause for the wiring..will it affect?thank you for help me to solve and answer my question

hi rossi bro... don worry about the aircon panel... my 4g91 come with the old school style air con panel as well... it don make a lot of differece though... as long as ur aircon is functioning welll... :smile: 160k is a bit too much oh the milege... my half cut was done 85k when i bought it... if u have budget, and gonna open the whole thing, then no problem le. if not, better for another one oh. just my litttle opinion. :bath:

Rossi, there should be no diff between between digital or manual air cond, its just matter of low spec and hi spec oni.. as far as i know, there is only two variant of the 4g91 engine.. carb and injection.. regarding power or FC, thats something subjective.. Partyjoe who got quite new halfcut also having bad FC last time, proper tuning should mend it instantly.. but that mileage is quite old ler.. mine after about 4 years the engine oni reach almost 200k

i'm damn sad abt that dy la..my forman said the hafcut not very good,somemore not advice me to take it..is that any brother from here can introduce some shop with 4G91manual to me,my location is kepong..thanks!i'm looking for many shops dy but still cant get the 4G91manual...yalo,if i convert the auto to manual,the power will different?anything will affect or not?

all the sifu here... i have a questsion to ask...
if u are driving about 100 on the high way, then suddenly a gen 2 come and kacau u behind. do u think our engine, 4g91 to be exact, have the power to get rid of gen 2 or at least keep the lead? let's say the gen 2 is standard manuel. have been thinking about this these two days... cos the hp of two cars are not much different, and wira or satria should be lighter than gen 2 right... :bath:

Rossi said:
i'm damn sad abt that dy la..my forman said the hafcut not very good,somemore not advice me to take it..is that any brother from here can introduce some shop with 4G91manual to me,my location is kepong..thanks!i'm looking for many shops dy but still cant get the 4G91manual...yalo,if i convert the auto to manual,the power will different?anything will affect or not?

don be so sad la bro... u will cry if u get a engine that with whole a bunch of problem. so better not risk it right? be patient, surely can find wan. or just wait for shipment from japan arrive lo... put some deposit at the chop shop, and ask them try to get a nice one le... maybe can work, i also not sure le. :bath:

tajulsan n kdude: thanx

milo: from my experience as a speed limit abiding driver :smile: iv had many encounters with guys who cucuk my car like they're trying 2 cucuk satay n wat i can say is that each time d speed angel gets 2 me i can bakar them easily until 160km/hr or lebih n then i go back 2 d normal speed n let them past me with grace.but of cause dgn 1 syarat...it must be on a straight stretch of road like d hiway.fyi my 4g91 is an auto without any mods.

rossi: i got my enjin with d mileage at 105K km when i had d chance 2 get a 40K km enjin at d same price.y?bcause when i tested them at d chop shop(with sum other enjins)it was d only 1 that started almost immediately n without a hitch n it was still in good condition.

Rossi said:
try calling this number 03-60382630 n talk to malik if he's not in just ask ne1 there.its d number 4 asma auto parts a chop shop located in sungai buloh.if u get 2 talk 2 malik try n negotiate d price with him his a pleasent guy 2 talk with.

wah.... oli 24 hours i dun online, to many update here... hu hu hu

hurmmmm... thanks partyjoe & skylinemaniac. Veri nice person & good diyer to... sifuuuuu.... hu hu hu... maybe next time we can ajak all new friend here to join us tt oso. im oso new... don be shy gang. no need to be malu-malu, maybe we can share our xperience about engine convertion. ;)

Milo : relex la bro. i think u should prod to be 4g91 user. actualy from what i know, 4g91 engine is build not for peformance. its build for FC and a little bit DOHC power. below 3000rpm actualy is for saving fuel (economic) and after 3000 baru power dia datang. and its only 1.5cc. compared with gen2, it use some kind of variable timing engine if not mistaken with 1.6cc or 1.8cc engine. of coz it can cucuk u like satey. tu blom nengok lagi gear ratio & final ratio lagi. another think, i dont think we have enought space to accelerate in kl. u know la... sana sini jem. when u step trottle pedal, suddenly u need to pres break. hehheh... sori laaaa... lari tajuk sket.

rossi : about your prob, i think u should talk to uncle fred. he also recomen me 1 chop shop around pasar borong selayang. i oso bord from him. maybe u can ring him and ask for the avaiablity & price. if u can tunggu a bit, maybe u can come to that chop shop next month when new contena arrive... (fred - 012 2687273) said u get this number from shah-lancer. oh ya... about manual engine n auto engine, its a bit difren in low rev (auto need lower end torque to pusing flywheel bola) but i think that should not give u a problem. but, auto ECU got some wire to gearbox. i dunno whethe its give any errorcode when we potong that cable o not.

