[WTA]the recommended engine oil for 4age20v

enos 15W/30, hi force 15W/40, elf 15W/40 i had tried lot's semi-syn, but these was the oil that eliminate the VVti noise

Anyone use Blitz engine oil before ?

Tried Mobil1 (5w-50), United semi syn (10w-30) & now United fully syn (10w-40). So I feel that the best response is from the 10w-30. The rest feels "heavier", probably due to its thicker viscosity.

So far, in my experience, in all the fully syn lubes I've used, the oil dipstick level will drop over time but not with semis. I wonder why ??:confused:

At first I thought it's due the the fully syn oil is thinner but even the 10w-40 also same wor.. but the semi 10w-30 needs no topping up. Strange...:confused:

I used PowerZone oil 15w-40 semi-sync for my SVT. Eat less oil compare to 10w-40. Engine also more silent...

been used Q8 oil year,best response was f1 fully syn
next change gonna try mobil 1 fully syn

Tried Mobil1 (5w-50), United semi syn (10w-30) & now United fully syn (10w-40). So I feel that the best response is from the 10w-30. The rest feels "heavier", probably due to its thicker viscosity.

So far, in my experience, in all the fully syn lubes I've used, the oil dipstick level will drop over time but not with semis. I wonder why ??:confused:

At first I thought it's due the the fully syn oil is thinner but even the 10w-40 also same wor.. but the semi 10w-30 needs no topping up. Strange...:confused:

i think may be fully syn has more active properties, that why tend to evaporate...this is what i heard from some oil supplier.. coz according to him, fully synthetic usually has cleaning additive and high tbn ( total base number)-which means higher quality of ester, this allows longer drain mileage 10000km and above.. but also due to this active particles, the engine oil tend to evaporate, this can be solved by using engine oil additive ( x1-r or something like that... i m not so sure) which will prevent some evaporation... actually u can see a bit of white smoke coming out after stopping for some time, may be 2 days and above... that is the evaporated engine oil..

anyway this is what i know and heard... plz dun shoot if wrong.... hehe...

Castrol Edge is my preference... Idemitsu is smooth but needs topping up frquently...

Has anyone tried the new Castrol Edge Sport yet? How's it?

Is is true that the fully synthetic lub is recommended to use with a good oil filter (e.g.KNN claimed that it can last up to 10k KM).

My mech told me to change my oil filter every 10k km; using original Toyota filter. So every 2 oil change, 1 oil filter change.

I've tried everything from fullysyn, semisyn and mineral. So far performance is better with fullsyn but 20V eats fullysyn oil too fast. Semisyn is also good, but mineral oil is the best if you wanna reduce engine oil consumption. So now using cheapo Elf 20W/50 mineral (RM35) and almost 1 month no noticeable oil consumption. Nevertheless, its quite irritating to check for engine oil for every 3-4 days in a week... perhaps special engine (more valves) requires special care taking I guess... LOL

In my case, not sure frequent lar. I noticed the oil level only starts to drop after 3k kms when using fully syn.

My ride...20V SVT, had it overhaul b4 transplant, halfcut had clocked bout 80k mileage....
From day 1 with me, been using fully synthetic Toyota 5w-40 (4 litre black bottle gold cap or 1 litre gold bottle) , never had incidence of need to top up or the engine oil evaporate or less....
Oil change every 7000km, change ori toyota oil filter everytime change engine oil.....
Had tried Mobil 1 full syn oso, gold cap one, think should be 5w-40 as well....compare both the same....but Toyota slightly cheaper....
My 20V ride had been with me for 5 years liao....almost every alternate month go down to JB trip...5 days clocked more than 1000km...
So far so good for me....
Toyota all the way....

wah ryuichi ,very light lubricant 5w/40 u using..

well..that's even what my mech said...but had been using that for 5 years, think because i had it overhaul b4 transplant.....
tho...the so call 'tappet' sound kinda loud this days...
maybe will have to do port n polish again, then sound less but after a year then it come back again...:banghead: