Need Advise about evo3 engine mod...

there goes my banana,wastegate n turbine...now masuk stock manifold with evo 2 turbine...new intercooler...standard bov too...:P
Just my 2 cents opinion...look at it u r 'downgrading' ur track car set up...

Evo3 engine mods for track use..

1.Banana + 20G + w/gate - fine no need to change...but boost higher 1.5Bar..to boost higher u have ensure that AF ratio matched all the way and metal gasket 1.5mm nice...mayb need to upgrade injector at least 700cc + Fuel pump. if got budget go for steel braided hose for fuel line + aftermarket rail...put fuel surge tank + 2X bosch 044 pump better for 500hp...if low than 400hp no need...

2.Look into cooling system..upgrade oil cooler kit (the best use 2 of them) ...Aluminium rad..realiable one (upgrade fan if necc)...bigger intercooler...oil catch tank...

3.Brake system + Suspension set up..

4.Racing cam is an advantage if got budget...

its a wise choice to change to stock manifold back, stainless steel banana's are crap at reliability, saw any rally cars use banana ? lol

Yes, agree with u...rally cars never use banana...BUT track car always use banana...since the owner ask about track car.... anyway it is just 2 cents opinion...:biggrin:

a track car for fun will have a banana, or drag race can have banana
no way its recommended to use a banana for a true track car to run around more than 30 laps on it , for E3 engine, turbular manifolds has been a hasle for most of the users around the world

td05 flanged performance manifold, of cos HAFE and FP
Picture287.jpg

want a t3 flanged manifold ?
option 1 ERL stainless steel CAST
http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/attachments/turbo-system-tech/81890d1207146761-new-build-fp-t4z-hta88-erl2.jpg

2nd option
Turbonetics CAST Iron
http://www.spooledmotorsports.com/images/Turbonetics%20Exhaust%20Manifold%20-%2093-99%20Toyota%20Land%20Cruiser.jpg

if got lot of cash and a big turbo, of cos it would be HKS T4 manifold or On green replica

http://www.ongreenperformance.com/Pics/Products/Specalty/T4%20Underside%20Copy.jpg

oh...nice manifold there...

tires now on bridgestone re001 nippon made 205/40/17 on nismo gt2...
abs stock evo with sport spring...
brake is standard evo with ebc green front n black rear...

im changing clutch...my mechanic ask me what brand i want to use...triniti 3 kaki or 6 kaki?..

whats the best suspension for track?..hks hyper d?..tein?..

best engine oil for track?..im using shell semi 15-50...

im more into track then drag...dunno why...

i would leave the engine stock first. better spend money on good set of absorbers, brake system n decent tyres.

whats ur last lap time? ur lap time can indicate if there's anything right or wrong with the car/setup/driver hehe
there is something wrong with the car,setup n driver too...beginner maaa...

i used exedy 3 puck semi race. never had any problems before. last time tagged along transit trackday, longest i ran was 15laps without any stop - it was dark n i couldnt find the pit entrance hehe. did not slip at all even after 15th lap.

leave ur engine in current specs n upgrade ur suspension to adjustables. make full use of the stock engine. make sure engine is the last thing u mod (to increase horsepower that is, if it is to increase reliability then go ahead). the paramount thing is the brakes, then suspension.

after a few trackdays, ur front rotors will warp (weakness of twinpot rotor in trackday cars) so u will be looking at some aftermarket options. i used project mju rotors to replace the dying stock rotors. by far the best ever braking upgrade i did to my car. after rotor upgrade, made me much much more confident in my car (both on the street n in track). u can use dixcel rotors also. greenstuff pads resulted in some good, some bad experiences. if u think its ok, then stick with it. i did not have good experience with greenstuff.

the best suspension for track is something u can set according to ur comfort level to the car (how the car reacts) in the track. not some chop shop absorbers that is too hard making the car hard to control (too hard at the front - understeer, too hard at the back - easy to spin). i sat in many cars running chop shop absorbers, even at the softest setting, its too hard n bouncy melantun2. ur driving down to sepang from north, before u reach sepang, all ur breakfast will be gone at roadside when u vomit cos suspension too hard hehe... try to get something that is a compromise - between daily driving on SUPERB n EXCELLENT malaysian road, n circuit driving. i found my best setup with the help of titan. not too bad on the road, not too bad in circuit.

yeah...my next mod is project miu rotor...is there any more performance pad for evo twin pot?..other than ebc?..

i had sat on wira with hks hyper d...and its too damn hard...now my car suspension setup is nice for daily drive...my cousin use hotbits...quite nice...not too hard...not too soft...any other brand?..brand new tein that had been setup for Malaysian road?..

yeah...my next mod is project miu rotor...is there any more performance pad for evo twin pot?..other than ebc?..

i had sat on wira with hks hyper d...and its too damn hard...now my car suspension setup is nice for daily drive...my cousin use hotbits...quite nice...not too hard...not too soft...any other brand?..brand new tein that had been setup for Malaysian road?..

