1jz E36 BMW frankensteining

Hope the new ones are for automotive engine, because those must be able to withstand the heat in the engine compartment....:driver:

Ok.. Latest update.

The crank sensor was foolishly routed to be next to the exhaust manifold and dump pipe. The wiring inside the shielding melted to almost the full length of the wire which was causing the firing to be very erratic and made cold starting very very very difficult.

That wiring has been swapped out to high temp automotive wires and the water temp sensor was swapped to a Bosch one (the original one kept detecting the water to be -5 deg at cold start which is impossible). A lot of the faulty wiring took a long time to remove and replace because of the spaghetti ball of wiring under the dash which has since been sorted.

Also, the parameters for all the settings was incorrect. Like 60 degree ignition timing angle. That's not only wrong - it's dangerous. I'm just lucky the engine didn't explode during this period of time. The tuner handling my car now is a specialist for the Spitronics ECU and has direct contact with Spitronics South Africa who helped verify that the ECU was incorrectly setup. Badly incorrectly setup.

The car now starts at first crank and purs like a kitten.

I'm doing 2 more minor mechanical tweaks before the car is dyno-tuned on a mainline dyno happening possibly next week.

one of the cause wiring melt is not tighten properly. It loose n cause sparks eventually melt n core turn brittle.

As usual, most we must assume that mechs will always take the easy way..

Yes. And it's exactly what happened to me. The last guy who touched the wiring didn't even bother taping those connected wiring. Which is just plain scary.

Wait, I thought you know the previous owner?

I do. But the owner before him did the swap. And I don't know that owner.

Cheaper? Honestly I don’t think so... if you factor in the grief and time wasted. I frankly rather pay more if it’s done right.

Yeah, I'm beginning to agree with you.

+1. It's been a long wait

Eh. So when you’re coming out with your new old car?

Maybe he trolling us like the others who come in seeking purchase advice.

It really is my car la. Just that the headaches are taking a while to resolve. I guestimate the car will be fully ready for paint month end. Fully ready meaning tuned, suspension done and interior fully done.

No lah. Waiting for the paint to dry

He can always but a hot air gun from Mr DIY to speed up the drying.....

I've been meaning to buy an air blower but the wifey has stopped me from filling the store room with more unused tools.

You appear to be on the correct path now. Good to hear.

Yes.. I can finally see the end of the tunnel.

He is. Putting up with all that grief. I totally no eye see this kinda nitty gritty issues.

1, ONE stupid wire, can cause so much issues.

Actually that's just one. Melted yes.. but there's others too. I had issues with central locking which had been changed to non-bmw ones, there was a shitload of wires going no where and 5 connected to 1 type twist connections, god knows why.. etc. The wireguy/tuner had a lot to do.

Sorry to say this, so how much are you selling it.

After doing all this and making it pur like a kitten, probably nothing less than 50k.

after all the setup he has done, it's could be a deal to get from him.:stupid::biggrin:
Ha Ha .. .that's quite true. He has already done much of the grunt work.

But just in case, you're really looking for a similar car, there's one on Facebook.

Ha Ha .. .that's quite true. He has already done much of the grunt work.

But just in case, you're really looking for a similar car, there's one on Facebook.

Almost done up, he won't sell. If sell also, will be premium priced.....lol:biggrin:

Very premium priced.

If all goes well this weekend it's going to the paintshop without the interior. Easier for the painters to settle my painting request.

Can buy an Evo 5/6 already! :biggrin:

Yes but would it be as good condition as my car? Would it be mechanically and electronically as sound as mine? :biggrin:

You know - all of this has taught me one thing. I'm too OCD. OCD people cannot own old cars that aren't setup to their specs. Bloody hell.

Yes but would it be as good condition as my car? Would it be mechanically and electronically as sound as mine? :biggrin:

You know - all of this has taught me one thing. I'm too OCD. OCD people cannot own old cars that aren't setup to their specs. Bloody hell.

Yeah, most likely still need to spend time and money again to fix things but old cars are all like that.

That's why I also avoid too old cars that are already heavily modified like yours. I'd still consider old cars but should be close to stock hence easier to fix (coz I'm also not mechanically savvy) and then can upgrade to my own taste.

Yeah, most likely still need to spend time and money again to fix things but old cars are all like that.

That's why I also avoid too old cars that are already heavily modified like yours. I'd still consider old cars but should be close to stock hence easier to fix (coz I'm also not mechanically savvy) and then can upgrade to my own taste.

Old car stock as possible and modders are two different breed......hhahhahahhahah:biggrin: