Light weight sport rim, will make a different in daily use?

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused
I expect u reply me with great words........ BUT this.

That explains hollow barrels makes the most noise

No doubt big rims, wide tyres equals to good highspeed grip and good emergency stopping.

The thing u have to come with is BIGGER rotors n calipers, better brake pads and better brake servo.

The question is, DO U NEED 17" for your car ? No, unless factory OEM stated into your manuals. I would say some ppl sacrifies EVERYTHING just for good looking of thier cars, that I have nothing to comment.

One more thing, bigger rims, heavier rims means using your stock braking system is PUTTING YOURSELF INTO DANGER. The stock systems are NOT meant to stop 17" in time, its very risky if u were driving in the rain suddenly u need to jam brake, your small OEM rotor will NOT have enough braking effiency. Its either u cant brake in time, or u LOCK ur front tyres resulting skids.

Imaging putting lorry tyres into your car, ridiculous isnt?

very clear indeed when saw those Myvi with 17" ICE or K-Speed, or Vios/City with 17" or 18" wheel...:rofl:

Those are not performance player n they donot speed.......I hope some1 tells them that what they are doing is risking their lives n wasting petrol

i change from Rim 14 steel rim with 185/65/R14 to 15 alloy rim with 195/55/R15 so the outer diameter of the whole wheel is still almost the same therefore i wont suffer any acceleration.

Not necessarily the case in my experience. You may have the same overall diameter but unless you acquire light rims that are sufficiently light to compensate for the increased weight from larger / wider tyres, you are still going to be worse off in terms of weight (x4). The trade-off is how much you lose in terms of acceleration balanced against better roadholding.

I changed from steel 13" 175/70/R13 to alloy 14" 185/60/R14 . They are both the same diameter but a weight comparion of rim + tyre shows the 14" to be heavier. Now of course, if I hunted around long enough and willing to spend some extra cash, I might possibly be able to get some very light rims that will maintain the old weight or perhaps even be lighter....so it's not automatically same overall diameter = same weight = same acceleration. Case in point, just check out a Enkei 15" RPF-1.......so freaking light I can lift it with one finger.

There's this other thing which some of these tech heads like to talk about...being a larger tyre has a larger rolling inertia even with lightweight rims..something about harder to get it going....I don't know.....maybe due to the increased width, resistance or whatnot. I don't really understand all that mumbo-jumbo but its safe to say changing to the wider alloy rims gave me significantly better roadholding with minimal loss in acceleration, assuming of course I don't go overboard and slap in a ridiculously large wheel size beyond what the car and its engine can handle.

Well, it would be good if you two can stop arguing for just one moment and be kind enough to tell me where I can find some lightweight 14" and 15" Lenso wheels suitable for an Iswara.

Yes you are right,FVel.

But larger daimeter rims is like altering your gearbox ratio. Suppose your gb ratio is build to power 13"-14", but up put a 17". What will happen to the powerband and torque from your engine to your wheels ? It put alot extra stress to the engine, thus every wear n tear parts will KO much faster.

There's always a limitation to the size of the rims that your engine n braking system could take, unless u upgrade both aspect, then you go for bigger rims.

Eg:
Stock Wira 1.6 is 14" rims. After upgraded to GSR turbo, after changing bigger rotors n calipers, u need more grip to hold n the road, then oni u go for 16".

What will happen if u drive a myvi with 17" beside a Turbo-ed Car with 16" ?
I promise u the turbo driver is laughing the shit out of his life !

when i see vios with 17 or 18" rim i will say "Pretty rim!! good luck in power."

At first I will admire the rims, then I will laugh at the car, coz it's not toyota supra.....haha

Yes you are right,FVel.

But larger daimeter rims is like altering your gearbox ratio. Suppose your gb ratio is build to power 13"-14", but up put a 17". What will happen to the powerband and torque from your engine to your wheels ? It put alot extra stress to the engine, thus every wear n tear parts will KO much faster.

There's always a limitation to the size of the rims that your engine n braking system could take, unless u upgrade both aspect, then you go for bigger rims.

Eg:
Stock Wira 1.6 is 14" rims. After upgraded to GSR turbo, after changing bigger rotors n calipers, u need more grip to hold n the road, then oni u go for 16".

What will happen if u drive a myvi with 17" beside a Turbo-ed Car with 16" ?
I promise u the turbo driver is laughing the shit out of his life !

bro,myvi is not a powerful car.i know installing 17" will make the car go
slower or even making the fc higher.those who buy this car is not aiming
at speeding or racing but the look.they like to play around with the cosmetic
rather then power.i don't think those turbo powered car will laugh at them
as they all know which category those myvi in.the "look" not the "power".
just my 2cent.

if i saw myvi with 17" rim i sure smile...............
if i drive turbo car, i wont even care that car cozs i know i can smoke them within 1 sec. hehe....

I noticed recently there's many pot holes on roads
What are the chances of dent or crack like for light rims like SSR Type C, Volk CE28 and so on if dropped into it

I'm on SSR Type C 15" with 195/50/15
My heart sank whenever i dropped into one

My friend who's on Volk CE28 with 205/45/16 cracked 1 x of his rim when dropped into a big one

Wah...CE28 & SSR, really damn nice rims...And yes, the roads is f**kin sucks.
Get above 50 series tyres la if you love ur rims...
Such as 205/50/16, that might be ok.

different in daily use?? yes... during ur tyre puncture, less energy needed, hehehe...

sizes of rims depends on its owner la, its their choice to put watever size.. agreed wit gt, up to u to choice either for 'looks' or 'power', ur money do la watever u want...

Guys,
Thanks for the opinion sharing..

here the rim + tyre weight :
13 inch wira stock rim + 175/70 tyre = 12.2KG
15 inch normal weight sport rim + 195/50 = 15.2KG

I bring up this post as want to understand should I go for 15inch sport rim for my Satria? Cureently I run with 14inch old skool rim with 185 tyre.
Plan to go 15inch as hard to find performance tyre for 14inch rim.

I put 15" in my 1.3M ex-satria and my old wira 1.6A Mivec before. Perfect. But please don't use cheapo tires. Not worth to save RM20-30 for a lower quality tire. 16" and above will make the whole car become so fcking jialat.

After tried the eager F1, I swore for not using good year any more. Silverstone can accept la, but depends on which model. So far, only Yokohama, Toyo, Continental (made in Malaysia version) and Pirelli give me positive feedback in terms of overall. Tried also Bridgestone My01. Acceptable at the 1st 8k km. After that, :burnout:

Driving style : Like to accelerate at low speed but will not breach 120km/h, including highway. Normally drives about 80-100 at town, if no jam.

Currently using on my cars: 235/40/18 T1R, 215/45/17 Conti Sport Contact, and 195/50/15 Bridgestone My01.