BREAKING NEWS: Petrol will be RM2.70 a litre at midnight tonight

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused
All I can say is, FTG (fark the G). There is no transparency in msia. Corruption is an age old tradition and culture in msia. A large group of perfectly abled m people prefers to rob, steal, rape, perform crimes, etc. to live their lives rather than work and contribute positively whatever they can to the country, people with authority are totally 100% filled with greed, and finally... the country rulers don't give a pig shit about msian citizens.

What I think is, the government is a lousy planner. Why they always announce price hike on last minute? you tell me...Why can't they inform the citizen earlier? They want to see how much chaos they can create?

They tell the citizen to adjust their lifestyle. Is everyone living at a wasteful habit? What if those people that are already living at the most efficient ways? Tell them to eat less? shower less? walk to work more instead of taking public transport as you need to pay bus fare. Although a lot of people drive cars but I don't blame them. If want to blame also blame the lousy public transport. Just look at our KTM...how many times already there's a delay?

All I can see is the G is the one that is wasting money. After the price hike, they still want to send astronaut to the space, for what? eat canai? What's so grand about going to space? did the citizen gain any benefits from the space program, did the country gain any advancement in technology after the space program....NO...the space program all I can see is like a circus show to fool those small kids that's all. Sending a 2nd up.....rubbish...how about the huge amount of money wasted on the ink case before election?...etc..etc...

The G always say here money not enough...there money not enough...but do they show the citizen the figure of what is not enough? The G will not care much about the things that they don't use or take. Needless to say, they only care about their own sake and the sake of their cronies...

if announce earlier, then everyone will bring buckets to fill up, rich people sure will 1 shot buy ton by ton. The fuel will be on shortage. The subsidies will be increase over night. Then someone will come out and sell black market fuel at something like 10-20% more than international market price (I don't think you will ride bicycle).

The gov is wasting money. Because money need to be used else lost its value. Means that money only can be regenerated by using it. At the same time, it need to throw money out to rare the white elephants, else plenty of people will be jobless and create more social problem.

Some money spent on something that sounds stupid, like buying ink or etc, maybe contain some agenda behind it. Just like you bosses spend RM2-5k a night in night club to drink with someone, or applying a golf club membership for RM28k. Someone wear smart, spray EDT then go drink in a kopitiam because the boss's daughter is sibeh beautiful, is also with the same theory. Sometimes, not everything can let everyone know.

When you talk about inflation, you have to know that, besides the cost, market demand is also a very important element. the fuel price raise is just an excuse for the businessmen to test if can earn more money. Because after they raise, if business drop, they can give freebies or discount to gain back the customer. If the price raise but the market demand maintain, then they will be happy because can earn more. If the price raise but the sales also raise, then they will be sad because they will regret for putting the price tag too low.

if announce earlier, then everyone will bring buckets to fill up, rich people sure will 1 shot buy ton by ton.
FYI,fuel selling using other container is not allow, instruction by Gov long time ago, you didn't know?

The fuel will be on shortage.
Which I agree.

The subsidies will be increase over night. Then someone will come out and sell black market fuel at something like 10-20% more than international market price (I don't think you will ride bicycle).

The gov is wasting money. Because money need to be used else lost its value. Means that money only can be regenerated by using it. At the same time, it need to throw money out to rare the white elephants, else plenty of people will be jobless and create more social problem.
What kind of economic theory is this? So, you also know that Gov is wasting your tax money and you agree with the wastage?

If that is unavoidable, and you were saying Gov need to throw the money and keep the market running, which means they know that the Country is not well manage. AND Pls ask them to put it in my account, I can do better investment than they do.

Some money spent on something that sounds stupid, like buying ink or etc, maybe contain some agenda behind it.
Dude, I dunno what kind of mindset you have, but very obvious that you agree to allow Gov to spend big time without any control and audit. (Who spend RM3K for a car lift up jack 2 years ago?). What kind of hidden agenda? Gov was selected by People, they are using our money, we have 100% rights to know if those are well spend. If 1 day you son request RM 30 mil and tell you, "Dad, You no need to know where or how I spend it, and it's non-of your business, I just need the money, and dun try to setup funny panel to audit my account" You accept that as well?

Just like you bosses spend RM2-5k a night in night club to drink with someone, or applying a golf club membership for RM28k. Someone wear smart, spray EDT then go drink in a kopitiam because the boss's daughter is sibeh beautiful, is also with the same theory.
Ppl did that because they want to beg for business, when my boss spend RM8K in D' Boss, he is looking at RM8 mil business in return. In Government, I don't see a reason why they want to buy expensive ink (and not using it?) to get more deal?.

