4A-GE 20v black top meter

dreamboy

Hello all sifu out there need your guys advice and help.....now i am going to swap in 20v blacktop into my corolla AE111, but i prefer used back the original meter due to the levin meter not fit to my dashboard. Any problem with the original 8000rpm meter for the 20v blacktop? will effect the engine performance or not? Or must used back the levin meter only? Any sifu done the modification on the meter pls give more advice, 9000rpm thanks to you guys he he he......:biggrin:

Update:
Below are AE111 auto meter pin out and Levin manual meter pin out. who once to used back thier stock meter for blacktop conversion may refer here. he he......

• Corolla AE111 Auto meter pin out.doc
    100 KB · Views: 460
you can diy draw the extension of the rpm count until 11k also no problem.....:biggrin::biggrin:

wah....ha...ha.....:biggrin:

Bump: just wonder the 8krpm meter will accurate or not if plug on black top?

Bump: just wonder the 8krpm meter will accurate or not if plug on black top?:hmmmm:

Bump: going to try tab the ori corolla rpm meter and the levin rpm meter together to see whether both meter rpm reading accurate or not.:hmmmm:

of course not accurate..even u use rsm and safc at the same time..the rpm reading not same at all

I going to try to measure the RPM signal output 1st, if i am not worng the the RPM operate within 0 - 5 Volt max. What i know from the innovate logwork software it measure the RPM by using 5volt / maximum RPM.

bro.. i suggest u prepare rm400 or something like that to get the fx meter lah.. hehe...
also same as original one mah.. but 180kmh only, if u wanna try can put in the 240kmh into the meter, coz i last time i check the wiring and the pin, fx same as the 240kmh one, juz may be need some minor mod only... last time i also have the same though to use back the original meter. but the mechanic did agree, coz afraid the reading might not be accurate..

if i not mistaken at the back of the levin meter there is one sensor control the speed accuracy. if u want to reuse ori ae101 meter no problem but must use this sensor. i am also did this modification so far no problem. i just did it 1 week ago. no budget to buy wagon/gt meter too expensive. so i did this modification. i used back levin plate wiring and fix to ae101 meter. must do that properly to avoid any burning.

Hi thanks, i have already measure both RMP meter reading and the reading is same. if not ram up till pass 8000rpm then the original meter should be ok. BTW i am using back my corolla original speedometer using cable type but not levin wire type. just swap the gear box speed sensor.

i'm using the stock 200km/h meter and so far no issues. stock bt rev cut is only 7800 and your 8000 rpm meter is okay to be used. plus, its a good feeling to be able to max out your rpm meter and speed meter. used to do it alot when working at putrajaya :P

I've used the stock meter without any issue too. Been fine with me. You'll be able to see speed cut too if you happened to drive up to 180km/h without any speed cut meter installed.

And surprisingly, it's more accurate than my current FX meter. The FX meter I'm using now, the speedo meter is not accurate. I've measured this using GPS as well as a speed cut meter. It always shows extra of 15-20km/h in speed. Does anyone face this issue with either Wagon or FX meter?

kennix,u absolutely right..
previously,my car use this meter with rsm as well.the FX meter(white base) reading definitely not accurate at all compare to rsm reading...another my friend which using FX meter face this problem too.
so i let go that meter and re-install an original stock meter back with 8k RPM ..no more problem..more accurate

Bro captain fast and kennix that mean you guys used the cable type Speedo meter too right? my meter is from Auto gear box one. You guys got the meter pin out connection data or picture? Mind to share? I have to draw the pin out wire one by one from Levin meter and then connect to my corolla stock 220km/h meter.:smokin: the speed cut is control by ECU right? The stock Speedo is drive by cable and the other 2 pin out wire is go to ECU izzit? its that both wire is for ECU reading the speed and perform speed cut??? :hmmmm:your guys input are much appreciate:adore:

Hi Dreamboy,

I wish I can offer my help but I did not fit the meter myself. I sent in to my mech to fit it. I guess it's not a big hassle to fit it so my mech didn't charge me for that fitment. Probably I'm a regular customer.

Taking the picture of the wiring and the socket will help? If so, I think I can do that for you. But I'm changing it back to Original Meter. FX meter give me false info regardless of RPM or Speed. RPM is still ok...only sometimes it go inaccurate. The speedo is the big problem.

Cheers.