Proton 4G13/4G15....Satria/Wira/Saga

fred,
thats y i always tell ppl my car is stock-nia.... :thefinger:

biz-da-tech,
well.. getting a 1.5 engine kosong would be a better option... cheaper and faster... the only thing is u need to either register with JPJ or temper the block number...

but who cares if u are using 4G13/15 in ur engine bay?? who would check?? unless u are super unlucky la... hehe..

i always tell them but nobody belip nee maa :banghead:

Yes also la but now already on 4g13 also lazy to apply to jpj somemore already well maintain to the engine so little bit sayang go 4g15 ma :p scare get a suck engine have to spend over again :p some more here a lot 4g13 so felt I'm warm at here haha4g13 member

actually no nid to apply laa, cos me also use 1.5 block last time and has been thru road blocks and speed traps and they din even check the engine bay (cos they see its totally stock fm outside).. its not a big hassle actually :sleep:

Thinking to change the block too but see the price how big different. 1st I know no need to apply also can. But if change engine kosovg like khguan said I will feel pity my engine :x

khguan, sorry was too busy to take da nuts :banghead:

anyway, i play this engine till sien liow then upgrade to 9 series on my ex car and now due to family commitments and lotsa other commitments i downgrade back to this.

it has its good and bads, good is parts are cheaper and lotsa spare parts shops are selling, many mech's and foreman's knows how to build or repair this engine, very less maintenance (just change oil:thefinger:), this engine if properly mod can go against 1.6's and sometimes 1.8s :love:, its a simple and robust engine (well its the last of its kind fm mitsubishi)hahaha..

on question about modifications, everyone has its own stand and own perception on what to mod and what he wants to do on his/her ride/engine...

i started fm noob fm playing/messing around with webers till fuel injection, till i sometimes also fedap as to why i put so much money into it..but it all voice down to this word "PASSION"... yes "passion" for modification of engines...
the unker of his years and experience has spoken... haha...

skywalker,
well... u still need to eat, sleep n play ma.... come relax a bit lo...:driver:
eat n sleep also no time bai...:bawling:

when i am on g9s i always miss the low end of sohc's, they have better pick up and mid ends..

g9s has good top end, it can reach 200 easily but wat i miss will be low end.. in the process u will be trying very hard to get the low end that u want and that means spending more then u should be in getting it hahaha :bawling:

everybody wants to go DOHC (twin cam) but call me old fashion, i still likes SOHC more then twins hahaha..
muahaha... the wonders of SOHC... vr good low to mid torque... makes it vr good street car...

but when comes to top speed, DOHC wins lo...

Skywalksr u are in my msn but u never reply me!
sorry arr taikor... was away from desk... my msn alwiz online... lolz...

fred,
thats y i always tell ppl my car is stock-nia.... :thefinger:
stock wira + stock waja :thefinger:

today i swapped my 1.8 TB with a 1.6 TB on my car... due to some throtle jerkiness problems... but still using the original 1.5 IAC..

i think the TPS on the 1.8 TB faulty even if i tried to tune it.... and the 1.6 TB work so well... but the throttle response seems not as good as the 1.8 due to the smaller opening...

now i'm thinking to fit back the 1.8 TB.. but swap the TPS n see how... heheh... once this problem is settled... then its time to dyno!

today i swapped my 1.8 TB with a 1.6 TB on my car... due to some throtle jerkiness problems... but still using the original 1.5 IAC..

i think the TPS on the 1.8 TB faulty even if i tried to tune it.... and the 1.6 TB work so well... but the throttle response seems not as good as the 1.8 due to the smaller opening...

now i'm thinking to fit back the 1.8 TB.. but swap the TPS n see how... heheh... once this problem is settled... then its time to dyno!
sifoo i tot smaller bore throttle body allows better throttle response??..:hmmmm:

nope... if bigger bore, when the throttle plate opens... it opens bigger clearance and the air go in faster...

so if u are using bigger bore TB.. it is like u are stepping your original accelerator pedal faster or more... take for example... using stock TB... u press 10% throttle to accelerate... but on an oversized TB... u just press 5% for the same effect... so if u press the same amount of throttle with bigger TB... u get better response..

this is due to the rate of airflow is bigger with bigger throttle plate compared to the original TB.. this is very obvious and useful for engine with modded intake system like PnP and oversized pistons... the TB is very crucial to determine the VE (volumetric efficiency) of the engine, in my opinion.

sifoo i tot smaller bore throttle body allows better throttle response??..:hmmmm:

this is what i thot as well haha

nope... if bigger bore, when the throttle plate opens... it opens bigger clearance and the air go in faster...

so if u are using bigger bore TB.. it is like u are stepping your original accelerator pedal faster or more... take for example... using stock TB... u press 10% throttle to accelerate... but on an oversized TB... u just press 5% for the same effect... so if u press the same amount of throttle with bigger TB... u get better response..

this is due to the rate of airflow is bigger with bigger throttle plate compared to the original TB.. this is very obvious and useful for engine with modded intake system like PnP and oversized pistons... the TB is very crucial to determine the VE (volumetric efficiency) of the engine, in my opinion.

