Help! 4AFE need to top up engine oil :(

mamatAE111

After 358 000 miles my SEG finally starts consuming engine oil.
I need to top up 1 liter every month, for the past 2 months.
There's no white smoke coming out from the exhaust yet.
Engine oil hilang usually means that the piston rings needs to be replaced right?
Any other things I need to worry besides the piston rings?
Any suggestion appreciated.

Thank you

tat's one helluva mileage you get before 'engine oil hilang'. i got a sentra tat hilang oil recently at 160,000. toyota rocks!! time for overhaul for your SEG. not only the piston rings worn, but those oil seals must've worn out too. 4AFE overhaul should be very simple, IMHO less than rm2k can do the work.

btw, you sure it's 358,000 MILES?? ...

normally 4A-FE can running more than 300,000km with normal maintain.
maybe time to change 20V SVT / BT....or overhaul ....
second choice is just the 4A-FE engine lantai....cheaper way..
the engine lantai can use around 150,000km if good condition or less milage

correct me if i wrong information.

not like me every one liter per 2 weeks on a 20V bt
no money to overhaul.... now saving money hehehe.....

is there any leaking at the engine bottom? maybe gasket near the gearbox there worn out leh..
or maybe its time to change to a 20v jor lo..... hohohoho

btw, toyota engine can last ages... my 4A-FE is running 300k+ km and still going strong.. hehe...

by the way it's now white smoke you're lookin for, it's black/grey!
i've ask mechs and they said it may cause from valve seals or piston rings if there is no leaking at your engine bay.

So many people say should convert.. .Convert to 20v no money lah. Minimum need 5 to 6 k nowadays :(
SOri my mileage not 358k it is now 366k kilometers :)
My oil pan bottom seem to be wet with oil. But not leaking on the driveway. Some people say it is leaking when engine running only, due to pressure. Is this plausible ah?

yes,
could u check where it is leaking from?
if it only at your oil pan, that means you only hv to change your oil pan's gasket.

hmmmm... my my 95 4AFE just recently crossed the 300k mark...
everything seem normal for now... but i do feel that the fuel consumption is on the rise...

yea...toyota engine really damn tahan 1...the very old k-series engine too ...haha...

hmmmm... my my 95 4AFE just recently crossed the 300k mark...
everything seem normal for now... but i do feel that the fuel consumption is on the rise...

how much for full tank ? use how many km ?
ur car auto / manual ?
how about 4A-GE ?

My 4AFE before 300K FC usually 12-13km/l.
But now, after the 360k FC drop to 10 km/l

Budget now just for overhaul, no blacktop for me :(

i think for high reverse engine will eat a bit engine oil la ......

either 4AGE nor VTEC ......oso will face this problem .....juz see serious or not only ...

juz my 2 cent la ....hehe :biggrin:

if no budget...you can overhaul back the engine...it will give you another 300K ++ km... :itsme:

else...

swap with 20V...up to you...

it's time to give the engine a favor back...been on service quite well already...you should be proud of it...

Toyota rules !!!

Get The Feeling...not "dreaming" it...hahahaha...:rofl: :rofl: :wavey:

if me, i will overhaul the engine only....
if change BT or SVT, u dunno what problem will be come after change .
then the FC also will be increase......
if FC is no a problem..just change lar...

i'd bought a set of original Top Overhaul set last year, but till now still lack of $$ to do the job.. and its sitting in cabinet silently.. lolz..

I have to agree that this standard engine rocks! In the past six years of ownership it only made me come in late to work only once..caused by a burst radiator top cap. I think I will overhaul the engine, partly to thank it for years of good service,and also cause my budget doesn't allow me to do 4AGE convert la.... :)I need to take pictures of the car, and post it here .... be proud to be standard.. hahaha