LancerTerabo said:
wah.... oli 24 hours i dun online, to many update here... hu hu hu

hurmmmm... thanks partyjoe & skylinemaniac. Veri nice person & good diyer to... sifuuuuu.... hu hu hu... maybe next time we can ajak all new friend here to join us tt oso. im oso new... don be shy gang. no need to be malu-malu, maybe we can share our xperience about engine convertion. ;)

Milo : relex la bro. i think u should prod to be 4g91 user. actualy from what i know, 4g91 engine is build not for peformance. its build for FC and a little bit DOHC power. below 3000rpm actualy is for saving fuel (economic) and after 3000 baru power dia datang. and its only 1.5cc. compared with gen2, it use some kind of variable timing engine if not mistaken with 1.6cc or 1.8cc engine. of coz it can cucuk u like satey. tu blom nengok lagi gear ratio & final ratio lagi. another think, i dont think we have enought space to accelerate in kl. u know la... sana sini jem. when u step trottle pedal, suddenly u need to pres break. hehheh... sori laaaa... lari tajuk sket.

rossi : about your prob, i think u should talk to uncle fred. he also recomen me 1 chop shop around pasar borong selayang. i oso bord from him. maybe u can ring him and ask for the avaiablity & price. if u can tunggu a bit, maybe u can come to that chop shop next month when new contena arrive... (fred - 012 2687273) said u get this number from shah-lancer. oh ya... about manual engine n auto engine, its a bit difren in low rev (auto need lower end torque to pusing flywheel bola) but i think that should not give u a problem. but, auto ECU got some wire to gearbox. i dunno whethe its give any errorcode when we potong that cable o not.

4G91 TT.......good suggestion.......but I am stay in kepong.......you guy normally TT where?...........hehehe..........wait me get my 4G91 ready wira next week only can talk 4G91 TT.......hehe.....now talk malu....

4G91 auto can convert manual using 4G13/4G15 gear box provided you manage to get flywheel from 4G92/4G93 flywheel.......if you get 4G13 gear box......better search for cluth pump set .......else you left leg shud be very tired.....auto can convert to manual by set the auto mode to P......then the ECU will by pass TCU reading.......but in my personal opinion you better source for complete set of manual 4G91 unless you cannot find a good condition half cut.

I get my halfcut tuesday.....is a 4G91 auto..... mileage 81000km.....yesterday went to the workshop cause they started transplant....I check the whole engine....no oil leakage at all(engine, gear box, absorber...)............. only the power streering bush(left side) rosak................compare to the halfcut which posted in ZTH FF auto which claims +-50K km milleage, which is a lot better (the halfcut with oil leakage on engine and gear box, drive shaf also not in good condition).

Need all your advice here......is 4G15 absorber and spring is the same as 4G91.....I have compare both.....same.......I am in delema whether put in mine(Improve gas absorber, 9 months oil, in perfect condition) or use the halfcut absorber...... :)

milo said:
all the sifu here... i have a questsion to ask...
if u are driving about 100 on the high way, then suddenly a gen 2 come and kacau u behind. do u think our engine, 4g91 to be exact, have the power to get rid of gen 2 or at least keep the lead? let's say the gen 2 is standard manuel. have been thinking about this these two days... cos the hp of two cars are not much different, and wira or satria should be lighter than gen 2 right... :bath:

milo, I think no way can compare to gen2, why?

