High pass or Full pass

mengz

Hi all,

I'm using an Alpine Type-R component set for my fronts. Should i set my amp to go High pass to my components or Full pass?

i realize when i use Full pass the sound has a much lower and deeper tone, and the volume is lower. when i use High pass the sound is higher pitch, brighter, and the volume is louder.

all pass meaning all range of frequency is being played by ur component set. High pass only allows frequency above certain limit to pass through ur amps to ur speakers which makes it more efficient as it is only playing the frequency that it is meant to be played. Example: tweeter will be playing frequency from 5k to 20k hz etc etc.... it will not be playing low frequency meant for subs

but i thought even though if i allow Full Pass, the passive crossover is suppose to limit what frequency goes to the tweeter and what frequency goes to the mid bass right?

the passive only limits the lower part of the tweeter (highpass), but the upper end is limitless. same as for the mid, the passive limits the upper part (lowpass), but bottom end is limitless.

i suggest u use highpass for your fronts and adjust the frequency as low as u can go (50 minimum) without any distortion to the midrange at high volume. if your highpass cant be adjusted, then no choice la go full range, just dont play so high volume.

the passive only limits the lower part of the tweeter (highpass), but the upper end is limitless. same as for the mid, the passive limits the upper part (lowpass), but bottom end is limitless.

i suggest u use highpass for your fronts and adjust the frequency as low as u can go (50 minimum) without any distortion to the midrange at high volume. if your highpass cant be adjusted, then no choice la go full range, just dont play so high volume.

Hi bro,

thanks for you advice! really appreciate it.

i can adjust my high pass frequency at my amplifier, but the lowest frequency for high pass that i can set on my amp is 80Hz. so i should set my frequency for high pass @ 80Hz, then work my way up if there is distortion, till there is no more distortion. am i correct?

should i set the low pass for my subwoofer to have around 10-20Hz overlap with my front speakers frequency?

bro Zenn,

wanna find out why you mentioned, that if on full range, then volume cannot play so high?

i realise with the same volume level on my Head-Unit. when i switch from full pass to high pass. i can hear that the volume on high pass is louder whereas the volume on full pass is much softer.

bro Zenn,

wanna find out why you mentioned, that if on full range, then volume cannot play so high?

i realise with the same volume level on my Head-Unit. when i switch from full pass to high pass. i can hear that the volume on high pass is louder whereas the volume on full pass is much softer.

What I think Zenn meant was that if you do full pass, and play at high volume your mids might get distorted/clipping signals. That was the reason he recommend using high pass. When you use full pass, all the signals go through to the comp set. The mids of the comp set will be playing from the lowest frequency (probably 50/60Hz) to the lowpass of the passive crossover.
As why you have the observation when you change between HP and Full Pass, I'll let the sifus reply :biggrin: .

wah if your lowest highpass is 80 only....then no syok la...no bass from the front mids oledi.....better get an electronic crossover, or change better amp.

if u play full range, then the mids will be playing some frequencies it wasnt designed to play, which is below 50hz, the sub bass area, so the mids cone can actually pecah if u play loudly, since no protection.

for your sub yes u can overlap, see which ever crossover point suits your car, equipment and songs the most...

Bro Zenn,
Really a? My amp also HP at 85Hz only. Fixed value. I guess that means I need to try off the Front HP on the amp...Or 'complete' my installation :P

damn it.....like this i really need the Alpine CDA 9835 even more :P i actually have a Lanzar X8 3-way electronic crossover sitting at home though. but i dun have enuff RCA cables. i think i'll get summore monster cable rca's from US then i'll have the electronic crossover installed.

thanks for all the info Zenn.

Bro Zenn,
Really a? My amp also HP at 85Hz only. Fixed value. I guess that means I need to try off the Front HP on the amp...Or 'complete' my installation :P

85 means the sub has to cover the midbass area, so a lot of bass is coming from behind. to get more upfront bass the mids have to cross lower, depending on how low the mids can go la of coz. usually 60hz...but some good mids can take 50, and few 40hz, of coz after that dont forget to lower your sub LP also la, hehe...

damn it.....like this i really need the Alpine CDA 9835 even more :P i actually have a Lanzar X8 3-way electronic crossover sitting at home though. but i dun have enuff RCA cables. i think i'll get summore monster cable rca's from US then i'll have the electronic crossover installed.

thanks for all the info Zenn.

Lanzar X8 is not a 3way e/cross.. actually it was 2way e/cross c/w..

a) Front out, HP c/w multiplier freq
b) Rear out, HP
c) Sub out, LP

Your HU dont have built-in e/cross ka?

Lanzar X8 is not a 3way e/cross.. actually it was 2way e/cross c/w..

a) Front out, HP c/w multiplier freq
b) Rear out, HP
c) Sub out, LP

Your HU dont have built-in e/cross ka?

bro what is the difference between 3way e/cross and 2way e/cross c/w?? what is the definition of a 3way e/cross?

my head unit i think got ler...but its just a normal sony HU so i dun trust it that much ler. thats why need to get an alpine 9835.

diff 2way dont have Band Pass filter for Midbass or Midrange. Band pass filter (BP) consist of Highpass (HP) & Lowpass (LP).. Got begining & closing filter to filter out unwanted freq....... XO like:-

a) Memphis 16-X03
b) Orion CS-1
c) Macrom 48.13
d) Tru F1 A/B
e) Xetec F.A.C.T

Your lanzar X8 is 2 way & 6 ch e/cross..

ahhh......meaning my lanzar X8 can only filter either frequency higher than X or frequency lower than X. but it cannot filter a range from Y to Z. correcto?

then how come they market it as a 3-way electronic crossover then? gimic?

it is by any means a 3-way e xover... but not 3-way bandpass e xover...

and your understanding is correct...

there are 2 types of 3 way crossover

the real one is like oldskoolboyz's list, this can do subs/mids/tweets or hi/mid/lo (got bandpass for mids)

the not so real ones are actually 2 way (or 2.1), it can only do front/rear/sub, where there is only one crossover point, between the subs and the components, where font & rear share same highpass.

mengz, I know why U confuse coz the reference not enough to make U 100% understand term of "Way". Lanzar X8 provide 3 pair or 6ch output that make ppl thinking it was real 3 ways e/cross. Now let see Mcintosh MEN456 e/cross, MEN456 provide 16ch output as:-

Sub - Mono x 2 = 2ch
Low - 1pair = 2ch
Mid - 2pair = 4ch
High - 2pair = 4ch
Full - 2pair = 4ch

# Total = 2+2+4+4+4 = 16ch... so now how many way this e/cross?

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 ????????