wat about the velocity though, smaller one has stronger velocity, but limited in top end due to smaller size

speaking from carb background la, smaller chokes / venturis will give better response, low-end power due to increased velocity achieved earlier (or sumthing like that) but limited top end, and vice-versa

shud be applicable for efi? no? efi noob here haha

well i guess carburettor and EFI TBs work very differently...

from my understanding... carbie TB takes in air and inject fuel together to create the air-fuel mixture for the engine to burn.... so if the velocity is faster the turbulence would be greater to mix the fuel with air and resulting better combustion. So this fact support your point n i really think so if the displacement of the engine is unchanged. But if u upgrade to oversized pistons, which resulting in bigger displacement... u might need a bigger TB for more air n fuel.

on the other hand... EFI TB is just control the amount of air into the engine which correlates to the rpm.... and the fuel injectors will inject fuel into each cylinder respectively... and the A/F ratio will be determine by the ECU by controlling the injector duty cycle based on a few parameters like the TPS, MAP/MAF, O2, IAT, Crank position etc etc.. all those readings. So what is the concern here is about the VE of the engine...

most of the time.. especially when the engine is running at higher rpm range... the VE will be lower... meaning that the air that goes into the cylinders are not the exact displacement of the engine.... let say we have an 1.5 engine... at 5000rpm.. maybe the VE is just 50%.. that means only 750cc of air is going in n out of the engine.... this is mainly caused by restrictions in the intake system and the design of the cylinder head.

So the intake system modification like high flow air filter, shorter rampipe, oversized TB, PnP headjob n oversized valves.. all that will contribute to better VE of the engine.

OK.. in short... higher VE = better engine response = more power :driver:

Just my 2 cents... pls correct me if i'm wrong.

Bump: and from my explaination above... that reminds me of a 4-throttle intake system in some engines like the famous Toyota 4AGE with 4-throttle.... that means with 4 TB.. one TB for each cylinder... when u press the acclerator pedal... the arm will open 4 of the TB throttle plates...

the main point here is to greatly improve the VE of the engine... thats why a 4-throttle engine is always sound scary among car enthusiasts... well i have not drove one b4.. but i have heard many ppl praising this setup...

khguan bro, how about wira 1.6 TB ? How many mm? My 4g13p can use wira 1.6 TB by changing the topset of the TB??
Previously my fren TB bottom IC melting liao can use his topset swap with my 1.3 TB??

I think stock 4g13p can pnp on mivec 1.6 tb n perdana sei :p

I still no luck looking on perdana tb :(

In penang I heard got someone did 4 throttle on myvi news that ultimate emanage can't setup still
The rest news I dunno d cuz that fella do it as silent I left herd is true gossip

1.5 - 46mm

1.6 - 50mm

1.8 - 54mm

MIVEC - 60mm

for 4G13/15 MMC can only use 1.6 n Perdana SEi TB plug n play.

for ppl driving GTi.. can upgrade to MIVEC TB plug n play..

but me.. i rojak the TBs and use the GTi 1.8 TB... but have some issues... but after looking at it for a while... i'm going to try out something... see whether it will solve the problem or not.

for a 4-throttle conversion.. usually the problem with most cars is the MAF sensor position... cos no more rampipe... unless u custom a intake plenum and a rampipe to filter.

this thread is getting interesting hehe..:nurse:

Bump: btw.. yesterday nite got some free time... did port n polish to my 1.8 TB... Do u know what is bling bling?? :nurse:

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/4861/4g93tbportnpolish.jpg

so, that mean that i can pnp with my fren 1.6 TB lor. correct me if i m wrong??

Okie, try my luck on it.

observe carefully what i actually do to my TB in my pic...

make sure u know what u are doing... b4 starting on the job...

for my TB.. i just smoothen the sharp edges and grind away the throttle plate a bit to make it knife edge....

Khguan got picture how to diy tb washing?

Can't find the link and the link I save gone. Thinking to wash today :p

Good job u port n polish ur tb. Wish I can understand to do.

Last time igive mech do. Almost one year my stock tb rosak. The kaki inside error change the gear but won't stand long enough spoil again :(

ur TB is MMC or SVDO??

if SVDO u can refer to drexchan's fotopic.

Bump: ur TB is MMC or SVDO??

if SVDO u can refer to drexchan's fotopic.

well u can still refer to drex's fotopic for the dismantling...

for the cleaning part.. i would recommend u to use the dry method... clean it with wiping with a cloth damped with a bit of solvent like petrol or thinner.

use cotton buds to clean the air holes too... especially the speed adjustment screw (SAS).. remove it usinga flat head screwdriver... and clean the hole thoroughly...

yes mind to link the derek link cuz i cant able to find it >.
thanks if u can show me the link~

khguan sifu . u diy all ur car stuff? or u usually do repair people car ?

Bump: yes mind to link the derek link cuz i cant able to find it >.
thanks if u can show me the link~

khguan sifu . u diy all ur car stuff? or u usually do repair people car ?