AE111 No Top Speed!

Niemans1116

Good day all masters and sifus and AE111 owners,

Im interested to get an AE111 (A) 1995 running on stock 4-AFE engine which I saw from the Motor Trader mag, during drive test the car just won't go >120km/h. The gas pedal felt heavy. Other than this problem the car is ok, no accident, being repainted, electricals ok, handling ok, nice interior, c/w 15" sports rim, new tyres.

I'm telling myself, maybe AFTER servicing the car like changing the plugs, air-oil-petrol filters, engine lube and transmission oil it should be ok. My question is: Is this the correct assumption?
Or is it that there is a more deep underlying problems-which CANNOT be corrected via simple servicing as mentioned.

Please help, I like this car, I'm ready to pay 21K for it.

Should move this thread to the toyota side, then many owner will answer your question.
I figure its a A/T model..? u just need some tuning n all will be good, average highway speed can go 140kmh no problem.

140km/h is available at the step of the accelerator after u do full servicing, maybe change the ATF might help.. just maybe as i dont own an a/t car..

your car should be a big problem, mine's one 1997 ae111 ori 4AFE manual can reach 190km++ with 15" taiwan rim. maybe u should change your gear oil. use good gear oil, dun use lau si one.

As many sifus all suggested changing gear oil and use a good one there is, I'll get it done. By the way, any recommendation to a someone who knows AE111 well?

I was having a thought on transplating, but not enough budget..saw other thread here will sure need >8K to properly kowtim.

As many sifus all suggested changing gear oil and use a good one there is, I'll get it done. By the way, any recommendation to a someone who knows AE111 well?

I was having a thought on transplating, but not enough budget..saw other thread here will sure need >8K to properly kowtim.

to make it simple....do a proper maintenance jobs 1st....then only determine wats go wrong...

if basis maintenance oso didnt do well, how u expect d car to perform well?

if ur car is well maintainted, u easily detects if anything goes wrong

Try to check for error code...

Niemans1116 - would you like me to move your thread to Toyota section... ?

If the car evterior and interior plus price are very attractive to you. Can try buy it and send to your foreman or UMW to diagnose for you. This car is very good in fuel efficiency. If the cost is too hefty to repair then look for a 20V BT half cut and chuck it in. Now half cu Auto less than RM3k

Thank you Leslie. I've did some research today in here and in other auto magazines. Seems like there's NOT many performance after market parts for the AE111 :bawling: I've tried asking Speedworks if they have their famed Hot Bits 4-2-1 extractor and they said NO. K&N open pod filter.."bring your car in, we need to measure the adapter length.."

Looks like the only option for upgrade is still swapping the engine with either SVT or BT.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/niemans1116.htmlhttp://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/members/niemans1116.html

my toyota LE std 1.3 also can run 160kmh at klia hway..
imagine AE111, my suggestion, just ditch that car, go look for another 1...
there are many more realiable ones out there...just take yr time finding 1 that u are 100% satisfied..