Spy photos: Nissan GT-R beats 911 Turbo around the Nurburgring

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

infernaL

http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9ec63/cmd.233/enclosure..ee9ec64
There were plenty of enthusiasts who scoffed when Nissan's engineers started dragging a 911 Turbo around with them while testing the 2009 GT-R. It seemed like a lofty benchmark for a car that's expected to cost around $75,000, but the latest word from Germany suggests Nissan may have met its goals.

Prototypes of the 2009 GT-R started circling the Nurburgring yesterday, and according to spy shooters on the scene it was clear that the GT-R was running at full steam. With that in mind, they pulled out their stop watches to get an idea just how fast the GT-R was getting around the Nordschleife. The fastest hand timed lap came in at around 7:38, two seconds faster than the 911 Turbo's widely reported fastest lap of 7:40.

And as if that wasn’t enough to cement the GT-R's reputation around the Nurburgring, our spies also caught a couple shots of the Nissan blowing by the facelifted Porsche 911 Turbo we showed you earlier in the week. The Porsche may not have been running at full speed, but a pass is a pass.
http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9ec66/cmd.233/enclosure..ee9ec67

but hold on to your horses, the Turbo is getting a 2009 refresh.

http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9e9ec/cmd.233/enclosure..ee9e9ed
Looks like the 2009 Porsche 911 Turbo is getting a little touch up. This prototype spotted in Germany looks like the current model, but we noticed a few minor changes that indicate an imminent midcycle refresh. The front end is unmolested as far as we can tell, but the rear end has new taillights with LEDs and a slightly different lens arrangement. Reshaped tailpipes indicate a reworked exhaust, so there could be a few extra horsepower on tap for a car that's already one of the fastest we've ever tested. Look for an official debut early next year.
http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9e9ef/cmd.233/enclosure..ee9e9f0
http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9e9f2/cmd.233/enclosure..ee9e9f3
http://blogs.edmunds.com/.ee9e9f5/cmd.233/embedded..ee9e9f9

source : http://blogs.edmunds.com/Straightline/3461
http://blogs.edmunds.com/Straightline/3440

Nissan Skyline GT-R a Porsche and Lambo killer?
http://www.motorauthority.com/wp-content/uploads/Nissan/Skyline/GTR/gtr_goodwood_main.jpg
During testing at the Nurburgring this week, the Nissan Skyline GT-R was spotted putting in some very hot laps. Although the numbers are unofficial, and reportedly hand-timed, the initial times are impressive. Putting the Skyline GT-R in a class with the Porsche 911 Turbo and substantially ahead of the Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera, the all-wheel drive coupe’s times are nearly unbelievable, given the pricing announced when it was released for sale in Japan on Thursday.

The Skyline GT-R is two seconds ahead of the 911 Turbo and a whopping eight seconds ahead of the Gallardo Superleggera, lapping the ‘ring in a searing 7:38, according to Edmunds. In fact, given the possible margin of error introduced by hand-timing, the GT-R could be running in a league with the Porsche 911 GT2, which laps the ‘ring in a scorching 7:32.

Adding even more heat to these rumored times is the possibility that the GT-R spied this week isn’t even the top-end model. The three-tiered GT-R model range includes a base-model sporting 480hp and selling for US$57,000, a V-Spec going for US$67,000, and a range-topping 100kg lighter EVO-Spec with 530hp priced at US$94,000. Although pre-orders began in Japan on Thursday, the official unveiling will happen in Tokyo next month, with delivery slated for December.

Regardless of which model is lapping the ‘ring in the 7:30s, it’s a price-to-performance dream. The 911 GT2 rings up at US$191,700, while the Superleggera will lighten your wallet by US$220,300, if you can find one next year - all the 2007s are sold. Even the Ferrari F430, which runs the Green Hell in a relatively snail-paced 7:55, will run you a minimum of US$173,079. Half the price and all the performance? The supercar stalwarts should be scared.

source : http://www.motorauthority.com/news/coupes/nissan-skyline-gt-r-a-porsche-and-lambo-killer/

I already knew that the new Skyline shall beat 911 Turbo earlier, light, fast n powerful .. Its Nismo Z-Tune's small brother.

i'll take the porsche anytime. The skyline is a nissan after all :biggrin:

I woudnt get embarassed even if i were in that porsche and a kancil can beat me ... a porsche is still a porsche ...

can never compare a car with pedegree with a japanese toy car ... :)

hehe but future father in law thinks who more success??
poshy or Godzilla ??? hehehe jking hehehe

wont be that bad la its like a skyline vs a evo/scooby
where can drag til use kancil that 1 if really happen really embarrassed

added : more news below the 09 P-car article. notice the speculation in bold :stupid:

too expensive ? under 100k usd, thats like what, the price for a R34 GTR here ?

The GTR is a performance icon and the badge (not the Nissan one) has just as much cachet as a Porker. What that means is that GTR = Respect even if you roll in some serious exotica.

Unless you're talking prestige. But then if you look down on the GTR you're just being a snob and you're not really a proper petrol head. Just a poser with a fat wallet. Maybe with a little bit of mid life crisis, some extra gut and less hair.

European machines are the best.

Japanese test drive magazines/videos are so biased, they are very good at making the European rivals, whatever they are, look weak. (If put to test against a Japanese car)

And what munky said is true..

Skyline = Nissan, or the so called "GT-R" thing
997 T = Porsche

European machines are the best.

Japanese test drive magazines/videos are so biased, they are very good at making the European rivals, whatever they are, look weak. (If put to test against a Japanese car)

And what munky said is true..

Skyline = Nissan, or the so called "GT-R" thing
997 T = Porsche

examples please ?

A Japanese car = a Lambo killer?

Fail.

its faster then the Superleggera at the ring no ?

this is gonna be a failure ... and become sumthing like a NSX-R ... Yes the
NSX-R is a true sports car with exceptional performance ... hell its n/a engine has 280hp ... and the 350z need not bother , nsx is a totally different class if compared in stock cond. ... even a gtr34 cant beat it on a 0-400m drag ...

but look at the f**king price tag ... NSX-R was RM600k at Naza Showroom ... would u buy a RM600k Honda ... ???

no harm done ... im a honda guy to ... i drive one ... but for me ... sooner or later ... u will get bored with japanese cars ... cause its a play thing ... someday u would want to own true car ... or as Jeremy Clarkson call it 'miniature model of god" lol

Performance + Styling + 100% guarantee Pu**y Magnet = Italian n German Cars :)

I dont know how

NSX-R and its 600k pricetag,
Japanese car = lambo killer,
Performance + Styling + 100% guarantee Pu**y Magnet = Italian n German Cars :)

got to do with the spy shots of the GTR but im willing to learn. Why not fanboys just keep the irrelevant self opinions and sentiments out first and lets discuss on the important points.

From what I can see, the main concern of the GTR now is the marketting part. Ratio-pricewise, the R34 GTR costs around 50k+ USD, Vspec = 70-80k USD . I wonder how much would this new GTR costs if the R34 GTR vspec costs 600k+ here when it arrived in 2001.

please comment.

Skyline Owns.. Tell me it doesn't look better than a 911 ... Japanese cars are getting closer to the quality and performance of European cars these days anyway, albeit at a much lower price.. The Skyline will make its mark again in the world of motorsports just like the R32GTR of the early 90s..