PS: Dun understand the boss daughter part that you are talking about.

Sometimes, not everything can let everyone know.

When you talk about inflation, you have to know that, besides the cost, market demand is also a very important element. the fuel price raise is just an excuse for the businessmen to test if can earn more money. Because after they raise, if business drop, they can give freebies or discount to gain back the customer. If the price raise but the market demand maintain, then they will be happy because can earn more. If the price raise but the sales also raise, then they will be sad because they will regret for putting the price tag too low.
Sorry, I never see any price goes down after it has been increase in the past at the private sector.

I know there are Gov ppl thinks in that way, but I never know you all are so shameless to point it down here as if those things are right or "That's should be the way".

Well, after all wat i can say is, our GOV is bad in handling n planning.

We have god gifted source, a very good source that will let our ppl stay in peace for over years. But every one know its NOT endless. Hence, our GOV should know better then us. They must have good planning for ppl.

1 very good example.
LPG is from petroleum, its a waste, sumtimes u can see its burning in petrol field. So, its consider FREE or side income.
Since then, why gov never encourage ppl using LPG and make LPG station nation wide, GOV can giv 1 time subsidy to each car who install LPG system. In long term calculation, infact under 1year, GOV has saved the subsidy for that particular car.

LPG install 3k, (Gov can giv up to 1k subsidy since they can pay 625 per year per car). remember its onli 1 times install, there after they r using LPG and not Petrol anymore.

They should make this happen long time ago. Why? coz LPG for us is free, we can fully utilize our god gifted source. Make profit yet benefiting our ppl.

Out of sudden PM announce Petrol increase, there is not preparation for most of the ppl out there. And there is no alternative for us to choose. At least GOV can slowly reduce the subsidy from months to months, and give us some alternative from time to time. This would b win win situation.

Well, after all wat i can say is, our GOV is bad in handling n planning.

We have god gifted source, a very good source that will let our ppl stay in peace for over years. But every one know its NOT endless. Hence, our GOV should know better then us. They must have good planning for ppl.

1 very good example.
LPG is from petroleum, its a waste, sumtimes u can see its burning in petrol field. So, its consider FREE or side income.
Since then, why gov never encourage ppl using LPG and make LPG station nation wide, GOV can giv 1 time subsidy to each car who install LPG system. In long term calculation, infact under 1year, GOV has saved the subsidy for that particular car.

LPG install 3k, (Gov can giv up to 1k subsidy since they can pay 625 per year per car). remember its onli 1 times install, there after they r using LPG and not Petrol anymore.

They should make this happen long time ago. Why? coz LPG for us is free, we can fully utilize our god gifted source. Make profit yet benefiting our ppl.

Out of sudden PM announce Petrol increase, there is not preparation for most of the ppl out there. And there is no alternative for us to choose. At least GOV can slowly reduce the subsidy from months to months, and give us some alternative from time to time. This would b win win situation.
i have the same thought. Agree with your point fully.

Gov should have force Petronas to setup more NGV refuel station, the market and demand are there, 2 things stop me to install that is

1. I do not want to queue with taxi uncle for the refuel and
2. there is no NGV station near by my house.

i'm of the opinion that fuel prices and price of cars in malaysia go hand in hand.... if we're expected to pay 'REAL' world prices for fuel.. then shouldn't we be also paying real prices for cars?? as of now we're still paying at least 40000 (import duties, excise duties, sales tax) for foreign cars. i dont mind paying that amount knowing that my fuel is being subsidised. HOWEVER, with the freaking increase in fuel and we're still expected to pay the duties and taxes, to me its just bullocks... and please dont give the farking excuse that we're still among the lowest fuel prices in the SEA region.. that argument is no longer valid given the farking high taxes and duties we still have to pay for foreign cars.. heck even our local cars are priced higher than our export models.. wtf???!!!! does the G still take use for blinded aholes??

even protest cant do much in getting G to revise the fuel price...coz, we as the protester must apply permit to protest...which i doubt police will approve it at the 1st place.

that's why paklah dare to say that Rakyat has agreed on the new fuel price as no one protest!!

Dem u paklah!! bangunlah, tengok apa berlaku kat ipoh gathering!!! jgn cakap masa nak tidur....bikin panas saja (i reali wish i can say that to him)....

Other countries: No subsidy, no or low import tax or duty

Our country: No subsidy, high import tax + duty

BUT just imagine , IF malaysia abolished the import tax+duties ..........

First to die is .......... PROTON.

