Nurburgring ques....

rexysky

why most manufacturers like to test their cars in Nurburgring?
any special on this track?
what make it so famous?

just always hear ppl saying nurburgring record bla bla bla.....

its kinda like a benchmark test for car manufacturers.. and there are many turns that is challenging, and also a high speed-straights.. kinda like an 'all in one' track.. well this is what i think hehehe..

One of the thing that reminds me of this track is back in 2005 where Kimi Raikkonen was leading the race in his McLaren snapped his suspension and went off at Turn 1 at the beginning of the very last lap due to flat spotted his front right tyre (causing massive vibration, even the on board camera was shaking like a vibrator) which resulted Fernando Alonso got promoted for the victory. Almost took Jenson Button in his Honda too, but luckily that wasn't the case. Probably one of the major blow for Kimi for the title chances and Fernando became the world champion on that year.

_46218401_europe2005shorthighlights51.jpg

now Nurburgring and Hockenheim take turns to host their grandprix every year.

Not to mention, Nurburgring track reminds me of someone legend too, can't recall :hmmmm:

a simple vibration issue dat led to catastrophic lost, its not so simple after all..

8km of non-stop action, a track where u can flat it out up-hill, whats there not to like about the green hell? i wud luv to drive there, at least once..

a simple vibration issue dat led to catastrophic lost, its not so simple after all..

8km of non-stop action, a track where u can flat it out up-hill, whats there not to like about the green hell? i wud luv to drive there, at least once..

it's even intoxicating to drive in Playstation, even :biggrin:

M3 GTR + nurburgring = :burnout:

why most manufacturers like to test their cars in Nurburgring?
any special on this track?
what make it so famous?

just always hear ppl saying nurburgring record bla bla bla.....

Nuburgring is one of the worlds most challenging tracks, narrow, bumpy, has all sorts of enviroments e.g off cambered turns, sudden drops etc. etc. Just watch a youtube video of someone driving fast around the nurburgring and see for yourself lah :biggrin:

because only nurbungring offer all sorts of car testing platform that u can name..

-long straight
-off-chamber corner
-uphill
-downhill
-highspeed turns
-low speed turns
-medium speed turns
-chichane
-road bumps
-smooths surface
-different tarmac roughness
-reliability of long WOT condition
-cold temp. condition
-hot temp. condition
-dry surface
-wet surface

so why go to many places to test different component while u can test it in one place?