20V plug cable comparison

levin818

Some of you might want to find out which plug cable deliver best performance for 20V. Following table shows the resistance value of few after market cables that i had measured by using DMM. Perhaps it can give you some idea on how it's performance looks like.

< STOCK (5mm) - RM300 >
Coil to Dist - n/a
Cable (1) 5.16k Ohm
Cable (2) 5.90k Ohm
Cable (3) 7.50k Ohm
Cable (4) 8.12k Ohm

< TRD (5mm) - RM450 >
Coil to Dist - 7.75k Ohm
Cable (1) 4.20k Ohm
Cable (2) n/a
Cable (3) n/a
Cable (4) 8.40k Ohm

< ULTRA Silicon Power Plug Wire (7mm) Made in Japan - RM450 >
Coil to Dist - 0.99k Ohm
Cable (1) 1.98k Ohm
Cable (2) 1.98k Ohm
Cable (3) 1.98k Ohm
Cable (4) 1.98k Ohm

< SPLITFIRE TWINCORE (10mm??) - RM?? >
Coil to Dist - 0.35k Ohm
Cable (1) 0.35k Ohm
Cable (2) 0.45k Ohm
Cable (3) 0.28k Ohm
Cable (4) 0.39k Ohm

< HOTSOT Double Extruded Silicon Cable (8mm) Made in Australia - RM?? >
Coil to Dist - 4.55k Ohm
Cable (1) n/a
Cable (2) n/a
Cable (3) n/a
Cable (4) n/a

< NGK POWER CABLE (5mm) RM370>
Coil to Dist - 0.37k Ohm
Cable (1) 0.40k Ohm
Cable (2) 0.34k Ohm
Cable (3) 0.30k Ohm
Cable (4) 0.21k Ohm

Suprisingly, TRD cable has very close resistance value to stock cables, which mean its performance also very close to stock's, theoritically. ULTRA has very consistance resistance value from Cable (1) ~ (4), that allow it to delivery similar ignotion power to 4 piston. And, Splitfire Twincore has an unbeatable low resistance value - par in performance.

Please share your finding here.
(Those who are using TRD cable please don't shot me le :biggrin: )

so sifoo levin.....ULTRA plug cable is good?..how about those expensive calbe like NOLOGY??? cost thousand plus borr, but i'm using NGK lar. Just need to know.

wow...superb...thanx for the info...

how about nology ?
they claimed that thier product fall under 1.2 Ohms/mm (how to convert to kilo ohm ???)

later i found out another product on the market, Pro Rallye similar to Nology...a bit curious cuz done a little research but, couldn't find any in the net...

have any one used this product before ???
how was it ?

Pro-Rally-1.jpg

Pro-Rally-5.jpg

nice info... planning to change ultra plug cable .. hihi..

hope can improve prerformance!!!!!!

nology?

Coil to Dist - dont have - my member using stock cable
Cable (4) 0.65k

got two version of ultra.
one is mentioned as above.

and the other one:

Coil to Dist - 2.208k
Cable (4) 2.177k

i've checked those two cables only.

logically lower resistance in the cable means more/faster electricity reaches the plugs, hence more kick in the plug's spark. i guess :tongue:

smaller numbers, if i understand sifu wong's post correctly

splitfire plug cable hard to find meh? i got 1 set for supercharger 1.....
hehe anybody interested??

logically lower resistance in the cable means more/faster electricity reaches the plugs, hence more kick in the plug's spark. i guess :tongue:

smaller numbers, if i understand sifu wong's post correctly

Yup bro AE80TypeD, u r right for the ans, lower the resistance will easy let the current flow through and create larger spark. will try to measure my NGK using the digital Ohms meter. see what is the result.

Would a bigger spaark cause by lower resistance of the cables cause the fuel mixture to lean out? Would the ECU be able to compensate in combustion chamber? Which sensors does that?

I can't say how BIG the spark is...also depend on the plug u using too. Of course cheaper plug and those branded plug will be major different in spark. Ecu only counting the air mixture and delivery the signal to igniter then to distributor. Which sensor does that.......better ask more detail from sifoo wong.

Write your reply...