Aluminium Radiator - Upgrading

Hmmm .... Got me puzzled ... Hard to tell since I may not be THE expert either, nor the condition and mods of your car. So far, have not encountered many overheating problems from mildly tuned/boosted gtr's ...

Btw, have you done a pressure test on your radiator to make sure if there were no leaks in the cooling system (simple, cheap - aka free)? Oil cooler is definately a good investment on RB's ... Upgrade oil pump after upgrading the radiator? Go for an oil cooler, if you think your oem oil pump is not sufficient, then go for the pump coz we all know Nismo, HKS, Jun or Tomei aren't cheap, and a real bitch to replace gtr pumps ... :listen:

By the way, I have tested the oil cooler between the intercooler and rad/a/c condensor works really well especially on stationary, compared to many would mount it on the right bumper openings for running forced air.

About the electric fan's ... There are many disputes about how good electrics are compared to the oem clutch types. I think so far, most of the electric type mods were done in cooler climates like the uk, and some in AU (without success). I would keep the clutch fan, and even engine gain from electric fans were very questionable.

Bigger intercooler core alwys best to get cool air to intake manifold but due to the design ...

Bigger core as in frontal area is good ... But don't get it wrong with core thickness. I have tested with triple row, Greddy 3" think vs Greddy 2" dual-core and oem ... and unless you have a huge T88, T51 or GT40, GT45's etc ... the response is going to sucks big time ... Somehow 34, on oem turbo's @1 bar, and oem cooler seemed to have instantaneous response ... :rolleyes:

Bigger is not always better ... :biggrin:

Yeap .... Especially kancil with gtr intercooler ... :driver:

Its depend what you refer to when it comes to "bigger" not always good...some cases the "bigger" it gets, the better it is....:love: :love: :love: Heee....heee...heee.....

Bump: Its depend what you referring to when it comes to "Big" not always good..in some cases the "BIGGER" it is, the better it become!! Hee hee hee hee.....:love: :love: :love:

eyong ...

sorry to get u confused mate, im only on a humble slow-paced of GTT not a heavenly thunderous god of GTR

well, i placed my oil cooler on the right side of the bumper and it has direct access to clean air as my bumper is designed in such a way that it looks more or less like a sperm whale wide bitchin mouth and as usual FMIC in front of the rad

no temp problem in stationery and such problem will appear when driving in excess of 200kmph

guess my main problem is the oem rad is not sufficient enuf to cope with level of nonsence that i have put to my engive ... hehehehe

JaHax, have you try to flush out your radiator and change out the coolant to a better grade one? :confused: :confused: :confused: I used to have the same problem as you, but after flush out the whole things and change a new coolant and now everything is fine now.

Bump: JaHax, have you try to flush out your radiator and change out the coolant to a better grade one? :confused: :confused: :confused: I used to have the same problem as you, but after flush out the whole things and change a new coolant and now everything is fine now.

I suspect its ur clutch fan gonna kong soon. That thing will so called 'locked' at certain temp and spins faster to reduce heat but when it lose out the internal fluid, it no longer spin faster. Happen to me already.

FYI: new clutch fan cost ard RM1.5K for new set.

I suspect its ur clutch fan gonna kong soon. That thing will so called 'locked' at certain temp and spins faster to reduce heat but when it lose out the internal fluid, it no longer spin faster. Happen to me already.

That fast bye bye alrady??!! Is it from the TT session that we woke up the whole town??!!! :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

JaHaX: Thanks, and sorry if I lost you ...

Correct me if I am wrong, but the fan clutch should work at max during low idle, and progressively release the clutch during higher rpms as from then, we would have sufficient airflow thru the rad and engine anyway. So no need to have the fan drag power from the engine.

Anyway, Nismo-S-Tune points out, it's good to do a flush of the cooling system. It could have some bubble within the system and cause an air lock. I have heard a certain Veilside R34-gtr had similar problem b4, but not sure how he solved it :rolleyes:

That fast bye bye alrady??!! Is it from the TT session that we woke up the whole town??!!! :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

No lah. Long time already! first week i got the skyline.

Eyong,
I might be wrong. Based on my observation, the fan speed is slow on idle but when the temp of engine bay is hot, the fluid in the clutch fan will react to it and and becum thicker to 'lock' the clutch. Thus the fan speed follows the engine speed.

This need an expert to explain. Any expert around?

No lah. Long time already! first week i got the skyline.

Eyong,
I might be wrong. Based on my observation, the fan speed is slow on idle but when the temp of engine bay is hot, the fluid in the clutch fan will react to it and and becum thicker to 'lock' the clutch. Thus the fan speed follows the engine speed.

This need an expert to explain. Any expert around?

I think you may be right ... :adore:

nismo s-tune rientel and eyong ...

been there and done that

i flushed the rad and then used top of the range MOTUL MoCool ... same ol problem
then i send the rad for servicing and then used MOTUL Inugel ... same ol same ol
then i changed the clutch fan ... a lil bit of improvement

well, as i said, guess the oem rad is not sufficient enuf to cope with amount of mods took place

Wow...you must have nuclear power plant under your hood!!! Sweet.....then you need a bigger and better radiator to carter for the massive heat produce from the power plant!! :smokin: :smokin: :smokin:

well, as i said, guess the oem rad is not sufficient enuf to cope with amount of mods took place

Well, that could be the cause and you have probably cause for excuse to mod more .... Time to upgrade to twin-core, aluminium radiator ... Woo Hoo ... at least the missy would understand since the car is "over-heating" :biggrin:

Go for it !!!! Dont think twice.....:bandit::bandit::bandit:

Bump: Go for it !!!! Dont think twice.....:bandit::bandit::bandit:

Yes bigger doesn't mean better but on my personal experience that will only applicable to china made radiators. My track junkie friends car overheat on the track with china radiator, then with the same set up but changed back to ori radiator, no problem at all for the next few track days. Now they are thinking of changing to to Jap brands radiators. Yes ARC is too pricey.

Well, anything from ARC is at least 3-kicks up the arse .... :listen:

Then again, what do you expect, to have Alice, Rachel and Cindy wor :listen: I totally love their air-BOX :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Alice, Rachel and Cindy's voice *chords sound nice ah?

Hmmm ... So far not tested that far back yet wor .... Backside, everyone only interest with Helen, Kim and Sue instead ... or better known as Hor, Kum, Sui or Hak, Kau, Sai ... :hmmmm::mad: