4 Throttle Or 16v

zyfull

which one is cheaper for fr car convertion?
4age 16v full 1/2cut or 4 throttle used ae86 gearbox n axle..
since i noticed that 4age halfcut was highly demand n coz bout 4k-5k n the 4throttle only around 2k for silvertop..
need some opinion?? :D

what car you are using? since you mention using ae86 t50 gbox and its axle, i asume you are putting it in a FR car.

you get AE86 h/cut, you just transfer everything over, plus all those hidden repair cost and labour, i got do abit of estimation (for my own transplant, but not yet done :( ) you would need bout 7k - 10k at least to make it run without much problem.

if get 101 h/cut, you need buy alot of other stuff seperately.. eg the gbox, axle suspension and brakes sommore have to find the crossmember and other stuff.. might end up spending more cuz buy seperately more expensive. go ask tauhutauhu lar.. he told me one.. i also shock abit when see how much he had spended >_<

Yeah thats right.. i think maybe u should get AE86 halfcut first.its hard to find but it worthit.than after afew month or after u got bored using those engine than u can buy another 20V.this way is more good than try to fit a 20V on a backwheel car.u must bought gbox etc separately.just suggesting....
by the way what car are u talking about??

another thing to worry about with the 20v is the water plumbing and the distributor.. need to modify abit..

somore 16v syok also.. if you know how you can get big HP out from it :lol:

oohhh like that aaa..i run in fr car but not toyota..ehhe..quite interested with toyota engine becoz it's na engine..easy to maintain(correct me if i'm wrong) ..compare wit other engine such as ca18,sr20,13b n etc..

lol, take 16V!!!

if you want to transplant other engine, take SR20DETT... parts so damn cheap!

Originally posted by rollakid@Apr 22 2005, 21:15
then what car.. got a feeling you running beamer.. lolx...
[snapback]919411[/snapback]​

not a beamer lor..still a japan car that already kapot..ekeke..

Originally posted by 4agze@Apr 23 2005, 07:56
lol, take 16V!!!

if you want to transplant other engine, take SR20DETT... parts so damn cheap!
[snapback]920139[/snapback]​

how bout ca18 bro..heard that the cheapest compare to sr n 4age..both bout 4-5k..ca18 only 2.5k..sori out of topic..

akaka..120y datto ma..not many people want to mod it..only several mod it but i never see it in front of my eye..only know 1 forummer n 1 borneo guy see in KERETA mag..so need to ask for u all sifu..

120Y put in CA18det...sure very good. But 4age 16V also damn good. the CA doesnt have much spare parts and slighly more exp then 4ag. But 4ag has more durability and tahan lasak. BTW, wats the purpose of you doing up the engine? drag? drift? everyday drive?

Originally posted by KE86@Apr 26 2005, 14:07
120Y put in CA18det...sure very good. But 4age 16V also damn good. the CA doesnt have much spare parts and slighly more exp then 4ag. But 4ag has more durability and tahan lasak. BTW, wats the purpose of you doing up the engine? drag? drift? everyday drive?
[snapback]928887[/snapback]​

tq ke86..ehhe..actually this if for everyday drive n sumthin to layak..ehhe..surely not for drag..mau sedap2 pakai ma..from my 2sen, 4age has more durability plus it is easy to maintain since na engine(correct me if im wrong) although ca18 was same manufacture.. :D

ca18det is Nissan, just like SR20 and RB20
4AGE is Toyota
not same manufacturer

4AGTE - 1st transplant 16v later put in 20v - still have to get into trouble of distributor relocation / whack firewall and water routing problems, is not only NOT CHEAP, but ilogical right?

Not that I'm picking on you, just a casual discussion. Please don't get mad.

zyfull - ca18 is a good candidate - no problems what-so-ever, unless you don't take care of the engine like no water in radiator, no engine oil etc :) hahaha

Please don't say simple things like this everybody knows - no need to tell - I've seen too many cars in track day all water blow out, head gasket leak, all sorts of problems...... during track day. So take care from day 1 like your own baby, else problems all come.

KE86 - I disagree with 4AG more reliable than other engines. I seriously BELIEVES all domestic engines are equally reliable when running below the manufacturer's specified red line, using all specificied parts / conditions.

We've seen allot of 4AG owners having problems immediately after transplant. Lets not talk about labour problem. Lets talk only about engines.

Some had

1) water pump problem
2) head gasket problem
3) piston rings
4) crank bearing
5) valve seals
and allot more

Some of these people are extra bad luck - after repair still SAME problem, not other problems, while others change to different problems.

I don't think 4AG is more reliable than other engines.

It's just a hype and a dream I was told and believed last time. It's all fake and I don't believe that anymore.

I can recall everymonth there will be a new zth toyotarians crying about his / her problem after a transplant and usually it's not about labour but purely the engine itself.

However I do believe that maintaing a 4ag is allot cheaper than other exotic engines like honda and my argument is

1) 20v complete engine gasket set RM300
2) 20v crank bearings RM150
3) 20v piston rings RM150
4) labour RM300 to 500

RM1k to overhaul 20v as well as 16v

Not sure about other engines.

I think Nissan's GA18 will be as cheap. It's also a very good performing and reliable engine.

wow chin..a long long description..thanx alots..ahha..i know u got experienced from all this rite..since have ur baby since 3 years ago..neway can always updet to u..cheers~

i think maybe ur baby can be ke18det or ke20det not ke70 20valve nemore..akaka..