Campro engine is a weird engine.......
Long stroke engine ------ suppose to have bad top end but good response on low end.....but I suspect this engine with higher lift and duration cam profile....where it behave a strong top end performance but so so(or weak) performance at long end (hehehe, same thing happen to my 4G13 with powerzone high cam and PNP head, so far manage to drag my car 0-100km in 11seconds with my heavy 15" JRD rim, but I am going to loss all this performance because I am transplant to 4G91 AUTO somemore....no choice, orang sudah tua, cannot tahan everyday traffic jam with my cable clucth)
Got Flat Point Engine ------ Campro got flat point around 3000-3500rpm......if engine got flat point, normally means after flat point the power damn siok.....I have tested gen2 manual.....I am sure if the owner know how to by pass the flat point by playing with their gear position.....they will say byebye to us.....
Long Ratio gear Box ------ Weird again, in view campro have such setting, but they still using long Ratio gear box......I suspect due to cost issue(same gear box with waja), better FC(engine rotate at lower speed)

4G9X series is a short stroke engine, short stroke engine will have the following characteristic
1. Higher Fuel Consumption for the same engine capacity
2. Linear performance
3. NVH better (due to short stroke. the piston travel lesser distance thus reduce fliction, thus less vibration, less noise....)
4. Last longer.....again, piston travel lesser distance...lesser fliction....lesser wear and tear.
6. Lower torque at low engine speed.
7. Gear box closer ratio to compesate engine characteristic on poor low end performance.

actually I prefer short stroke engine as it perform smoother(is it?)
I also prefer 16 valve engine.....compare to my 12 valve engine.....car manufacturer tend to put in lower duration cam(lower duration means better NVH, not like my high cam in 4G13, when they kick in after 4000rpm, the engine sound like MIVEC....macam engine pecah sound), later I just need send my car for PNP and raise the compression ratio I strongly belief the engine will perform similar to higher duration cam but maintain low NVH and better idling speed.....hehehe

Just my 2 cents.... :-)

:biggrin: haha... just some wierd thought... cos that day i saw a gen 2 was racing a wira... then suddenly had this thinking... i never go and tried it out... cos that time petrol kosong, lpetrol light also on already... hehe... yeah i am proud to be 4g91 owner... hehe..

wirafly: after PNP the engine will makan petrol kau kau or not? i heard that the engine sound is very big after PNP? i mean it is like the engine is shouting when u press....

wat can i mod for rm250??

guys...wat can i get for rm250?? i mean to get more horses into my 4g91 stable...please

help me out here...thanx!!

phantomRX8 said:
guys...wat can i get for rm250?? i mean to get more horses into my 4g91 stable...please

help me out here...thanx!!

u can change metal gasket, i think it is still within 250 for the whole thing to be done... but not 100% sure. hehe. or u can change ur engine oil to motul... i heard it is quite owerful, but i never tried before. very expensive. i use 80 - 90 bucks wan. hehe :biggrin:

wirafly said:
4G91 TT.......good suggestion.......but I am stay in kepong.......you guy normally TT where?...........hehehe..........wait me get my 4G91 ready wira next week only can talk 4G91 TT.......hehe.....now talk malu....

4G91 auto can convert manual using 4G13/4G15 gear box provided you manage to get flywheel from 4G92/4G93 flywheel.......if you get 4G13 gear box......better search for cluth pump set .......else you left leg shud be very tired.....auto can convert to manual by set the auto mode to P......then the ECU will by pass TCU reading.......but in my personal opinion you better source for complete set of manual 4G91 unless you cannot find a good condition half cut.

I get my halfcut tuesday.....is a 4G91 auto..... mileage 81000km.....yesterday went to the workshop cause they started transplant....I check the whole engine....no oil leakage at all(engine, gear box, absorber...)............. only the power streering bush(left side) rosak................compare to the halfcut which posted in ZTH FF auto which claims +-50K km milleage, which is a lot better (the halfcut with oil leakage on engine and gear box, drive shaf also not in good condition).

Need all your advice here......is 4G15 absorber and spring is the same as 4G91.....I have compare both.....same.......I am in delema whether put in mine(Improve gas absorber, 9 months oil, in perfect condition) or use the halfcut absorber...... :)

bro i think they are the same... cos my 4g91 half cut comes with something exactly like the original one as well... improve gas absorber should be the choice... just my little opinion.

yeah rossi you should wait for another halfcut!
160K is not very good already!

i wait for more than 2 months search here and there and here and there and finally get an auto half cut with 6330Km half cut!
condition like new!!!
even the air filter are white in colour!
absorbar looks new
every thing look new!

becareful something about the adjusting mileage!
according to my forman some of the halfcut shop adjust the mileage to get better prices is that engine in acceptable condition!!!!!!

better to get also the services record of that engine!
but some of it will not come with the record!

my half cut also manual aircon
somore the disc is solid one not vantileted type!!!