Sorry for being pouring in cold water, but is anybody bored of this petrol price hike discussion yet? hahaha Just curious. hehe

last week been to KL for 2 days from ipoh... petrol need to use near RM200 (travel, shoping)... not sure when petrol up to RM4 i will go there again....

Check this out. From The Star online.

Tuesday June 10, 2008
10% cut in allowance not good enough, say NGOs

PETALING JAYA: Just slashing 10% of the ministers' entertainment allowance and cutting down on their paid holidays is not enough.

Non-governmental organisations (NGOs) said the Government needed to do more to save money.

“Wherever the Government can save, they have to save,†said National Consumer Complaints Centre director Darshan Singh.

He said the Government, which had always advised the people to be prudent and to change their lifestyle in view of rising inflation rates, should “lead by exampleâ€.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi yesterday announced a 10% slash in ministers' entertainment allowance and limiting their paid holidays to Asean and local destinations, as part of measures to save the Government RM2bil.

Consumers Association of Penang (CAP) president S.M. Mohamed Idris said while the Government’s move was a good start, more could be done.

Mohamed Idris said he hoped the money saved would be used to help the lower income groups.

“We strongly feel that the money should go towards upgrading public transportation and building low-cost housing,†he said.

He added that house prices would go up with the recent petrol price hike because the cost of building materials would also increase.

Malaysian Youth Council secretary-general Tajudin Ahmad lauded the Government’s move and said the more important issue was how the savings would be channelled to the people.

“The money could be channelled to public transportation as fuel is expensive now.

“The Government should also build more Liquefied Natural Gas (LPG) pumps as we are a major producer, and all Government cars should be converted to run on LPG,†he said.

What in stupid pig shit is "paid holidays"? They should be paying for their own fucking holidays, no?
And who exactly are considered as the "lower income group"? RM1k/month? RM2k/month? Fuck, even RM3k/month is also considered as lower income group already because of the wah-so-fucking-good govt. If you want to get married and have kids with a RM3k salary, you might as well just be single, look for 1 night stands, fuck and be merry and die old alone with the record of having the world's most 1 night stands.

Other countries: No subsidy, no or low import tax or duty

Our country: No subsidy, high import tax + duty

BUT just imagine , IF malaysia abolished the import tax+duties ..........

First to die is .......... PROTON.

After Proton die, sub con die, then something else die. At last, the workers and their family die.

A stupid 1.5L car sell at RM80k+ also sell like hot cakes, sorry, don't blame the tax. And can afford the RM80k+ car, don't complaint the fuel price hike. A used 1989 Proton Saga also a car. If economy that jialat, why not using it? Still a car with roof and 4 wheels. Got aircond some more.

i'm of the opinion that fuel prices and price of cars in malaysia go hand in hand.... if we're expected to pay 'REAL' world prices for fuel.. then shouldn't we be also paying real prices for cars?? as of now we're still paying at least 40000 (import duties, excise duties, sales tax) for foreign cars. i dont mind paying that amount knowing that my fuel is being subsidised. HOWEVER, with the freaking increase in fuel and we're still expected to pay the duties and taxes, to me its just bullocks... and please dont give the farking excuse that we're still among the lowest fuel prices in the SEA region.. that argument is no longer valid given the farking high taxes and duties we still have to pay for foreign cars.. heck even our local cars are priced higher than our export models.. wtf???!!!! does the G still take use for blinded aholes??

I agree with you for letting the fuel free float and let the car import tax abolished. But the car tax drop had been object by the peoples last time. Because people said their car will not have second hand value anymore, still pay the bank with a car price that few times higher than market and the used car sellers said they will bankrupt. I used to defense that and said if we don't do it at that time, when a cheaper car price will be achieved. but end up with banging by people like now.

FYI,fuel selling using other container is not allow, instruction by Gov long time ago, you didn't know?

Which I agree.

What kind of economic theory is this? So, you also know that Gov is wasting your tax money and you agree with the wastage?

If that is unavoidable, and you were saying Gov need to throw the money and keep the market running, which means they know that the Country is not well manage. AND Pls ask them to put it in my account, I can do better investment than they do.

Dude, I dunno what kind of mindset you have, but very obvious that you agree to allow Gov to spend big time without any control and audit. (Who spend RM3K for a car lift up jack 2 years ago?). What kind of hidden agenda? Gov was selected by People, they are using our money, we have 100% rights to know if those are well spend. If 1 day you son request RM 30 mil and tell you, "Dad, You no need to know where or how I spend it, and it's non-of your business, I just need the money, and dun try to setup funny panel to audit my account" You accept that as well?