me ,khoyos,cipan,serenum were using Titan's absorber , they were superb on the tracks :D
of cos got better brakepads, u got endless and also project miu pads

mine not so superb cos always kena tapau by jinkl, always eat his smoke only. or maybe cannot blame the suspension. must blame the driver kekeke:slug:

a track car for fun will have a banana, or drag race can have banana
no way its recommended to use a banana for a true track car to run around more than 30 laps on it , for E3 engine, turbular manifolds has been a hasle for most of the users around the world

td05 flanged performance manifold, of cos HAFE and FP
Picture287.jpg

want a t3 flanged manifold ?
option 1 ERL stainless steel CAST
http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/attachments/turbo-system-tech/81890d1207146761-new-build-fp-t4z-hta88-erl2.jpg

2nd option
Turbonetics CAST Iron
http://www.spooledmotorsports.com/images/Turbonetics%20Exhaust%20Manifold%20-%2093-99%20Toyota%20Land%20Cruiser.jpg

if got lot of cash and a big turbo, of cos it would be HKS T4 manifold or On green replica

http://www.ongreenperformance.com/Pics/Products/Specalty/T4%20Underside%20Copy.jpg

Just wondering...why??? :hmmmm: HKS CT230R , Cyber Evo ,GT300/500, GARAGE-R , ST-POWER use banana for their track car....maybe track car for fun hehehe:biggrin: maybe 'mat salleh' tuner prefer cast iron manifold but the japanese prefer banana...different tuner different idea..hehehe btw just my opinion...:idea:

thts for your current evo's, for the older generations , whts left for us even by HKS is the cast iron , whts used by our custom welders & china made manifolds for the CD9A are not same as the CN series and above which is produced by Tomei & etc , and there are diffrences between wht we use and wht they use in GT300/500 , Nickel content & carbon content are not the same, welding material n concept isnt the same :) , checkup on stainless steel grades... 301 , 302 , 303 , 304 , etc

even if we use stainless steel , we use it for months to years , track cars :) , i wont be suprised they change it at every race event , of cos stainless steel has its advantage which is equal length runners & easier fabrication , easier to design and extract more power but durability isnt on par with the casts

some hardcore users use SS 321 material, just compare the material price with SS 301 and 304 which is commonly used :D

what about ur car bro, running banana?

Bump: anyway, i dont see the point of arguing which manifold material/design to use. that is secondary in trackdays. the main purpose is to learn about car control at the limit, in a safe environment while having the most fun. who gives a shit about what manifold ur going to use.

i would concentrate on suspension n braking first...

Bump: anyway, i dont see the point of arguing which manifold material/design to use. that is secondary in trackdays. the main purpose is to learn about car control at the limit, in a safe environment while having the most fun. who gives a shit about what manifold ur going to use.

what about ur car bro, running banana?

Yes...i'm using banana...and i personally measured the different b4/after change it on high speed..not looking for argument...just to share knowledge and get others opinion...thanks for the nice word..

thts for your current evo's, for the older generations , whts left for us even by HKS is the cast iron , whts used by our custom welders & china made manifolds for the CD9A are not same as the CN series and above which is produced by Tomei & etc , and there are diffrences between wht we use and wht they use in GT300/500 , Nickel content & carbon content are not the same, welding material n concept isnt the same :) , checkup on stainless steel grades... 301 , 302 , 303 , 304 , etc

even if we use stainless steel , we use it for months to years , track cars :) , i wont be suprised they change it at every race event , of cos stainless steel has its advantage which is equal length runners & easier fabrication , easier to design and extract more power but durability isnt on par with the casts

some hardcore users use SS 321 material, just compare the material price with SS 301 and 304 which is commonly used :D
Thanks jinkl for your information... really useful.:biggrin:

my car siap oledi...wanna take it tonight...my friend said ksp@ ss racing selling cast iron banana for evo 1-3...hmm...wanna take a look...

guys...just wanna know.since we talk2 about E3 also...anybody know how many sec do standard evo3 on 1/4 mile?im considering on buying e3 halfcut..just afraid im making mistake...im taking the 4wd system also....so with 260hp...stock and using 4wd system....my target hp is 320hp....with stock turbine....how can i gain that kind of hp if the setup liike this?:

boost to 1.2bar.
exaust paipping 3" straight paipping
high cam 272
adj cam pulley
others stock....
can state some mode also...hehehe

need opinion guys...thanks

dont forget supporting mods like fuel regulator, aftermarket fuel pump, metal head gasket etc

i face something weird...when i left my car idling for around 5-10 minutes...there will be white smoke when i step on the throttle...but no smoke when driving...hard driving also no smoke...rev till 7k rpm also no smoke...is it my turbo?..

This problem happened to me last time.I just changed my valve seal and the problem gone.