Ppl did that because they want to beg for business, when my boss spend RM8K in D' Boss, he is looking at RM8 mil business in return. In Government, I don't see a reason why they want to buy expensive ink (and not using it?) to get more deal?.

PS: Dun understand the boss daughter part that you are talking about.

Sorry, I never see any price goes down after it has been increase in the past at the private sector.

I know there are Gov ppl thinks in that way, but I never know you all are so shameless to point it down here as if those things are right or "That's should be the way".

That last night before RM2.7, I saw an aunty bought fuel from petrol kiosk with a small drum. At the same time, try to go and try yourselves, be it a small lorry with plenty of empty drums. No one will stop you.

On the gov expenses, I don't need to explain anything further, you can see some people already said in the newspaper that their business is shrinking when gov cut expenses. I know this is not a healthy economy exercise, but can the gov let them die just like that? if you are their employee, I wonder what you will say.

1 thing very obvious, is that, the gov policy vs the gov servants corruptions. The SRJK(C) RM30k become RM3k thing, I still remember. The gov issue big money for them to improve, but they 'pakat' and cheat the money. So, if you wanna point, you need to point at the right person.

You also understand the purpose of entertaining. You think what target will the ministers choose to entertain. Ah chong workshop or ali restraurant?

I'm not shame on what I wrote. Because all based on what ever already happen (or better to say they are rooted). Reformation takes time. People wanna see immediate results and that's why the gov use more aggressive way to do it. When people chiak beh liao, they keep on bitching again, the gov no good. The one should be shame, is those who refuse to let go the tongkat of fuel subsidies. Die die also want cheap fuel, free is the best. Future economy? restructure later also can. The most shame people is, can spend RM5-6k for add BOT, Rm1-2k for bodykit, RM100-200 for mushroom, RM500-800 for exhausty, but when fuel price hike, complaint kaw kaw. Use the next gen future to subsidize their greedy urges.

No money don't go eat KFC. Fry by yourselves also a fry chicken. No money to eat McD, can bread with kaya. If unable to do so, you know what's wrong already.

If our fucking G and previous fucking hole-ly old man is so dam good like you said, why is the previous fukcing old man threatening Judges in passing judgement?

On a lighter tone, here's some tips to being just that bit more fuel economic. Please note that this article is forwarded to me by other people and the article is written by someone who works in an oil company for 31 years. In all case, just take it as reading material. You want to flame this article or anything, please don't waste time and page space doing it here. Look in the mirror and do it. Peace.

=====================

I don't know what you guys are paying for petrol... but here in Durban, we are also paying higher, up to 47.35 per litre. But my line of work is in petroleum for about 31 years now, so here are some tricks to get more of your money's worth for every litre.

Here at the Marian Hill Pipeline, where I work in Durban, we deliver about 4 million litres in a 24-hour period thru the pipeline. One day is diesel; the next day is jet fuel, and petrol, LRP and Unleaded. We have 34-storage tanks here with a total capacity of 16,800,000 litres.

ONLY BUY OR FILL UP YOUR CAR OR BIKKIE IN THE EARLY MORNING WHEN THE GROUND TEMPERATURE IS STILL COLD. Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground, the denser the fuel, when it gets warmer petrol expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening.... your litre is not exactly a litre.

In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the petrol, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products play an important role. A 1degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

WHEN YOU'RE FILLING UP, DO NOT SQUEEZE THE TRIGGER OF THE NOZZLE TO A FAST MODE. If you look, you will see that the trigger has three (3) stages: low, middle, and high. In slow mode, you should be pumping on low speed, thereby minimizing the vapours that are created, while you are pumping. All hoses at the pump have a vapour return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that goes to your tank becomes vapour. Those vapours are being sucked up and back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for your money.

ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT TIPS IS TO FILL UP WHEN YOUR TANK IS HALF FULL. The reason for this is, the more fuel you have in your tank, the less air occupying its empty space. Petrol evaporates faster than you can imagine. Petroleum storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the petrol and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations, here where I work, every truck that we load is temperature compensated, so that every litre is actually the exact amount.

ANOTHER REMINDER, IF THERE IS A FUEL TRUCK PUMPING INTO THE STORAGE TANKS, WHEN YOU STOP TO BUY, DO NOT FILL UP - most likely the petrol/diesel is being stirred up as the fuel is being delivered, and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.
Hope, this will help you get the maximum value for your money.

DO SHARE THESE TIPS WITH OTHERS! LET’S SHARE INFORMATION AND BENEFIT ALL, FOR THE BETTER OF MANKIND.